We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, but a bit overpriced”

The Med Seafood Bistro
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We went to the Bistro for an early dinner around 6PM and were the first guests. Very attentative waitresses were quickly at hand and served drink instantaneously. The food came soon thereafter, My pasta Cape Seafood was excellent and a good portion. My daughter's sirloin steak as excellent and cooked to the point. Only the veggies were slightly overdone.
The slight drawback came with the bill. Considering the "add ons", e.g. veggies I think the meals are a little overpriced.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Hi Rainer - thank you for your lovely review! I am disappointed that you found the add-ons somewhat expensive, but glad that you were satisfied with everything else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful venue. It was very romantic and the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend to anyone craving good seafood in a beautiful restaurant.

Thank Ilse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your stunning review - glad we could make your Garden Route experience even better !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for a Saturday dinner on our relaxing holiday. The seafood platters was good & our waitress helpful.

The relaxed mood changed when we asked for our bill and indicated that we would like to use The Entertainer. We weren't aware that you cant use the vouchers for the special board menu. But it was the way the manageress handled the situation that was really unsettling.

I have read the previous reviews and it seems that this restaurant should be removed from Entertainer. According to the manageress we need to indicate when we arrive that we would like to use the Entertainer. We have never indicated before we asked for the bill, that we have the Entertainer and didn't have this problem perviously with other restaurant since if you read the rules, its only required when you ask for the bill.

To the manageress, please ask Entertainer to remove you since you are causing more damage to your restaurant by the way you handle the situation.

Thank Han1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed our seafood platters. As far as your suggestion of us asking Entertainer to remove us, even my lawyer has not been able to get any response from the Entertainer to do so. So we will remove ourselves from the program. I am relieved for you that you managed to find the Entertainer's T & C's (not ours!) on the app, as your partner did not seem to know that the T & C's were on her phone. And my suggestion that you tell the waiter on arrival that you have the Entertainer app, not when you have finished the meal , was merely that - a suggestion, not a dictate, so that you could get the benefit of the discount by ordering what was available on the app.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

My partner and I had both a very relaxing Sunday afternoon meal ,seafood dish, which was excellent prepared, we will definitely visit them again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _hendrinadp1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

I am happy you enjoyed your afternoon with us : see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Pleasant restaurant with excellent seafood in a nice venue. Probably on the expensive side, but well worth a visit. Will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WLEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
local-happy, Manager at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

We appreciate your good review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Med Seafood Bistro also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Med Seafood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing