We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
32
73
53
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
73
53
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark stationbar pubconstitution hillinner citynice breakfastfresh fruitlaundryafrica
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The hotel on its own is very central. Surrounding by great pubs and restaurants. The bannister restaurant has an amazing atmosphere. The rooms are exactly as they are advertised. Very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beccamaluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice R, Manager at The Bannister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to hosting you at The Bannister again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

service was poor, no tea and cattle, the room was not state of the art, the shower does not have a door, wifi is too slow, the room was cold, the extra blanket recieved was to small, behind the bed was filled with dirt.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dmotsh988112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

This is close to universities, area was good with easy transport links. There are a lot of bars and places to eat nearby. Close to Mandela bridge, constitution hill and Park station. the hotel has a really good bar downstairs which also serves good quality food that is well priced. Overall a good base for a trip to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rradeb817527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondemanci, Front Office Manager at The Bannister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Good day RRadebe817527

We are so glad to hear that you had an absolute blast and you think our establishment is trendy.
It's our priority to render good service to all our guests.
We hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The worst service I've ever received from the hotel!!.Had to park my car in the car park but they couldn't help me because they didn't want to get rained on.They made me wait outside until the rain went down before they could open for me.There were no towels in my room.The last time the shower enclosure was leaking water.The water ran down on the floor soaking my shoes.Went to the hotel multiple times and was never informed that my booking included breakfast.The receiption staff was rude to my partner and I during the stay when we communicated the issue regarding parking.The breakfast we received was substandard no butter to use on the toasted slices of bread.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nkululekom406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Everything was fine, even check in 8 am was free, no extra costs, restaurant has reasonable prices
electronical cards, safe, quiet rooms, staff were friendly, supermarkets are near, railway station is near

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaripekkajuhanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewb-6, Owner at The Bannister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews