We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nguni

Nguni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nguni Restaurant Nostalgic with an African flair, Nguni is located in one of Plett's oldest buildings - an original dairy dating back over a hundred years. Nguni's African menu is a reflection of traditional selections like Bobotie, game, biltong, springbok, Karoo lamb, ostrich and other local favourites. With its beautiful sunny veranda or eclectic African interior with its original wood-burning stove, the Nguni Girls provide customers with a unique setting and superb menu. A true taste of the Cape!
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We both ate Springbok - probably the best we have tasted in 4 trips to SA. The starter (Caprese) and dessert were also excellent

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRowntrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    155
    39
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic....great food ,sevice and ambiance!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Very much worth a visit. Very warm welcome from staff and helpful as to our meal chices. Most tender chicken I have ever had! The springbok steak was delicious as were the salads. Good selections of wine and to finish off the meal make sure you have a dessert. Will go back again for sure!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great steak! good service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We celebrated our "6 months in Africa" with a splendid dinner at Nguni.
We started with Springbok Carpaccio & Boboti Springrolls.
Our mains were Springbok steak & ribeye steak.

And it was amazing! Splendid! Great taste! Tender steak! Yummie!

Great little cosy restaurant with friendly staff and awesome food.
Looking for a nice dinner in Plett? Go to Nguni!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Safe bet for elegant dining in plett”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Went to nguni on vacation in Plett, and wow, loved it. Small, owner-run boutique restaurant situated in an old house. Simple, fine food done with care, passion and style.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank captaintrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Hints of the Raj”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Seemed to date from a previous era, but that might have just been the dinner guests! Good food and service. Very central.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nguni also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Nguni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing