We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and great owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Susitna River Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Susitna River Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and great owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We live in Anchorage and visit Talkeetna three times a year. The lodge and cabins are very nice, and the property is in a lovely spot. In particular, I like the cabins, which have a cool loft that will fire up kids (and, of course, me). The river really is just outside the front door and there is the opportunity to enjoy a campfire on a sandbar in front of the lodge in the evening. Most importantly, the lodge owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and they graciously helped us out of a jam when they had no obligation to do so. Without a doubt we will go back.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
109
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My family stayed over New Years 2010-2011 and we didn't want to leave! My husband and I stayed with our 2 children ages 5 and 2 along with my sister and her husband. We stayed in a room in the main house and it was comfortable for all of us. The owners really made us feel like family. They had a great bonfire on the ice and even provided marshmallows and hot chocolate for the kids! On New Years day we wanted to watch the Rose Bowl game and Darlene (the owner) set out snacks so we could watch on the big TV in the main house. We also rented snow machines one day and we really enjoyed it. Had it been clear that day we could have seen the mountains, but it was quite overcast. I don't care what season it is, when we get back to Alaska I will definately visit them again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I happened to be in Talkeetna this past October. The day was beautiful, not a cloud in the sky. I decided to get a room and book a flight over Mt. Denali the following day which was suppose to be weather perfect. There was a sign that said open at the Susitna river lodge which I was happy about being off season. Darlene, the owner, greeted me in the office with hot coffee and a plate of peanut butter cookies she had made that afternoon. I ended up rented one of their cabins which over looked the mountains. The cabin was spotless. It was very comfortable and had everything I could have possibly needed. I was amazed that when I got out of bed in the wee hours of the morning to hopefully see northern lights, that the open sign was still on in the main home and it was well lit. Highly recommend staying here. Connie W.

Room Tip: The cabins have a view of the mountain range and sit right on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conroy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here as part of a group tour with Planet Earth Adventures and we had the most enjoyable, relaxing stay in Talkeetna. Our cabin was very charming and the hosts of the property, Darlene & Howard were the most accommodating and friendly people we've met. The cabins are nestled in the woods on the banks of the Talkeetna River. They are quite charming and even have thir own kitchenette. The property also has a main lodge that has a large TV and area to relax. They provide a continental breakfast in the morning. This is a great place to stay in Talkeetna. Definately would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed here three nights in September 2011. Funky town of Talkeetna is a couple miles away from this little piece of paradise. Our room was big with a bay window overlooking the Susitna riverbedand an upstairs sleeping loft. Couldn't believe the enormous wildflowers at rivers edge. Breakfast was delicious each morning and the Hunters are gracious hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.9 km away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.1 km away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 km away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
7.4 km away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.0 km away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susitna River Lodging? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna River Lodging

Property: Susitna River Lodging
Address: Talkeetna Spur Road, 13.5 Mile, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Talkeetna
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,395 - ₹ 13,613
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Susitna River Lodging....where the rivers and mountains meet. 13.5 mile Talkeetna Spur Road. Private cabins, deluxe suites, river and mountain views. 5 minute walk to historic Talkeetna. Open year round. 2 hours from Anchorage and 2 1/2 hours from Denali National Park. New unbelievable playground across the street. Two pet friendly cabins. All accommodations include full baths and kitchenettes. BBQ grills and supplies provided. We accept all major credit cards. Military discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Susitna River Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susitna River Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Susitna River Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing