We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
92
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
7
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reserveshamwari game reservegame drivesplunge poolranger minoindoor and outdoor showersamazing animalsprivate deckjohn travoltawhite rhinoland cruiserborn freeshort safariloves his jobdung beetlewords cannot describetheir natural habitat
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2015

What a fabulous lodge !! Should we ever return to SA again, I would make our trip to Shamwari the last stop before returning home. Should you decide to book into this lodge, - you won't be disappointed as it is a very luxurious lodge. A huge THANK YOU to Game ranger Mino. Not only is he a knowlegeable ranger, but we also felt very safe in his hands. Mino also ensured that the well being of all our family which was above and beyond what we had ever expected from Shamwari staff. Thank you MINO for going out of your way to ensure that the cook prepared special dishes for our family. Needless to say that the food was also great !! We had a lot of laughs and a fun time. A huge thank you to You Mino and ALL YOUR STAFF !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Eagle's crag, situated in the Shamwari game reserve, is definitely somewhere I'd recommend. As it only has 9 suites, the lodge has an intimate feel and the staff were all attentive and very pleasant. Our game ranger, Mino, ensured that we had a great time and we really couldn't have asked for a better guide.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank ellietheelephant123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

This lodge is in the Shamwari Private Game Reserve. Although I did not stay here, I did a very in depth site inspection of this lodge. I was very impressed. With only 9 suites, it makes this lodge small and intimate. The Spacious Suites are detached which offers complete privacy - all with private plunge pools. The lodge has a Relaxation Retreat offering all the pampers one could ask for. Lodge also has a small library/conference room seating 18 delegates which could be a perfect corporate/incentive getaway by booking the lodge exclusively for your company. No children under 12 years.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolMaasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We visited Shamwari as part of our honeymoon and it was truly an unforgettable experience!

Eagles Crag is lovely and luxurious, the staff are there to meet your every need and so accommodating when it comes to special dietary requirements. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were extra comfy which is very much needed after a long day of game drives. Loved the little stories that were placed on the bed after turning down in the evening!

The game drives were out of this world, we saw everything we wanted to see and so much more! Couldn't fault our game driver Jan who was so enthusiastic and wanted to please us all and see as much as we could for the 3 nights we were there.

We can't stop telling all our family and friends and will definitely be coming back in the future! Thank you so much for a truly amazing and unforgettable experience that will remain in our hearts forever!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LianneMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Expensive but well worth the extra expense, staff, accommodation and food were superb, 100% all round. We stayed here for nine nights and we could not have been looked after better, every member of staff from the cleaning staff to the Management made us feel welcome and could not have been more attentive or helpful. Have no hesitation in recommending this lodge, if we could afford it we would be going straight back. On top of this our Game Ranger (Mino) was superb, nothing was too much trouble and he showed us some amazing things, not just ticking off the Big Five but actually allowing us to experience the lives of these amazing animals. I really cannot do justice to this place in words - you have to check this place out even if it is just the one time.

Room Tip: This isn't a hotel but a set of nine very private lodges with private outdoor decking. Inside each lodge is a 5 Star suite effectively.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardGKnight60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews