We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
644
193
40
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
193
40
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemongrass restaurant restaurant attached car wash on site restaurant garden route every morning superb location indian ocean the ground floor first floor secure parking guest house fantastic views beautiful room beautiful beach local attractions rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Rooms were spacious and decorated to a high standard. We would have liked a mini bar. There is a bar downstairs, but no good if you're not dressed. Coffee and tea were provided, but water would have been nice too. Beautiful view from our balcony overlooking the sea and the river. Kees is a gentleman and was a fine host who spoke with all guests at breakfast; he was always on hand if needed. Buffet-style breakfast on the terrace was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardiffBluesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Wonderful place with superb service. We stayed for 4 nights and wish we had stayed for a week. The room we had was ground floor but even the view from the shower was truly wonderful. Our room was large and comfortable with all the amenities you would need and even though right by the restaurant it didn't disturb our privacy.
The staff are so helpful Margaret welcomes you warmly nothing is too much trouble. Kees is full of ideas for trips to take in the area and is on hand every breakfast to advise which is a wonderful extra - don't ever change.His stories especially of the flood are so interesting.
Lemongrass restaurant serves the best food in the area we ate three out of four nights as the food was superb would like more specials or more on the menu as we would have struggled with choice if we had eaten in every night if we had been there for a week. The Staff in the restaurant were excellent great service even when full and made us even more welcome when they knew we were staying there.
It is a brilliant base to serve the area as there is so much to see and do Plettenberg is a lovely town even in the rain. It would have been good to walk to other restaurants for a change of scene but it was better to go by car due to Milkwoods amazing location.
We didn't want to leave as we were treated like one of the family so we hope to go back next January there is so much more to explore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well set out one doesn't have a sea view but the rest appeared to the ground floor was my favourite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is the closest any building could be to the water without being in it. It has a lovely location and makes the most of it, with breakfast eaten on the terrace looking across the bay, and the rooms looking either over lagoon or ocean. There is a small stretch of beach to the side, which is pretty, and was quiet whilst we were there except on Sunday evening.
The owners supply lots of helpful tips on what to do, plus beach towels. The rooms are fine, comfortable without being outstanding in any way. We had a great wraparound balcony looking both ways, and could have spent most of our stay just sitting enjoying the views.

Room Tip: I'd pick ocean over lagoon views but both are good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very welcoming and helpful hosts, warm and full of ideas as to how to spend your day. Excellent restaurant. The chief selling point, though, is the unique location - brought about by chance after the sea broke through, you are right at the fulcrum of the ocean and the lagoon. Much fun to be had using the house kayak to reach what can be a completely private area of beach. It makes for much better bathing than yet another swimming pool.

We were lucky enough to see whales out of season, too. We certainly hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the lagoon side!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The rooms were large, as were the bathrooms. And the views were amazing. Our host, Kees, was very kind and helpful. We took the kayaks across the river mouth to the sand bank and spent the entire morning walking, swimming in the current, with almost no one else for miles.
Breakfast was huge and delicious. Lemon Grass, the restaurant attached to Milkwood Manor, has great food, though hard to get a reservation in high season for dinner....lunch is easier.
Kees' story of the flood of four years ago which took away most of the land around the hotel (as well as the swimming pool) is chilling and ultimately wonderful. We did not want to leave!! Too bad we are from the States or we would be back twice a year. We are recommending Milkwood Manor to all our friends in SA as well as anyone we know coming over here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews