We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its exactly what our Travel Agent was asked to find for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Leona Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Its exactly what our Travel Agent was asked to find for us!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you don't do any home work prior to leaving, then you really can't be to suprised when you get there. The big suprise was the beauty of the water & all the marine life. The locals were amazing, the private island is the only way to go. Yes its expensive, but we knew that going in. I did have some pre-trip plans that didn't happen due to contact issue's with the Hotel. Our plan was to just relax, & we accomplished that & then some. I would suggest to those who can't adapt. to cultural differences, maybe you should go to Waikiki. The few issue's while at the Hotel were handled very fast & to a pleasent demise. I'll be posting some travel tips that made the trip even better for us next time, but this is about the Hotel, WE LOVED IT.

Room Tip: Bungulo 112 over wtr was the BEST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank californiajeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your great comment it was a pleasure to have you as a host at Sofitel Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    382
    206
    132
    86
See reviews for
116
931
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Sofitel's private island was amazing with the best spot in town for snorkeling, great mountain top view of sunset, privacy and great food and drinks!

Room Tip: Choose either bungalow 129, 130 or the two at the other end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your 40th birthday!
i appreciate all your great comments regarding our spot, the view 360 degres from our hill in our private island, especially for sunset.
The coral garden located in our private island is one of the most famous all over Bora Bora and.... i agree.... good drinks and good food are a important part to celebrate and to enjoy holydays!
Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here on a business trip 2 years ago and warned my company to not stay here again. Change of management ignored the warning and here we are. The service is terrible, no hot water, roof leaks, food is marginal and expensive. Given the rates, you would expect a great deal more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Buck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I am not even sure how to begin......we loved our stay at the Sofitel Private Island.......

There are two Sofitel properties in Bora Bora. One is located on the main island (Marara Beach). The other is across the lagoon on a private island, which is where we stayed. The private island resort is very small - less than 30 rooms? - which results in the most amazing customer service. The people that worked in our hotel always called us by name - even when they saw us on the Marara Beach property.

The hotel picked us up at the airport. The airport is on the opposite end of the island from the Sofitel so it took awhile to get to the property but it was a wonderful introduction to the island. Hotel customers were dropped off at the private island first - we were greeted by several employees, including the head of PR. They were SO happy to see us! Check in was a breeze and our bags were delievered to our room before we even got to it. We did a ton of research on trip advisor and knew we wanted an overwater bunglow with a room numbered 127 - 130, so a month before we left, my husband annoyed the hotel staff with emails requesting one of these rooms....we were awarded with room 128.

The room was very spacious, clean, and had obviously been recently renovated. The water was deep around our room so we could jump in from our terrace. The bathroom was so gorgeous - no shower - just a huge long spa tub which we loved. The beds were comfy and our room was cleaned at least twice a day. We had a spectacular view of Mt Otemanu.....wow. When our trip was over, it seriously broke my heart to leave, we loved our room so much.

Breakfast was included with our package which was awesome. Made to order eggs, omelettes, pancakes, etc etc. The lunches offered a wide variety of price ranges (but still expensive) and were very tasty. The Fish Burger is top notch, I think my husband became addicted.

The island is absolutely gorgeous. I loved how the rooms were placed on the island so as not to interupt the natural beauty of the island. There are a few small (man made) beaches and most of the water around the island is relatively shallow which is good if you are like me and a crappy swimmer. You can hike to the top of the island which provides a gorgeous 360 view of the main island, the lagoon, and the Pacific. There is not a pool but you are welcome to use the pool at the Sofitel on the main island.

When booking our trip there were a few things that immediately sold us on the private island. The first is that the hotel is very small so it wasn't overrun with guests. In fact, the hotel was booked and we hardly ever saw anyone which has its pros and cons, I guess. There was a boat that took us over to the main island and it was free regardless of the time of the day. The Four Seasons, on the other hand, charges $60 to and from the main island at night. A free boat ride was a necessity for us because we ate all of our dinners off property and in town. The service was......just amazing. My husband is so annoying, he asks tons of questions and everyone was so nice to us. :) The people that worked there were so happy. I just can't get over how great the service was. Finally, the best snorkeling is on the east side of the private island. It was a little difficult to get to but worth it. We saw an octopus, sting ray, eel, and a million gorgeous fish. This appeared to be a stop for most of the snorkeling tours as well - and it was right by our hotel room!

We would stay here again in a second and can't wait to return. It was a perfect way to spend our fifth anniversary and the Sofitel private island will always hold a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: Sofitels are always great properties, but if you can, definitely stay on the private island. OWBs n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OklahomaPrettyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora, The private island is made to give you a taylor made service in a magnifique environment. All the team is oriented to make you feel unique and you highlighted it.
We hope to have the pleasure and the honnor to welcome you back in our paradise. You have a home in Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We, family of 4 stayed from 2/17 to 2/25 at the Bora Motu Sofitel Resort. Our bungalow over the water, facing North was #120. What to say other than this was the perfect trip. Very nice location, incredibly kind people always ready to help and definitely best price for value in the island. We have been there for our second time and would advise that resort to anyone willing to spend time in a 5* hotel but not willing to spend the 700..1000 $ a night usually going with it.

Thie Motu part is like a boutique hotel where people call you by your name and first name. Small difference but showing they care more than any other hotel I have been (Diamond at Hilton btw). You have a total privacy when staying on the Motu which given the size of approx 25 bungalows make you feel like a true VIP on your private island. Integration of the hotel in its natural environment is also exceptionnal. You're close to most diving spots and we apreciated all the tours we took that the hotel organized for us. The coral garden right back to the island is the most visited on the lagoon. Swimming distance ....

Icing on the cake was a full day on Maupiti, a small island 45 Nautical Miles west of Bora. A must go if you want to feel the vibe of the traditionnal Polynesia. Jean Louis (hotel concierge and tour arrenger) has his own contacts there. We were welcomed by his friends who took us for a lobster lunch at their private motu.

All in all, the most exclusive vacations we had for quite some time.... for a reasonable price ! Merci beaucoup ...

NB : don't expect French Polynesia to be cheap. This is a remote territory where everything but fish and coconuts are imported from 5000 miles away min. The distance and the small population size makes competition is limited ...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for your stay and for coming back a second time. we really enjoy your comment regarding the sense of details we want to provide at all time. The way you felt the privacy and theexclusivity in your private Island is a great feeling, this is also our commitment to all our guest staying with us, where life is Magnifique!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
1.0 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.5 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
5.2 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
258 reviews
7.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.6 km away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,795 - ₹ 39,657
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing