We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you could wish for and more”
Review of Resta Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resta Reef Resort
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
ramsgate uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“everything you could wish for and more”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at Resta Reef for two weeks at the end of March along with her sister and husband. We have been to Egypt ten times and thought we had found the perfect hotel in Taba where we have stayed four times. And then came along Resta Reef chosen solely on Trip Advisor reviews.
Other people have mentioned the staff how friendly they are, nothing is too much trouble, and everyone is very willing.
I could not find anything negative to say about this hotel, and I wonder if those who havecomplained bothered to say anything at the time of their visit. I suspect not.
This hotel is run by a superb management team headed by GM Sherif Afifi, Ramy Operational Manager and the wonderful Jamana Bakry as Guest Relations Officer always willing to help if there is a problem. The Managers at Resta Reef treat their employees as human beings, always laughing and sharing jokes with them, and working alongside them, which I suspect is responsible for the way the staff feel they can interact with guests, making you feel one of the family
Mention must also be made of the food, some of the best we have had for the star rating of the hotel. The Head Chef, his deputy Abd El Rahim and all the chefs we met tried there best to pleaseand during the two weeks we were there we did not here of anyone with an upset stomach. My wife said that this is the first hotel in Egypt where they have cut up chickens the European way, instead of just hacking threm to ,pieces. The drinks are also better then other hotels we have stayed in. In December we stayed in Makadi Bay, the wine, whisky, brandy and gin were undrinkable, but here they were all very acceptable. Many names have been mentioned in other reviews and we endorse them all. Please do not be put off by negative reviews, this is a great hotel. The hotel cannot be responsible for winds that cause black flags to fly. A little research would tell you that wind is quite normal along the Red Sea coast, although this year it lasted longer than normal. One last thankyou to Charlotte for her help and advice. Insha Allah we hope to see you all again in June.
Keith and Ann Taylor

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank castro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    632
    176
    72
    37
See reviews for
358
796
103
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed at this small but quaint hotel for two weeks in Feb and a a truly wonderful time. It is like a water hole in the middle of Africa, all nationalities, ages and types gathered here and all seemed to enjoy the diversity and soak up the warmth, not just from the sun but the staff too.
All the staff from the Manager Sherif Afafi,all bar staff, animation Charlotte & Fabio,spa and housekeeping were excellent and we didn't hear anyone complain about anything.
Yes some rooms are undergoing and need a bit of upgrading but we have paid more and not received anywhere the level of service quality of food that Resta Reef provides.
Food is good and there was always something different, the soups were especially good and if veggie you didn't starve either.The Penguins in the title are found in the restaurant and its this type of quirky touch that makes Resta Reef different and special
On a practical note snorkeling is good from the beach and the snorkeling trip was also enjoyable swam with turtle and sea cow. Diving was OK, Emperor diving also OK but would try others next time.
We would not hesitate to recommend and will certainly return.
THANK YOU to you all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeanAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My partner and I recently stayed for a week at this resort and we had a wonderful relaxing time. The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff and holiday reps were all brilliant. It was a really friendly atmosphere and the entertainment staff were particularly helpful, friendly and good fun. We wanted a fairly quiet, relaxing holiday, where we could just rest, enjoy the beach, the sun and have time with each other and this was exactly what we got. The food was all in a self-service restaurant (buffet style) which could get quite hectic, I would imagine, when the hotel was more full but the food was excellent - everything was cooked fresh and there was plenty of choice each day. The location is good because it's near the airport so the transfer is short.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The last couple of years we have stayed at Hilton or Sofitel, so didn't have as high expectations for this hotel. Much smaller than previous stays, but very pleasant. Staff were great. Renu at pool bar was always singing and a joy to be served by. Main bar in the evening happily refreshed drinks without us asking. Restaurant had good choice of food and fabulous, fresh salad bar. Chefs & waiting staff friendly and checking if everything was ok. Tables were cleared and re-set speedily so no-one ever had to wait for a table. Water is served by plasic cup at pool bar; the wastage bothered us so we took one of our small water bottles and asked for that to be filled instead. One guy wouldn't fill the bottle so we proved that it holds the two plastic cups and not more - crikey we only wanted it filled with water, not gin (we saved that for later in the day!) Beach was ok but not great for paddling due to coral/ reef so close to shore. Due to the high winds the jetty was closed as it was too dangerous to go in the huge waves, Friendly sparrows who appreciate a bit of bread......
Tip for the journey back - at Marsa Alam airport there's a Pizza place and a Costa. We decided we would buy some food on the plane instead (Thompson) and oh we wished we hadn't. Bacon baguette and chips - tasteless. really wished we'd got something before the flight. Great airport though, clean & new, unlike some we've been at! All in a great break for a week, not a big hotel - gardens pretty but not much to walk around, although you can go next door to Resta Grand and walk round their gardens too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusieSooJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have just returned from the most fantastic holiday at this charming hotel with my Husband and Best Friend. We have all visited Egypt many times but this was our first visit to Marsa Alam. From the moment we arrived I was taken aback by the warm welcome we received from all the hotel staff. I cannot emphasis enough how welcoming the whole team at Resta Reef are, they really go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

The Beach is sandy and the views out to sea from the hotel are breathtaking. Yes the black flag was displayed through out our stay but I do not see how the hotel can be criticized for protecting the safety of its guests. Personally I loved walking out on the jetty and watching the waves come crashing to shore.

The rooms are pleasant and every thing you would require, our bathroom was very clean and tidy. The room was cleaned each day with fresh towels and replenished stocks of bottled water. The cleaner even introduced himself to my husband on the first day which helped put out minds at rest.

The food is delicious with plenty of variety and you even meet the chef's during meal times. Who were very keen to hear your feed back on their work. The waiters at this hotel are exceptional, they work well as a team and go out of their way to remember what you like to drink and your names.

It is true that you can only drink wine in the restaurant and I must admit that we did mention this to the management soon after we arrived as both myself and my friend are wine drinkers. Unfortunately at the moment this is a hotel rule, which we had to accept, we believe that they are working on changing this rule in the future. The wine that is on offer during meal times is perfectly palatable and we soon found an alternative after dinner drink.

Overall this hotel is fabulous and very well run, all the staff here are a credit to both the particular management team and the Resta Resort group. The maticulous way that you see the team working to check every detail is simply mesmerising!

Would I go back to this hotel?........... Absolutely, tomorrow ifI could!
Would I recommend this hotel to my friends? .........All of them.

I have never commented on Trip Advisor and felt strongly enough to make my first comment about this hotel.

Please go and experience this hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jolene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsa Alam
8.3 km away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
0.4 km away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,445 reviews
0.3 km away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#6 of 68 in Marsa Alam
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
#31 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,132 reviews
30.9 km away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.5 km away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Property: Resta Reef Resort
Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,875 - ₹ 5,042
Hotel Class:4 star — Resta Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing