We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
92
64
25
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
64
25
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer yardbig kitchenfree city tourlounge areaclean roomsgarden route tripenjoyed my stayhome away from homegreat place to stayclose to the airportbazpecleanlinessrandsafari
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

The rooms were ok, so were the showers and the kitchen. Nothing great, just ok. There were a lot of locals hanging out there, so it was very noisy as well as hard to get in Contact with the other travelers. Good location though, but I'm sure there are better (abd cheaper) hostels in the area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Fanny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff on arrive, free off road parking with a gate at night. We had a private room which had everything we needed. The staff were helpful with planning out our next few days. Only down side was no breakfast on offer. Apart from that a really good place

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear the staff were so freindly and helpful in planning out the next few days of your trip. We hope your stay with us was a comfortable one!:) Kind regards, Lungile Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Really enjoyed my stay at Lungile! Great staff and comfortable beds in the dorms. Did the free walking tour through Port Elizabeth, which showed different sides of the city. Also a nice bar area with a pool table.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Glad the amenities at the lodge were to your liking and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us!! The walking city tour is a highlight when staying in P.E and is done by our very own friendly and experienced guide:) Kind regards, Lungile Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I have stayed for two days in a dorm in Lungile. The beds were comfortable and the sanitary was clean. It was also fine to have good Wifi in the general room. The employees were very kind and gave me good advice about what to do in Port-Elizabeth. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank niels b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you found the beds comfortable and the room clean and made use of the good wifi:) We hope you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you!! Our staff are full of knowledge and are more than happy to give out advice on what to do in and around the city! Kind regards, Lungile Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I was in for a day only and slept like a baby,our dorm room was clean, very friendly staff members.The accommodation is easy to find which is a must for me and it is near many restaurants super.Enjoyed visiting the place and definitely recommend Lungile bACKPACKERS.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phesh353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your great review. Happy to hear that the staff were friendly and that you had a comfortable nights sleep, sleeping like a baby (those are the best kind of sleeps!!). We hope you had a memorable stay and will come back and visit us again soon!! Thank you for your recommendation:) Kind regards, Lungile Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews