We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mauled by a Golden Bear” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Gladys
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mauled by a Golden Bear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

While on an Alaskan bus tour with Sunshine Tours, we had to stay at this motel. Lets get the positives out of the way first. The staff was friendly and were glad we were there. The restaurant and staff were the best. The restaurant workers were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and reasonable. Now, lets get to the negatives. We stayed in an adjorning building (room 15) it was cold (65*) and my wife was getting a sinus infection. We turned up the heat, nothing happened, A gentleman employee said to turn it to (90*) and when it got warm, set it where we wanted it. We did and nothing happened. The Lady manager told us the same thing. I also told the lady manager that the TV did not work. She said some of the TVs don"t work. My wife said that there were cob webs above the sink. I commented that they were easy to overlook. Then I looked at my left pants leg and it was covered with spider webs. I picked some white chunks off one of the beds, they looked like material used to repair sheetrock. My wife cleaned the sink and tub, so that we could use them. I complained to the tour guide. We were booked for a second night, a friday, to stay at the same motel. I told the tour guide that I had better get a better room or I was going to call the police and file a fraud report. Another couple refused to stay the second night and booked a room at another motel at their own expence. The second night was better, because we were in the main two story building and the rooms were better. If you have to stay at this business make sure it is in the main two story building. There are not many choices of places to stay here. We were told by Sunshine Tours that all motels and hotels would be three star establishments, this one by no means is that. The tour guide warned us in a round about way to not expect much, all I wanted was clean and heat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler57919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois S, Manager at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
The Golden Bear Motel family has worked together for over ten years to provide the best accommodations possible to every one of our guests. Although we find it deeply regrettable that this particular stay was less than enjoyable, it is a great comfort to us that for the thousands, literally thousands, of guests our small family operation has welcomed to and from Alaska, this is one of the only times we have ever failed to meet or surpass our guests expectations. This negative review will do nothing but inspire us to work harder to let no guest go unsatisfied. We deeply deeply apologize for the negative first half of your stay and ask that you see the silver lining in any misadventure or mis-step and ask that you please take to heart the many positive experiences that you shared with us, and even mention in your review. ie the friendly staff, the good food, and the room that you found much more satisfactory upon your return stay. Unfortunately, we can find no record of any guest of Sunshine EVER refusing to stay with us and have contacted Sunshine and were unable to find any record with them as well so I am unable to address that aspect of your review. We thank you very much for taking the time and expense to travel to Alaska and experience a taste of the last frontier. Every guest in our hotel is invaluable to us as we are a small family, not a large franchise, and your patronage is what puts food on our table and wood in the fire in winter. Thank you for coming. I'm so glad that we were able to provide you with a more enjoyable experience upon your return.
Sincerely,
The Golden Bear Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just checked in at the motel an hour ago and are now eating at the great Fast Eddy's restaurant. Like most things in Alaska, the town is older and reflects it but the friendliness and service is great. The motel upgraded our reservation of a room with two queen beds to on with two kings and a single (for five) after our reservation never made it through. They were great and the laundry facilities were nice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riahishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed at the Golden Bear Motel on our way to Dawson City and on the way back from Haines Junction. Upon arrival in Tok we found out that the Taylor Highway was closed the next day. We had to call our hotel in Dawson to let them know we would arrive a day late. The very very friendly lady at the front desk let us use her private cell phone to call to Dawson City, as did the lady who was working the next morning. Very very friendly people.
The room was clean and beds were okay too. Motel was close to "centre" of Tok. Restaurant was closed while we were staying there, but they do serve good coffee.
We stayed here again at the end of our trip and got the same room, they told us they try to book you in the same room when you return, they remembered us and asked how our trip had been.
Would stay here again for sure!!!! Thank you again for your help.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_the_World180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plum Grove, TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

In September, many hotels close or lay off staff. The Golden Bear was fully open and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The desk suggested restaurants and was very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. Try the Grumpy Griz for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ondbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
465 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed here one rainy night in June while en route to Dawson City. The room in the back "new" building was very clean, albeit a bit worn around the edges, but no complaints. My bed was quite comfortable and I slept soundly. The area that night was quiet. The staff were all friendly and cheerful folks.

I ate at the restaurant on site, and boy those two women working that night (the cook and the waitress) could put fancy 5-star places to shame. They had a packed dining room and meals were served hot, fast, and with a smile and some chit-chat. The home-cooked special offered that night was just what I needed after an 8+ hour drive in the rain. Free hot coffee or tea in the morning at the front desk. I would stay here again.

A side note: internet is available but it is not free. One hour was $2.95 and I think one 24-hour period was $6.95.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
1.8 km away
Young's Motel
Young's Motel
#1 of 5 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
4.2 km away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
1.5 km away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 8 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
38.5 km away
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bear Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

Property: Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
Address: Milepost 124.3 Tok Cutoff, P.O.Box 500, Tok, AK 99780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Bear. A full service, family owned and operated, motel, gift shop, RV Park, coffee shop, and restaurant. We have 60 rooms furnished with both double, queen and king size beds with private baths, Direct TV, and a large den open to guests where they can enjoy the 71'' big screen TV, the 10'ft tall grizzly bear display, and plenty of room to socialize with friends, family, and other Alaskan adventurers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing