We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
636
191
40
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
191
40
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemongrass restaurantrestaurant attachedcar washon site restaurantgarden routesuperb locationevery morningindian oceanthe ground floorfirst floorlookout beachsecure parkingguest housefantastic viewsbeautiful roombeautiful beachrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is a pleasant guest house right by the sea, overlooking the river estuary. It is somewhat isolated from the main part of town but does have a restaurant on the premises although it was closed the one night we were there. Rooms are very well appointed and wi fi works reasonably well. Breakfast was a very nice buffet. Staff were very helpful in giving directions and recommending a restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in our peaceful surroundings and such a pity that you weren't able to sample the Lemongrass restaurant cuisine. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to do so when next you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Apologies to those readers if I appear to be repeating myself but compared to America we were not to experience any disappointments ( a hotel in Savannah still has me itching) in the accommodation we stayed at.
This B&B is located as close to the beach as you can get (which is interesting as we arrived in high winds and heavy rain). There is a car park to the front for guests and there is further parking to the side.
A small reception area is just through the door which leads to a nice lounge area and beyond the entrance to the restaurant (where you will have your breakfast).
We were made to feel welcome by a member of the staff who then helped us with our bags to our room. The room was reached by going up the stairs where there is a gallery area with seating and a small desk (we were told this was probably the best area to get a wifi signal). A number of rooms lead off this area. To get to our room we had to step outside onto a roof terrace; take a couple of steps and we were at our door. This was interesting when a storm was blowing but once the rain stopped we loved it especially as you had access to another roof terrace which gave fantastic views when the sun came out.
The room was bright and modern with a great bath and separate shower. There was also a small patio area which whilst not providing a view to the main bay still had a view of the water. Unfortunately the weather meant we were not to take advantage of this area.
Once we had unpacked we went down to the restaurant to see if we could just have a coffee. We hadn’t realised the time and people were already arriving for dinner but we were shown a table and in fact it allowed us to consider the menu. As the weather had not improved we booked a table for later in the evening where we had a great meal and service. If you are staying here you must visit the restaurant.
We then returned to our room and a good night’s sleep.
The next day we woke to found the storm had not abated and we went down to have breakfast. Even with the storm the view was superb. When the sun came out I realised the bay reminded me of Portmerion in Wales (that is when the sun is out and without the village). The restaurant has glass doors that run around two sides of the room and provide an unbroken view. You can also eat outside when the sun is out which we were to do on our last day where we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast in the sun.
The mornings in particular provide the opportunity to meet Kees (I hope this is the correct spelling) the owner and provides a great opportunity to pick his brain as to where to go and they also have discount vouchers for some of the local attractions.
During our stay we spent quite some time talking to Kees who told us about the flood that had created the bay that you now see. Also one morning he told us about the owners of 40 vintage Bentleys that had visited the restaurant whilst we had been out and spent time with us showing the brochure they had left.
On two mornings we discovered the outside of the car had been cleaned to a high standard.
So if you decide to stay in Plettenberg Bay this place must be at or near the top of the list.
Finally –watch out for the small step at the top of the stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JibbaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. What a pity that you did not have perfect weather whilst visiting Plettenberg Bay. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday with us and exploring Plettenberg Bay and surrounds. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Right next to the estuary of the Keurbooms River, you are constantly aware of the moon, tides and the daily routine of the seabirds. On a clear night, the view of the stars from the flat-topped roof is spectacular. We were there in mid-winter, in the mild weather between two cold fronts, and it was a wonderful break from the daily grind of our inland city. As others have commented, the restaurant has great food and large windows making the most of the expanse of estuary, beach and mountain range outside.

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the river is has good views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZA_reisiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you had good weather and enjoyed the natural beauty surrounding Milkwood Manor. The Manor, Lemongrass Restaurant and the views will be waiting for you when you next return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of our Road Trip. The hotel is located right on the ocean - amazing. We could see dolphins from our beautiful terrace. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice big bed and the bath tub was a treat. Make sure you eat in the restaurant at the hotel called The Lemongrass. Really delicious, fantastic seafood, great wines and really good service from the staff. Tip: wake up to see the sunrise over the ocean - unforgettable.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank skye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Milkwood Manor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the dolphins decided to visit - a Plettenberg Bay sunrise is so wonderful to watch from Milkwood Manor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Fantastic location right next to the sea. Lovely accommodation with a great restaurant. Staff friendly, helpful and very informative. Wished we had stayed more than 1 night. Would highly recommend and look forward to staying there again. Only 1 concern - how to get out in case of fire.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExtraShot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and we look forward to having you visit Milkwood Manor again soon! As we are always striving to improve on each guest's experience and our guest's comfort and safety are a priority, we have set steps in motion to ensure that our emergency plans are more accessible to guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews