We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on a recent trip to SA.

We stayed overnight at the hotel whilst travelling from Johannesburg for a trip driving along the Garden Route to Cape Town.

The Reception Staff were friendly and helpful and recommended a few restaurants in the area for dinner. They also informed us to be aware of our own personal safety at night if out and about and suggested the use of a taxi service.

We ate a restaurant nearby, CoCo de Mer, and found the food to be very good, a little steep on the prices, but a lovely little restaurant.

The Hotel is right on the beach front that makes for a pleasant walk

The Hotel has a swimming pool, but is a tad small. If more than 4 or 5 people used it at once it could be regarded as crowded

Breakfast was a standard help yourself and was average.

The hotel was perfectly adequate for an overnight stay but a little dated and close to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivorbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 600 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed here for one night on a 16 day tour of South Africa with Travelsphere.
Stayed in room 522.
The hotel was modern and clean with friendly staff.
We arrived late afternoon after a long day touring and wanted to get showered and changed to go out and have a meal. As we were part of a tour group, we had to wait for our suitcases to be delivered to the room by the porters to get a change of clothing. After waiting over 45 minutes I decided to track down the suitcases myself and found them still sitting on a trolley in reception which I helped myself to. Not good porter service!
The toilet was nice and modern but the sink was VERY slow to drain.
When we arrived it was very windy and as the room was 5 floors up, it was even more windy which was reflected by a howling noise - like a jet engine coming through the seals on the windows. Thankfully by the time we went to bed the wind had died down so this did not interrupt our sleep.
Had a nice evening in the Cabaña Lounge at the bottom of the road on the waterfront.
Overall this was a nice hotel with a few niggles to sort out.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Nice and clean Hotel (no swimming pool, no fitness)
Beach & Ocean right in front of the hotel (less then 200m walking)
7/11 -shop, gasstation, Mc Donalds, Captain's karaoke bar, & delicious Seafood restaurant right in front of the Hotel.
Attached to the hotel you have a delicious restaurant too!!
Having a drink & a dance: Barny's & of course my favourite: Cubana (150m walking)
50m walking to a nice little sea-world like thing & a very nice museum!!!

A little further, you have 'the Board Walk', shopping & food !!!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank StevenNoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Room with the sea view are quite fabulous. Cordial staff

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Pravinpednekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Twin Room to watch the England v South Africa Cricket match.

The hotel is situated on the road from the airport, just before it hits the beach. Ample secure parking available in the hotel's own parking area.

The building looks quite dated from the exterior and the reception also has a dated feel to it. We arrived quite early due to our early flight from Cape Town, but even though we checked in at the same time as the England and South Africa cricket teams, they had a room ready for us and checked us in very quickly.

The corridors and the rooms themselves have all recently been refurbished and have a modern feel. Flat screen TV's in the rooms which was a first for this trip. Strangely, there didn't seem to be a safe in the room, very unusual for South Africa.

There is a (very) small pool on the front terrace of the hotel, but this isn't really used as it's only a few steps over the main road to the Beach. There is also a 'Spur' restaurant attached to the front of the hotel, which is handy if you want to eat but don't want to drive to one of the nearby entertainment centres.

We had breakfast in the hotel on both mornings as part of our rate, this was very good with a wide selection.

The hotel is about a 5 minute drive into the centre of Port Elizabeth, but the centre of town doesn't really have much of interest for a tourist so you probably wouldn't go there anyway.

In the opposite direction, again about a 5 mintue drive, are the Casino and entertainment mall which we used on both evenings we were there.

The staff are helpful and the rooms are nicely decorated after a recent refurb. Only neagtive thing I would say is that the exterior needsa bit of TLC, it looked as though the windows to the room hadn't been cleaned for a while !

If you visit PE then this hotel is recommended, a lot cheaper than the Radisson Blu which is located a few miles further down the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackheathbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.1 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
519 reviews
1.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
130 reviews
1.8 km away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
374 reviews
0.6 km away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#12 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: ₹ 6,879 - ₹ 8,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing