We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pros and cons...”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Judging Eden Beach is quite difficult, there are some absolute stunning aspects about this place but others are absolutely negative.

Among the positives there are:
- scenery and views: the "resort" is located in one of the best places in the whole lagoon, the sight on the main island is stunning
- bungalows: quite new, comfortable and clean
- Bora Bora itself: the island is just amazingly beautiful

Negatives are:
- it is almost impossible to swim in front of the hotel (it's very shallow and the sand is muddy in that side of the lagoon). Anyway, you can take a kayak (for free) and go around in the lagoon. The pool of the "resort" is decent (but you don't go to Bora Bora to swim in a pool)
- owners: running a resort is just not meant for them

Overall, we enjoiyed our stay and we reccomend you to go to this place but just if it for few days and it is part of a bigger trip (i.e. you should not count on this to be the best and only place of your trip, especially if you're on your honeymoon). Remember that the "resort" is on a Motu, so you'll be a bit constrained (there are free transfers from/to the main island various times a day)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TheMakkions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    47
    16
    13
    19
See reviews for
24
153
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here end of September for 4 nights after having been on a cruise. We wanted to relax a bit before flying home to Austria. So we have picked this place after reading reviews of this and other hotels on Bora Bora. We wanted to stay in a smaller more privat place compared to the big hotels. Eden Beach is a good value for money. Not luxury but maybe 3star.

We were greeted friendly by the owners wife. She explained everything in detail and showed us our bungalow which was the first one next to the restaurant. The bungalow was ok - big bed, not TV, no aircon but a fan on the ceiling that was very ok for us. All windows had nets to protect against mosquitos. The owners also provide you with insect repellents, so we had no problem with mosquitos. I was only once bitten during the whole stay.

Food was very good, although a bit pricey, as everywhere in Bora Bora. The cook did his things good, especially the fish Mahi Mahi with vanilla was very good.

The owner Vlad was very helpful and friendly. His wife was friendly too but she alway was a bit "cool". Water in the shower did not heat, Vlad came and fixed it instantly.

The only real downside was that every night the water broke down and there was not water till next day morning. Although Vlad gave us a bottle of water for the teeth and toilet it was very annoying not to have water in the toilet.

We booked a tour Vlad recommended to us and it was really a good tour. It was good organized. Vlad brought us by boat to the pickup point where the tour operator already waited, and after the tour he picked us up with almost no waiting-time.

All in all we would recommend this place. We got what we searched for. A nice small place, quiet, with wonderful sunsets. If you just want to be on the lazy side, read a book and relax, this is the place to go. If you are in search for more comfort and OWBs you have to go to one of the bigger and more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: First row bungalows to have a good and undisturbed view of the sunset and Mount Otemanu
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErwinInge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Eden Beach Hotel is a family owned business that felt like a bed and breakfast. It's a small resort with about 6 bungalows that were in use. The bungalows in the back were under renovation during our visit.

Positives:
- Picturesque Location. This hotel is situated on a motu with a beautiful view of Mount Otemanu and the Bora Bora lagoon. It is very scenic, private, and quiet. I loved the view we had just sitting out on the beach. The view is really unbeatable. They also have a cute little pool facing the mountain and the lagoon. Hotel grounds are well landscaped and well kept.

- Access to both the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean. We like to explore on foot and we only had to walk a few minutes to the back side of the motu to see the Pacific Ocean and its roaring waves. I don't think we would've been able to see the ocean if we stayed at the other resorts on the main island.

- Warm welcome and thorough orientation to the hotel. The owner Vlad poured us juice and provided us with a lot of info about his hotel and its services (free kayaking, free ride to go snorkeling). They put out mosquito repellents at the front desk which guests can use.

- Owner and his wife spoke English in addition to French. So we got along fine there even though we don't speak French.

- Good food for dinner and generally with their warm plates. Food prices seem comparable to the big hotels on the island. However, alcohol prices seem expensive.

Negatives:
- Inconsistent Service. Given that this is a small family-run resort, you're dealing with the same people for your entire stay. The quality of our service seems to correlate with our spending at the resort. Service wasn't so great when we weren't spending money there. The owner checks in with you multiple times a day to see if you want something to eat/drink. I can see how some would appreciate that service, but it felt too in-the-face for us. We prefer to be left alone and approach the staff when we need something. There were also times where I felt like I was imposing on the owner, having to go to him for everything (bookings, rides to the main island). Although the owner expresses willingness to help us with our bookings, we had to keep checking back with him to make sure it was taken care of. When he made a mistake with one of our reservations, he was reluctant to call back to rebook. Other times he was apologetic for things. So service was unpredictable. At times we felt like a bother or an inconvenience to the owner, which was unpleasant.

- Service costs add up quickly. We booked this hotel as a "budget hotel" in Bora Bora. However at the time of the booking, we weren't aware that it would cost us extra for transport from the airport to the hotel. I see that the major resorts have boats that pick up the guests directly at the airport. Eden Beach Hotel charges 3000CFP/person for a one way ride to/from the airport. The other option is to ride the free shuttle from the airport to Vaitape, take a taxi to Anau (3000CPF for the ride), and arrange for free hotel pickup from the Anau public dock. The hotel also offers free shuttles to Anau at set times each day. Other than that, you have to pay per ride to get to Vaitape, Matira, or Anau if it is after 6pm. So at the end, it's hard to tell if we saved money staying here or if we ended up spending more on the extra costs. The hotel website lists rates for all their services.

- As beautiful as the hotel grounds are, this hotel is also far away from town. It can be a hassle having to arrange for a ride to the main island each time. While many restaurants offer free pick-up and drop-off, they only do so on the main island. So you'll have to make arrangements and pay for a ride to/back from the hotel if you go out for dinner.

- While our bungalow looked clean, we found a cockroach looking bug in our bed sheets upon our arrival. There were also some ants in the room, but we've learned to co-exist with ants when we visit the South Pacific Islands, so that wasn't a big deal.

- Low water pressure in the shower. Bathroom only came with a soap bar, so be sure to bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and other toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cottn6andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Beautiful beaches, amazing surroundings. However the hotel could be a bit better. Service is fine, good French, good English.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickiebondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Out of the 5 places we stayed on 5 islands, this was the 5th best. I feel they are not putting money into maintenance and improvements for their property so at best its average and some parts are poor.

The only 5 is that it had a beautiful view of the island of Bora Bora to look at and a nice sunset. The 2 dinners we had were very good and I don't think our dinnners were overpriced compared to dinnners we had on Bora Bora itself or other islands.


The water in front of the hotel in the lagoon and on the ocean side was not pleasant or usable recreationally.

One of the owners, Vlad, was personable, however, his wife, Donna, left much to be desired. She was brusque from the start. Then, a mask I received from Vlad in the morning fogged up continually and then the strap broke rendering it useless. When I brought it back in the afternoon, Donna said I broke it and that I would pay for it. I was very upset by her attitude. Eventually, she finally provided me with a replacement mask, but she left me with a bad taste in my mouth that stays with me influences this review to some extent.

While Vlad worked to set up our enjoyable paid excursions, I had trouble with believing Vlad at times. They were late picking us up after dropping us off on the pacific side for snorkeling and they did not coordinate with a land taxi to meet us at the public dock they dropped us at. The taxi was at the Le Meridien dock 100 feet away but we could not see them.

Vlad warned us about all dogs but his and said where they dropped us off on the pacific side to snorkel there were no dogs, but there were homes and plenty of dogs. However, none were inclined to bite us as Vlad led us to believe when we first arrived. Other guests told us they walked from Eden Beach to the pacific side without apparent problems with the dogs that Vlad warned us of.

Vlad also said there was no good snorkeling on Bora Bora itself, only on the pacific side of their motu where they had taken us. Not true. We rented bicycles on Bora Bora and found nice spots to snorkel, including near the old bora bora hotel.

Not being able to rely on Vlad was uunpleasant.

We had no power or water to bush our teeth or for the toilet or hot water for the shower 3 of the 4 nights because the equipment was old and broke down and the winds. Vlad and Donna did not seem inclined to repair or rennovate their generator to provide power to the huts or keep the pilot lights lit for hot water. Instead, they just gave us bottles of water for brushing our teeth and the toilet.

The huts were nice, the bed was comfortable, and we made do with what they provided, but we did not get use of the facilities we paid for or that were described on their website.

We felt they took advantage of their remoteness to over charge for drinks.

Bugs biting us outside our room and by the pool remained a significant problem as they have apparently since 2008. Go out on the dock where the boat is tied up to enjoy sitting outside bug free as they have chairs out there for that purpose.

Their boat should have a cover or siding in the event of rain or siginficant wind or choppy waters.


Unfortunately, I cannot recommed the Eden Beach Hotel. I would upgrade to one of the larger hotels on the Motu suggest staying on the Main island of Bora Bora to have better access to snorkeling and excursions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank southafrica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.6 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.9 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
4.2 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
5.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
1.5 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Beach Hotel Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Beach Hotel Bora Bora

Property: Eden Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Address: 191 Vaitape | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,092 - ₹ 26,355
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eden Beach Hotel Bora Bora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Beach is only Bora Bora hotel with a 180º lagoon view from the beach & bungalows & restaurant. No over water bungalows in front of You breaks Your relaxation. Endless beaches, privacy, quietness & undisturbed nature, . No TV, no traffic, no roads, no pollution. This is best place for You who trying get away from the noises of civilization. Not only honeymooners, wedding anniversary couples are very welcomed ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Eden Beach Hotel Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bora Eden Beach Hotel
Bora Eden Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing