We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was a really cute hotel. Although our guidebook described it as “sprawling”, it felt like a village since it straddles the street with the beach and bungalows on the water side and the reception and garden rooms on the mountain side. It is nicely laid out with lush gardens complete with plant names. We thought they had mistaken us for someone else as our welcome was unprecedented. We were greeted with floral necklaces and drinks and when we arrived in our garden room, we found we not only had a view of the lagoon, but there was a t-shirt for my husband and a pareo for me. An hour later a fruit plate arrived at our door. We’ve never been treated like that at a hotel. The room was very nice and really big. We had read there weren’t many sandy beaches on Bora Bora so were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel’s beach to be nicer and bigger than expected. Our one minor complaint was that we had a downright difficult time getting breakfast. Seems most people at the hotel are on full or half board which we didn’t even know was an option. While everyone else helped themselves to the breakfast buffet, we had to track down menus and someone to take our order every morning. Other than that, this was a fine place to spend a few pleasant days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    414
    200
    83
    41
See reviews for
124
717
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had a six day stay at the Maitai in March. The hotel staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Some nice things:
1) We arrived on Monday morning 8am, and they gave us our room immediately in spite of a check in time on 2pm.
2) We left on Saturday evening at 5pm. Once again, they let us keep our room till 5pm in spite of a check out time of 11am ... and we did not even have to ask for it!
3) Free kayak rental (and lots of other stuff too). You can easily go up to the nearby coral gardens using the kayaks (behind sofitel motu) and snorkel.

Food: We were on a meal plan, which was good, but I would not recommend it if you are a light eater. The meals are pretty expensive and heavy. There is a grocery store close by which is all the basic supplies.

Location: Very good location. It is near Matira beach, the only public beach in Bora Bora. Also close to the coral garden, accessible by kayaks or boat.

May not be suitable for people who want five star service and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sukhada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

First, I have to say that KnoxvillePufferfish described this place best, and that I agree 100% with him (incidentally, we stayed at the same time and had many chats with he and his wife).

We stayed in Bungalow 12 and thought that it was a phenomenal value. The bed was comfortable, the patio was beautiful, and the view was beyond amazing. The bathroom/ shower area were new and nicely done, and it came with iron, water heater, and a small television (not that you should use it).

The grounds, flowers, and plants are all well kept, there is free use of recreational equipment, and plenty of space even if they were fully booked.

The Staff deserve their own special mention even if Puffer already gave them credit. They were some of the kindest and most professional I have seen in my travels; everything was taken care of, and they seemed to have a sense of pride in what they did. Well done!

Their restaurant was par, to be fair, but I was not disappointed. Other hotels on the Island would seat you in the corner near the concierge desk if they knew you were not staying with them. We suggest the hotel kitchen and bar, of course, but also check out the local joints- Fare Manuaia (head south on the main road) was Excellent, and La Bounty (north) had great food (even if the proprietor and her guests were rude!).

We spent a lot of time snorkeling right off of the beach, there was plenty of fish to see in knee-deep water. We even saw a ray and an octopus a bit deeper out. There were reef outcroppings and other interesting things to see.

See Puffer's note on the Bar :)

All things considered we would have stayed at the Mai Tai on Bora Bora another night or two and spent our remaining time on Moorea instead of the island of Tahiti. Again, see Puffer's notes on that, as we stayed at the same hotel they did on the return.

If we ever get to Bora Bora again you will be sure to find us at the Hotel Maitai. They may never get us to leave!

Room Tip: Get a beach bungalow or over-water bungalow. Remember you are on the beach, so expect some sand (the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TeamGumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

While we originally read mixed reviews about Le Mai Tai, we didn’t want to base our dream honeymoon on someone else’s opinion. We specifically wanted to stay at a resort in Bora Bora that offered deep over water bungalows (OWBs). We are very active people and the last thing we wanted to do was snorkel under or around an OWB that was only a mere 4-5 feet deep. While doing our research, we found that some of Bora Bora’s deepest OWBs were at Le Mai Tai. On top of that, we could get 7 straight nights for an amazing price that was comparable to 4 nights somewhere else. We were looking for the true OWB experience, an authentic Polynesian island and lagoon experience. It was the best decision we made because, ultimately, we experienced all of those things and more.

Upon arrival at the Bora Bora airport, we were transferred by boat to Vaitape, where the main harbour is. From there, we were transferred by van to Le Mai Tai. We were greeted with flower leis and a yummy cold drink. After a small tour and explanation of the facilities, we checked into our gorgeous OWB. Back in Canada, I had corresponded with the resort manager to arrange for an OWB that was furthest away from shore and over the deepest water. They did not let us down! Our OWB, #107, was the most amazing one there! We later found out that #107 and #108 were the best ones!

As mentioned, our OWB was the furthest one from the shore, therefore providing us with the most spectacular view. It was built about ten feet above the actual surface of the water. The water directly underneath the OWB was about 20 feet deep (YAY!), and directly off of our balcony looking out into the lagoon, the water dropped further and further to 30 feet, 40 feet, and deeper! The water itself was crystal clear making for perfect snorkelling conditions, and of the brightest turquoise blue I have ever seen. We were in for an amazing week!

Inside, the OWB was a very quaint and private retreat. Thatched roof, wooden details, Polynesian décor, a king size bed, spacious bathroom, open air shower, and large patio doors that opened to our very large balcony overlooking the gorgeous lagoon. We also had a bar fridge in our room, a small safe, and a glass bottom floor underneath the coffee table.

We snorkelled and swam around our OWB everyday. The underwater life is just breathtaking! We fed the fish leftover bread from the restaurants, all the while trying not to laugh so hard from the constant tickling from the fishes’ noses. Some of the best times we had on our HM were at our OWB, whether it was underwater exploring, admiring the captivating views, or watching the sunrise from the balcony. It was our own little world.

There are two restaurants on-site, one of which is next to the beach and the other located at the main building. The one next to the beach is more casual, so we opted to go there for a few lunches. Delicious food too – my favourite was the green salad with goat cheese and walnuts. DH’s fave was the mahi mahi salad. The restaurant at the main building is more formal, and therefore great for romantic dinners with my hubby. And of course, the meals there were also delicious. My personal favourite was the mahi-mahi tuna on a bed of leeks (sounds weird, but sooo good!). DH’s fave was the lagoon fish made with a creamy sauce. Breakfast is served only at the formal restaurant, either buffet or a-la-carte. My favourite breakfast was eggs Benedict, while DH’s was the ham omelette.

There is also a free-standing bar conveniently located right on the beach. We enjoyed several drinks there from our favourite staff member, Chantal. Drinks were always cold and service was so friendly. We also had kayaks and snorkel gear available at the beach, as well as an authentic Polynesian canoe draped in palms.

We found Le Mai Tai to have the most friendly and the most courteous staff. Everyone was always willing to accommodate our needs, answer our many questions, and go the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable. We were always greeted with a smile and an enthusiastic “bonjour!” Several of the staff members even knew us by name. About half-way through our stay, chilled champagne and a fruit platter were delivered to our room! How sweet!

Side note: Being Canadian, we were taught French at a very early age up until grade nine. My husband stopped then, but I continued to take French all the way through to University. I love the language, so I was extremely happy to be able to use it again, seeing as it had been years since my last “real” French conversation. If I forgot a word here or there, the staff at Le Mai Tai were very patient with me. And although the majority of the staff spoke English, they were all more than happy to hear me speak French! I believe this was because they somehow knew that we were genuinely accepting and, in one way or another, adapting to their culture and to ours surroundings. After all, WE were the visitors.

Activities on and around the island deserve a whole review in and of themselves, but several worth mentioning are: personal open-air dune buggy rental, personal aluminum boat rental, dinner at Bloody Mary's, and a black pearl tour at The Farm.

Overall, Le Mai Tai is a beautiful and authentic Polynesian resort. It is intimate in size, quaint, and not at all overcrowded. The hospitality at Le Mai Tai is unsurpassed, as we felt “at home” from day one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GlobeTrottingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beah, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We returned to Bora Bora for our 25th. Found the overwater bungalow at Le Maitai to be a good price. The package was offered by Pacific Holidays. The flights and transfers were very smooth. We were pleased with the place. Two restaurants were part of the meal plan. The food was good but limted in choices. Again, the staff at the restaurant by the bungalows were very accommodating. The native shows were enjoyable especially if you like audience participation fare.
Half through our week I developed a sting/rash condition that required medical attention. The French Dr. in town was excellent, and got me onto the plane home.
Two further helps, I hope: the store a half block away has everything; and a souvenir shop a block away and across from the Intercontinental lets you use their computers all week if you buy $25 worth. Their computers were even set up for Skype and were always available.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the overwater. got to wait in a room away from the water and were glad we were in an over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buttonpunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.5 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.7 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,456 reviews
10.2 km away
Blue Heaven Island lodge
Blue Heaven Island lodge
#15 of 17 in Bora Bora
108 reviews
7.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Property: Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,236 - ₹ 23,129
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing