We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
55
24
3
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
24
3
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Stone Cottage. The place has a authentic, homely feeling with a bit of a hippie vibe. We stayer for 3 nights in the Jannie family suite, which offers lots of space, including a fully equiped kitchen. It's ideally situated, walking distance to both beach and restaurants. Dimi is a sweet host and makers great rusks :-)

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgetteKaufmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyflower13, Manager at Stone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

It was wonderful to meet and host your lovely family ~ SO very happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Happy travels, Dimi
P.S. I’m glad you liked the home made rusks : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

We stayed here five nights and found it a delightful change for run of the mill accommodation. Dimi and Annie are great hosts and nothing us too much trouble. Yes there is some traffic noise in the day but it's hardly noticeable at night. The only 'complaint' is the pebble shower in Pierre, it hurts the feet!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank HonoraryAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyflower13, Manager at Stone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

To our DEAREST guests ~ many thanks for your review ~ we love that you found Stone Cottage delightful : ) It was an absolute pleasure to meet and host you. SO sorry to hear the pebbles hurt your feet { P.S. we hoped it would feel therapeutic ~ we plan to re-do the shower floor soon }. Hope you will visit us again one day ~ wishing you all the very best until then, Dimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Stone cottage, although cheapish in plett, was the most expensive b&b in a nearly 2000km coastal trip. Defiantly not good value. The room was clean with all essentials one could need. Dirty linen on the bed. No safe parking as parking is in the street. This was like living in a student commune.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johansomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We stayed in the top floor one bedroom appartment with the broad balcony/ porch with seaview. The whole appartment is decorated with an arty, industrial taste and lots of love and care. We even got a chocolate/strawberry bar for Valentines day: hiw sweet it is! It just felt like a retreat. Plettenberg is a cute little town with lots of nice places to eat and has a very nice surrending. But We also loved the garden around the cottage and the braai facility plus hottub for everyone to use. The only downside I can mention is the road below which is on a hill and cars tend to accelerate there which is a bit noisy, but it really did not bother much.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wichert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyflower13, Manager at Stone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Thanks SO very much for your sweet review ~ it was great to meet your lovely family and happy we could spoil you over Valentine’s ~ absolutely wonderful for us to hear your stay at Stone Cottage felt like a RETREAT ~ happy travels and hope to see you again, Dimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We stayed overnight during our jaunt across the cape. Our room was in the lower level of the 100 year old stone cottage. The place is a bit “shabby chic” and eclectic, but comfortable and clean. Dimi, the manager, was very nice and helpful. We ordered some awesome curry take-away from a restaurant just around the corner. There is a bit of road noise, but that didn’t keep us from getting a good nights sleep! Very convenient location and Plett Bay has some great sights!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Esteban1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyflower13, Manager at Stone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

To our DEAREST guest ~ many thanks for reviewing us~ we are so very glad you got a good night’s sleep in our home on the road. Happy travels, Dimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews