We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
636
191
40
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
191
40
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemongrass restaurantrestaurant attachedcar washon site restaurantgarden routesuperb locationevery morningindian oceanthe ground floorfirst floorlookout beachsecure parkingguest housefantastic viewsbeautiful roombeautiful beachrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very welcoming and helpful hosts, warm and full of ideas as to how to spend your day. Excellent restaurant. The chief selling point, though, is the unique location - brought about by chance after the sea broke through, you are right at the fulcrum of the ocean and the lagoon. Much fun to be had using the house kayak to reach what can be a completely private area of beach. It makes for much better bathing than yet another swimming pool.

We were lucky enough to see whales out of season, too. We certainly hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the lagoon side!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The rooms were large, as were the bathrooms. And the views were amazing. Our host, Kees, was very kind and helpful. We took the kayaks across the river mouth to the sand bank and spent the entire morning walking, swimming in the current, with almost no one else for miles.
Breakfast was huge and delicious. Lemon Grass, the restaurant attached to Milkwood Manor, has great food, though hard to get a reservation in high season for dinner....lunch is easier.
Kees' story of the flood of four years ago which took away most of the land around the hotel (as well as the swimming pool) is chilling and ultimately wonderful. We did not want to leave!! Too bad we are from the States or we would be back twice a year. We are recommending Milkwood Manor to all our friends in SA as well as anyone we know coming over here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We spent 4 wonderful nights at Milkwood Manor. The views are spectacular the rooms really comfortable and clean and it was great falling asleep to the waves of the ocean. The hosts are also veryhelpful in recommending places to visit and good restaurants. Although we were there during the New Year and school holiday season it felt very private and secluded. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Plett.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

It's one of the best place we stayed on our 3-week journey. It's breathtaking entering the room and facing the sea right in front of you! Warm welcome, best advices from Mr. Kees, who for sure is the soul of the house!
Well: the bathroom is very small and not very comfortable, but the room is big, clean and bright.
The restaurant next door is excellent

Room Tip: Insist on Seaview!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is stunningly position right on the water's edge, with brilliant sea views and nicely apart from the more touristy areas of town. The owner, Kees, took special efforts to welcome us and recommend activities around the area - we very much enjoyed hiking along the Robberg Peninsula, our whalewatching trip, and Birds of Eden, all recommended by Kees. We also enjoyed eating at Lemon Grass Restaurant every night - when all the Plettenberg Bay restaurants had their own sea views as their selling points, we just knew we were in the best one!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a sea-facing room, even if it's just available for one night of your stay. This is so very worth it!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews