We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Interior, Merlin's Cottage
Seasonal farm produce
Kitchen, Merlin's Cottage
'Farm manager' Kashmir, Merlin's Cottage
Exterior, Merlin's Cottage
Exterior, Merlin's Cottage
Anglo-Arab horses, Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Watsonia (fynbos) by the lily pond, Angels Rest Farm
Lily pond, Angels Rest Farm
Seasonal proteas, Merlin's Cottage
Seasonal water hole, Angels Rest Farm
Egyptian geese at the waterhole, Angels Rest Farm
Bushbuck visiting, Angels Rest Farm
Meadow fynbos in summer, Angels Rest Farm
Maya, Angels Rest Farm
Sunset over Angels Rest Farm
Seasonal proteas, Merlins Cottage
Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Rhode Island Red, Angels Rest Farm
Angels Rest Farm
Sun rise over Angels Rest Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Annie D
1 review
“Breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was my 6th visit to my second and spiritual home
As usual it was magical, within hours my stress levels were reduced and I sleep better here than anywhere else
The horses are wonderful- gentle and welcoming as are the dogs, cats, and of course Liz and Hanes, however Maya remains my special favourite ❤️
All amenities are there - well stocked kitchen, hairdryer and lots of books and games
As they say about James Bond - I will return !!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayagood
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

a wonderful place The location is amazing for pepole that enjoy quite places . the
house is fully equiped with very everthing. Nothing short. It was also very clean.
the horses are great but dont come to close ... i got a small bite...
We could not ask for more. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest6910...
1 review
“Stay at Angels Rest”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our stay at Angels Rest was wonderful. The location is amazing and very nice and peaceful. We loved and enjoyed the company of the horses around the house. The host Elizabeth are very friendly and welcomed us with a basket of fresh farm eggs with herbs. Our stay was very pleasant and I will recommend it to all who want to stay in peace. The house is fully equiped very everthing. Nothing short. It was also very clean at our arrival. One of the higlights is definately the horses roaming free around the house. They are adorable. We'll visit again if possible !! Regards Lynette Moore - Uitenhage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael o
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“peaceful and totally relaxing”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Merlin cottage was a wonderful place, Liz and her partner where very friendly and helpful with any help that we needed but at the same time let us relax and enjoy yourself,had fresh eggs of them with some herbs which where very good,the horses are great came in the morning and evenings for there daily feed of carrots and was great to see them either trotting past or strolling around,one of the cats was a daily visitor,the cottage is open plan and spacious very clean and tidy with wood burner in the middle of the room.while Merlins cottage is in the countryside it is only a short drive to plettesburg bay which is a lovely place to visit. Liz and her partner told us of a full moon and took a walk in the light of the full moon which was really special with the horses following us,it really is a wonderful place to stop relax and enjoy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relaxed feeling of the whole stay
Liked least: leaving the horses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm R
McGregor, South Africa
1 review
“The Perfect, Peaceful place To Unwind”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our lovely hosts Liz and Hannes gave us another warm welcome for our second visit to Merlin's Cottage. We love having so much space in the cabin. The kitchen is very well equipped. Hannes delivered 6 freshly laid, free range eggs from his own chickens, for our breakfasts.
The views from the lounge are fabulous overlooking the woods, a pond and extensive grazing land for the owner's 11 beautiful horses. There is also a bomb where we have spent many a perfect evening around the fire, star gazing and enjoying our braii.
Our favourite restaurant, Zinzi's is just a few minutes drive away, superb food and set in gorgeous gardens. There is a wonderful Saturday morning market again a few minutes away.
We can't wait to stay at Merlin's Cottage again. It is a very special place and we happily recommend Angel's Rest for the perfect break.

Pam and Shirley
Western Cape

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing