We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is the closest any building could be to the water without being in it. It has a lovely location and makes the most of it, with breakfast eaten on the terrace looking across the bay, and the rooms looking either over lagoon or ocean. There is a small stretch of beach to the side, which is pretty, and was quiet whilst we were there except on Sunday evening.
The owners supply lots of helpful tips on what to do, plus beach towels. The rooms are fine, comfortable without being outstanding in any way. We had a great wraparound balcony looking both ways, and could have spent most of our stay just sitting enjoying the views.

Room Tip: I'd pick ocean over lagoon views but both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 448 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very welcoming and helpful hosts, warm and full of ideas as to how to spend your day. Excellent restaurant. The chief selling point, though, is the unique location - brought about by chance after the sea broke through, you are right at the fulcrum of the ocean and the lagoon. Much fun to be had using the house kayak to reach what can be a completely private area of beach. It makes for much better bathing than yet another swimming pool.

We were lucky enough to see whales out of season, too. We certainly hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the lagoon side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The rooms were large, as were the bathrooms. And the views were amazing. Our host, Kees, was very kind and helpful. We took the kayaks across the river mouth to the sand bank and spent the entire morning walking, swimming in the current, with almost no one else for miles.
Breakfast was huge and delicious. Lemon Grass, the restaurant attached to Milkwood Manor, has great food, though hard to get a reservation in high season for dinner....lunch is easier.
Kees' story of the flood of four years ago which took away most of the land around the hotel (as well as the swimming pool) is chilling and ultimately wonderful. We did not want to leave!! Too bad we are from the States or we would be back twice a year. We are recommending Milkwood Manor to all our friends in SA as well as anyone we know coming over here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent 4 wonderful nights at Milkwood Manor. The views are spectacular the rooms really comfortable and clean and it was great falling asleep to the waves of the ocean. The hosts are also veryhelpful in recommending places to visit and good restaurants. Although we were there during the New Year and school holiday season it felt very private and secluded. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Plett.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

It's one of the best place we stayed on our 3-week journey. It's breathtaking entering the room and facing the sea right in front of you! Warm welcome, best advices from Mr. Kees, who for sure is the soul of the house!
Well: the bathroom is very small and not very comfortable, but the room is big, clean and bright.
The restaurant next door is excellent

Room Tip: Insist on Seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
815 reviews
0.4 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
605 reviews
9.3 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#6 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
140 reviews
2 km away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
2.4 km away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 4,563 - ₹ 13,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing