We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,471)
Filter reviews
4,471 results
Traveller rating
3,541
742
148
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,541
742
148
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free laundry service thomson rep fish night bar animation team pool bar a la carte restaurant room boy guest relations two weeks half board towel art evening entertainment relaxing holiday beach towels coraya divers welcome meeting
Filter
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 4,471 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Our original holiday in Egypt was cancelled by Thomson after the security scare at sharm el sheikh but we were determined to go so we re-booked with Thomson to go to Marsa alam. We had never been there before and booked this hotel because it was adult only and had a coral reef for snorkelling. We could never have imagined just how totally fantastic this hotel would be. When we arrived we were greeted with a cocktail and biscuits and promptly shown to our rooms. Our luggage was delivered to us moments after we got there. Our room was just beautiful. A large bed, mini bar, flatscreen tv, a whole wall of wardrobes and a bathroom with a shower big enough for four people! Our balcony was secluded and had a garden/partial sea view. The three pools we used had different experiences to offer. One was only waste deep so was used for water aerobics and had a swim up bar, one had a waterfall and bridges which made swimming really fun and the third was deeper and offered water polo and water basketball if you were feeling energetic. Every part of the hotel buildings and grounds were absolutely immaculate and the staff worked tirelessly to keep it that way. The food was plentiful, perfectly cooked and catered for all tastes. Breakfast offered a huge range of cereals, eggs, freshly cooked pancakes, Danish pastries and the best croissants I have ever had along with a choice of preserves and 3 types of honey. The dinner salads were amazing! There were so many different ones to choose from. There was soup every night which was delicious and a whole range of different bread rolls to try. The main meals were varied and the different meats were cooked to perfection. Every night offered a different menu. We had roast lamb and mint gravy, roast beef and Yorkshire pud, fresh salmon, not to mention all the more traditional Egyptian fare. Be prepared to put on weight unless you have really strong will power! Of course the most important thing at any hotel is the staff and at Coraya beach be prepared to be treated like royalty. Every member of staff is polite, friendly, helpful and always willing to have a chat and offer you anything to make your stay more comfortable. Within a couple of hours of being there I had been offered a mattress topper and extra pillows which were in my room within minutes. Every member of staff really cares about making your holiday the best it can be and they are all, without exception, a credit to this hotel and the main reason why my husband and I have already booked to go back next year!! One of the reasons I wanted to go back to Egypt was to visit Luxor (having been to the pyramids a couple of years ago). Unfortunately Thomson were not running this excursion so we turned to Vanya, our guest relations officer. She arranged a private car and a private guide and our day in Luxor was a 'pinch me I'm dreaming' experience. Every one of the guests I spoke to agreed that Vanya was just amazing and she too is a reason for our return next year. The beach was just some steps down from the third pool and where we spent most of our time. If you are a keen snorkeller then this place is heaven! We took our own snorkelling gear and spent every day going up and down the bay mingling with the marine life. There is an abundance of fish and even swimmers who don't want to go too deep can see rays, lion fish, puffer fish etc., Most holidays you need to go on trips to see coral reefs but this perfect hotel has them either side of the horseshoe shaped bay. I could extol the virtues of this hotel for another couple of pages but to sum it up, the hotel is beautiful, the staff are truly amazing, the food is great, the pools are well maintained and the snorkelling is superb! my husband and I like to travel and are not repeat holidayers, we like to visit different countries and have never stayed in a hotel so magnificent that we were tempted to go back until now. So for me I'm just excited that I will be returning next year and if it's just as good I can see us making many more visits in the future.

Stayed: September 2016
8  Thank louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr M, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Coraya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear Louise

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort to spend your holiday.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Coraya.
Thank you so much for a fantastic review.
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and can only thank you for being so determined to visit Egypt and have the confidence in this beautiful country.
It is always a delight to hear such positive reviews and thank you and and every other guest who helps us in keeping Coraya Beach Resort in the no 1 Spot.
I will pass on your review to all departments as I am sure they will be very pleased to hear , the Coraya team met your expectations
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We look forward to personally welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Vanya Paffett
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

stayed for 2 weeks at the Coraya beach resort. this hotel is so relaxing being adults only.
the hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are friendly and always there to help.
you arrive quite late in the evening to a late meal.
wi fi in the reception area is quite slow and you are required to get a pass word which gives limited download access; no problems with this as they give you more passwords as required.
rooms are spacious and clean and are kept that way through out your stay. mini bar is free for water and soft drinks; beer and snacks are chargeable. tea and coffee making facilities are available.
the hair dryer is pretty good.
free laundry service is available so you return with minimal washing.
the hotel has a feel of being a little village; with the rooms being in small blocks and has a lovely feel to it.
we didnt go to the amphitheater to see any of the entertainment the entertainment to the main hotel was low key but ok.
we didnt snorkel out in the bay but were informed that it was good with varied sea life
the food was varied although a little repetitive and ample and it was on most occasions piping hot; what we found was that it was a bit bland to our taste; i found that the Egyptian dishes had the most flavour and would often opt for these. there are the usual pasta stations and barbecue food. service in the dining room was always good and we never felt that we needed to tip; we tip at the end of our stay to those we feel we have had repeated service from.
drinks around the pool are brought to you and again tip if you want to but we never felt obliged to and always had a good service.
we would return to this hotel and wish that Thompsons would fly to this destination from Manchester

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr M, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Coraya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort, Marsa Alam, Egypt as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Coraya and thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review.
You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Vanya Paffett
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Even before Sharm was 'no go' fellow travellers had suggested trying Marsa Alam Iberotel Coraya Beach. We are glad we did as it again provided a very good adult only AI experience. Transfer from the airport is only about ten minutes, but do not be worried about the proximity as in a fortnight we saw about five aircraft and only heard two of these. Check in was quite slick and the restaurant held open at about 2230 with as good a selection of food available as normal. We had room 1916 which whilst only a 'superior' was perfectly adequate with a nice view across the main pool to the terraces. It was top floor but we had no air conditioning noise problems. The room was well looked after,with consumables replaced daily; we did have a couple of maintenance issues one being late at night when the air conditioner started leaking, but this one was sorted out, floors dried and us able to go to bed within an hour of reporting. The lower pool was our preferred area for relaxing and it was excellently attended by Bassami from Fayrouz for drinks etc and all the pool guys re mattresses and cold towels. The buffet restaurant serves acceptable fare; obviously primarily based upon fish, beef and chicken; do try the liver from both the barbecue and main area as it is cooked to perfection and tastes superb. Deserts are excellent, try the Om Ali for both breakfast and dinner and note the subtle differences. There is a coffee machine for after the meal, the milk can run out, but if this happens rather than sitting and moaning as some did, tell one of the staff who will quickly refill it. Our main waiter was one of the Mohameds, (youngest and cheekiest looking), who was very attentive and knowledgeable. The terrace could be quite busy for post dinner drinks, (decent G&Ts), but not a lot of people use the upper terrace, this is equally as good and has a pleasant breeze and if you get the front seats a good view, but the rear seats are the comfiest. The grounds are well maintained with perfectly trimmed hedging and grass; there is easy access to an excellent reef for snorkelling, with a multitude of fish, a couple of massive eels and some were lucky enough to see octopi and turtles. Overall the hotel provides just what is needed however active or inactive you want to be. We, (apart from snorkelling), chose the chilled out option for this particular holiday, being winter active, and this worked even the Spa sellers leaving us alone after a day of firm 'NOs'. Would we go back, probably, but it is shortly to be rebranded so will watch reviews. Nearly forgot, do go up the tower, it gives excellent views and from there both sunrise and sunsets are amazing.
,

Room Tip: Try for sea or pool views
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveC774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr M, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Coraya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort to spend your holiday.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Coraya.
Our team and I would also like to thank you for such a positive and wonderful review.
You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer. Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Vanya Paffett
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

On arrival at hotel we were greeted with hot flannel to cool down with a cold fruit juice.filled in form very quickly done Our cases were taken to our rooms we were then all taken to our rooms together with certain points of the hotel pointed out by our hotel manager. The room was very nice Hotel staff excellant food plenty with choice of different types would recomend this hotel .

Stayed: June 2016
3  Thank alec f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr M, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Coraya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort to spend your holiday.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Coraya.
Our team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer. Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Vanya Paffett
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We have just got back from a great weeks stay at this hotel . The hotel was lovely the room was clean and very spacious . The food was very good plenty of choice great for all diet types always hot and replenish quickly .

The pool areas looked lovely but having a choline allergy we used the beach every day . The beach was beautiful I loved my early morning swim with the local fish and was great to see a well preserved coral reef well done Coraya beach . The snorklling was amazing in the bay .

When we first looked at booking this hotel we looked at booking for 2 weeks as we wanted to do a few trips eg Aswan and Luxor . So glad we never as this is not possible for the British tourists as due to the uk government advice Thomson are not doing any trips that go more than so many miles into the dessert also quad bike trips were out . I think that Thomson need to make this more clear to people booking this holiday . We done a snorklling trip to the Hamata islands it was well worth the two hours drive the coral reefs were amazing great trip out . We also done a trip into Port Ghalib with Thomson on Saturday night I wish we had went in the day . They are a few shops in town cheaper than hotel for gifts . Do not be fooled with the guide telling you only to go into the shops he says are ok i will guarantee that he is on commission . The shop keepers are fine no trouble no hassle just a bit of banter never once felt threatened . We had a few drinks in Wunder bar nice friendly little bar food looked great .

The service I found was not as great as I had read in the reviews . We found that most of the waiters in the dinning room were just not interested we had one the last few days that was great I wish I had got his name . We are not big drinkers just as well as on the terrace the waiters seemed to serve the people that were return guests and people that constantly tipped . I can't understand why waiters would come to a table of four and take orders from one couple and not the other very rude maybe better staff training needed . Talked to a few return guests and they said that they thought the service was not as good as before . This is the reason I gave this hotel 4* and not 5*.

The night entertainment was fine they always had a singer and done a show not west end but enjoyable .

I would return to this hotel fabulous location . I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends .

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Syimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amr M, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Coraya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort to spend your holiday.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, here at Coraya and will be returning.
I will pass on all relevant comments to Thompson and the relevant departments, with the intention to continuously improve and meet the expectations that our guests have come accustomed to.
Our team and I would like to thank you for your critical, detailed and valued feedback.
Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Vanya Paffett
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews