We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth!!! Worth the expense”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on Earth!!! Worth the expense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 7 night Honeymoon in Moorea and Bora Bora. We had thought the overwater bungalows at the Hilton on Moorea were nice, but our Superior Overwater Villa at the St. Regis literally left us speechless. We stay at some of the nicest hotels in the world on business trips and this was hands down the most incredible room and resort we have ever had the luxury of staying at. Thank you to Claudia and her team at Pacific for Less for hooking us up!

The villas are huge and well appointed. The air conditioning works flawlessly. The butler service is fantastic and the staff are all friendly. The breakfast buffet is great with many options, although the omelett station is incredibly slow and inefficient. The Lagoon restaurant has unbeatable views and great food. Our private dinner on the beach was absolutely delicious. The gym is small, but well appointed and our spa services were excellent. (However, there was not much to offer in terms of sauna, steam room or jacuzzi. I typically stay and have a steam and relax a bit, but the facilities are small and the jacuzzi wasn't even open).

The concierge was lovely and a big help in booking dinner reservations and activities. La Villa Mahana is a must - order the chef's Tahitian tasting menu with the wine pairings. We also took an incredible private boat trip around the island that included snorkeling, feeding sting rays, swimming with sharks and a private dinner on the beach. Although it was an awesome experience, it did feel overpriced at $1,200 US for 5 hours.

Overall, HIGHLY recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    200
    69
    39
    20
See reviews for
193
1,563
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We've just spent 10 days there in a Superior Over Water Villa. Are we Rockefellers? No, we just booked with "Pacific for Less"! Claudia and her team got us fantastic rooms for even more fantastic rates. We can only recommend her for all your travels to Polynesia. They did a fantastic job on our 4 weeks honeymoon.

But back to the St. Regis.
140 square meters bungalow, Bose sound system, private sundeck, huge bathroom with rainforest shower, bathtub, 2 sinks, seperate toilet, seperate living room, extremly roomy, comfortable bed, great butler service...

The people at the St. Regis really take service and customer focus seriously. Waiters know you by name after a day, almost all notes were written by hand! Had small niggles with the plumbing, half an hour later we received a bottle of champagne as a compensation for our discomfort...

The resort itself is extremely well cared for and since it's quite spacious, there are alway bicycles available at the beach hut to let you ride home, when you don't want to wait for the butler's golfcart to take you home.

The "Lagoon" restaurant in the resort, close to main dock, beats the over-hyped Villa Mahana on the island hands-down! Sea-side sitting and georgeous food! Our favorite Sauvignon Blanc was out, so we got a more expensive one free of charge.... Now beat that!

Tired of the resort's restaurants? Call reception and they'll organise free trips to the island's best restaurants and back for free (well, you'll have to pay for your meals...)

Now to the "downsides"
- In the bungalows, there is no place to hang your swimmwear to dry
- Closet room is too limited for a 10 days stay
- Bicycle return policy by 17:00 is inconvenient, when your taxi boat to the island just leaves at 18:00

That was it for the downsides.

We can really recommend the St. Regis for a completely carefree stay in Bora Bora.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedhouseSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

First I would like to say "WOW" - it's been said before and it will be said again. This place is just paradise. If you can afford it you should stay here because if you stay elsewhere you may not get the total experience. We traveled from NY to get here and it was worth every single hour that we sat on a plane or in an airport for a layover.

This place just has everything you could ever want or imagine. One evening we were taking the shuttle to Bloody Mary's and we stopped to drop off other couples at hotels on the main island of Bora Bora and I realized that they were having a completley different experience than we were. You MUST be on a motu that faces the main island to appreciate the total beauty of the lagoon and the mountain. I can' t believe that I ever even considered another resort. (The only other resort that we saw via shuttle or boat that we would even consider was the Four Seasons and even then we would only go there if the St. Regis was unavailable because the St. Regis is just PERFECT!)

We had booked a great package that inculded a daily breakfast buffet, an upgraded villa, beach dinner and a couples massage. We thoroughly enjoyed everything!

We traveled duing the 3rd week of February which is supposed to be off season and the rainy season. We had perfect weather all week with only one short 10 minute rain shower during the morning. It was very hot and humid because it's summer but it's easy to escape in the water.

The resort was very quiet upon arrival on a Saturday but got a bit busier as the week went on and by Tuesday it was pretty full (but still very quiet vs. other resorts we've been too). When we arrived we were the only couple on the boat from the airport but we went back with 5 other couples. We didn't have any trouble getting reservations at the restaurants but they were full when we arrived.

The service we recieved was fantastic but a little laid back. Once our room wasn't made up and we had to call and ask to have it made up so that we could get ready for dinner. (I think it was a miscommunication because we saw the two on either side being made up in the late morning.) Once we called, 2 maids showed up and it was spotless with extra towels and robes etc. within 10 minutes. The staff was so friendly it was almost embarassing!

The spa was terrific and the waitstaff at the restaurants were excellent. The beach area was really nice with plenty to do (or not do). We used the kayaks, the paddle boards and the paddle boats as well as the hammocks!

We went to the main island three times and if I could do it again I would only go twice. It's a lot of effort and the restaurants at the resort are great so there's no need to go more than a few times. I would go once to hit the market and once to dine at Villa Mahana. No other meal we had on the main island was worth the effort (they were not bad - but the restaurants on the resort were better or just as good).

Overall this resort is everything it's made out to be and the reality is even better than the hype. I look at my 300 photos and they just don't do this place justice. It's just paradise plain and simple.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

As you would expect, Bora Bora and the St. Regis are absolute paradise. We stayed at the resort at the beginning of February for our anniversary. Unlike most of the postings here it seems (it's starting to sound like an infomercial), we did not use Pacific for Less, and had a great experience.

I don't like to repeat what others have already said, so I'll keep it to the highlights for our particular trip as much as possible. I have read that you feel like you are the only people at this resort. We felt the same way, except some of that may be because it was low/rainy season. We were told there were 70 people there, but I think we saw a total of about 20 the whole time we were there. It is definitely meant for time together alone.

The rooms are amazing. We stayed in a premium overwater villa that looked out onto the main island. These rooms were great because they were bigger, and they were protected from the wind that seemd to be prevalent coming from the other side of the resort. The water around our bungalow was always calm and warm, while it could get pretty choppy on the other side. I don't know if this is a seasonal thing with the winds, but it made a difference for us. The weather in general is a bit spotty in Winter it seems, but we didn't have any full wash out days. It's the tropics and it does rain every day for a little while. Otherwise it was sunny and nice. Although be aware the sun is very strong at that time of year.

The meals were good. We tried each of the restaurants and liked each of them. Although, we did attend a dinner show one night and did not realize it came with a hefty price tag. So be sure to check before attending. Which is one downside to this resort. Paradise comes with a price. It's not just that it's expensive, you expect that from such a great resort, it's that they charge you for everything. To the point where they forgot to charge us for some food on the last day, and actually sent and email with a form for me to fill out to charge my credit card for the food. I felt like they had already taken enough of my money, the $50 wasn't going to kill them.

Otherwise the staff is amazing and very accomodating. We had some issues with our reservation to start off and they bent over backwards to make sure everything was taken care of.

Overall it is an amazing resort at an amazing location. I just hope we can make it back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a island view room if you can. The views are incredible and they are better protected fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNtoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Will not go in much detail since most of the previous reviews describes how perfect this hotel is. I would actually rank it so far as the best resort in the world based on my personal experience staying at over 1000 hotels around the world. I will just make a few comments and give a few tips.
1. Price: you get what you pay for. You will pay a lot (and I mean an awful lot) for the privilege of staying here. This is where the rich and famous hang out. Only go if you can afford it and I am not just speaking about the price of the rooms
2. Fun: either come for a honeymoon, with a group of friends, with the intention of sampling all the water sports, scuba and excursions or just stay 2 or 3 days only. Bora Bora can be Bora Boring if not. Despite the abject luxury and all the stuff to do, you may get bored after a few days. I stayed 7 days and did not get bored for a second
3. Food: yes it is great and refined at all the hotel restaurants and bars and even at Bloody Mary in the main town but it is not Haute Cuisine, it is very good island cuisine with mostly local products or stuff imported from France, Hawaii or Japan. If you are allergic to fish or don't like exotic fruits, vacation elsewhere!
4. Service: having a butler is priceless. Don't be shy, use your butler as much as possible, this is a big perk and you paid dearly for it. You butler is really at your beck and call for anything you desire (within legal limits of course but even that can be stretched). Your wish is their command
5. Enjoy! This is paradise in all sense of the word. Sit back, relax and build memories that will last you a life time

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, the only difference is the view and you can see that from other vantage poi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Docsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
1.3 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
7.4 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
6.5 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
6.2 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price range (per night): ₹ 59,121 - ₹ 1,64,981
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing