We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food mediocre service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad food mediocre service”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Everything about the evening spent at the restaurant was a disappointment. 8 meals and the only descent one was the pizza. A strict vegetarian who really didn't feel like yet another bowl of pasta was promised a plate of delicious veg and got boiled marrow, overcooked mushrooms, warmed up roast potatos and creamed spinach. By far the most expensive meal we had in our four days in Plett and the most disappointing. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant on a Saturday night - not surprising.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sable37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandDamePlett, General Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
The staff and management of Grand Café & Rooms are very disappointed that you had a less than enjoyable grand evening, certainly not our normal standards or the image we wish to portray. We pride ourselves on our unique setting, atmosphere and friendly service as well as good honest home-styled cooking prepared with love. We would like to extend an invitation to yourself and your husband on your next visit to Plettenberg Bay to give us the opportunity to change your views about our beautiful café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    98
    26
    15
    15
See reviews for
38
253
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We were really looking forward to our stay here after a fantastic meal at the grand grainger bay last year. However it sadly did not live up to expectations and we had a very polarised experience.
Admittedly, some things are fabulous:
* the rooms : spacious, light, great views, big beds, fab shabby chic design
* lounge area
* cafe setting, views, decor
However, for the price we paid, there was a lot which wasn't right:
* service - no one seemed to be in charge and whilst a couple of waiters were friendly we never had a sense we were staying in a hotel
* food - breakfast was extremely basic for the money (flies on a couple of pieces of uncut fruit, stale croissants, stale cereal) and dinner was ok but only ok
* security - there wasn't really any and reception wasn't 24/7 (no phones in room)
* no parking
* pool was tiny and filthy
* stuff just didn't work - no point in having a double shower if one of them doesn't work (and both spray all over floor)
* some attention to detail - we would have happily overlooked for 1200 rather than 2200 zar but a hotel at this price in s country flooded with high quality guest houses needs to up its act. At times, felt like a youth hostel/traveller spot - fine if youre paying those rates but not if you're not!
* grand posters in the room make it feel over marketed

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misselaneyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Somewhere special , very different to the normal run of the mil "boutique " hotels . Try it , you wont be dissappointed !!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david7280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The Grand was a perfect place to stay in every way. I had read a couple of bad reviews and I have to say I had totally and utterly the opposite view. I think one of the rooms that was mentioned was the beautiful one that we stayed in - Room 6. Although they don't mention this, it has views over the ocean, from a beautiful high ceilinged room with a floor standing bath opposite the other pair of double doors out to the ocean (the bed is also positioned like this). Double shower area, the decor is to die for. It is different, it is very art deco so don't go expecting plain and boring, it's not. It's artistic and has a lot of individuality. The staff were all incredibly lovely, not to mention the restaurant which served the best Calamari I have ever eaten! Breakfast is also very good with a large choice and the chef was happy to change the hot dishes you could order in anyway it seemed. The weather we had was pretty shoddy for summer time and their recommendations were great as to what to do and I thoroughly loved the town as well as the hotel. They were also kind enough to give us a couple of their designed posters! Great place.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bama-AND-Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Würenlingen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Unfortunately we could only stay one night in this beautiful boutique hotel where we felt immediately at home. Rooms 7 and 8 were absolutely stunning, we loved the comfy beds, the extraordinary bathrobes and huge towels. The rooms are beautiful.
The dinner was very delicious and we enjoyed the food, wine, terrace and the friendly and attentive staff.
In addition we received lots of great recommendations for the rest of our trip.
We definitely recommend the Grand/Plett and will hopefully be back in 2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
2.7 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
4.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
1.2 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Property: Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,062 - ₹ 17,736
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, our Leopard Lounge and a pool all exclusively for our Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing