We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
771
379
116
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
379
116
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop free shuttle beautiful hotel land tour main lobby a mountain view room huge fireplace walking trails viewing deck base camp bistro mountain range royal caribbean shuttle service rocking chairs there is no air conditioning wake up call mt mckinley
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Top notch resort with friendly staff and great Denali views! Food was great and Austin the bartender made a special drink with hot chocolate for my wife. Rooms were special with large bay windows looking directly to Denali. Trails were well marked and maintained. Large fireplace in the main lodge was always burning and plenty of seating to view Denali. Really special resort!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We are pleased to hear you had such a good time while staying with us. We will pass along to Austin as well as the rest of our teams your amazing comments.
Have a wonderful rest of your summer and please stop in to see us if you are ever in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay! Resturant’s are very good and reasonably priced, rooms are very nice. Would highly recommend while visiting Denali Park. The view from the lodge is incredible. Lots of excursions to choose from nearby. Well maintained Landscape, friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ms110410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We are pleased to hear that you had such a good stay and will pass along your kind words to all our teams. Have a wonderful rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the Lodge on the way to and return from a five day stay on Ruth glacier .
This is a modern oasis which has everything you need in an area in which most accommodation is basic rustic .
The view of Mr Denali and surrounding peaks is available in many of the rooms but is freely available from the lobby lounge , restaurants or the large outside decks .
it's a truly spectacular setting .
The place oozes warmth and comfort .
The reception staff offer a genuine welcome and were generous in their giving of attention and desire to please .
Smiles aplenty and a real interest in having everything go right for you .
You don't find that everywhere ,as anyone that travels will attest to .
There is a cosy coffee and snack bar in the lobby .
Rooms are just what you need after travel or a day of sightseeing .
A tidy clean bathroom with a great hot shower and comfy bed .
There is a constant running free shuttle to the town train station area .
All in all you won't find better than this Lodge for miles .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank 863johnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of your stay. We are so happy to hear that we could be part of your trip to Alaska and serve as your base while you were exploring the local mountains. We will pass along all your positive comments to our reception and housekeeping teams!
Thanks again for choosing the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge and have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is a very nice, lodge style place to stay. The main lobby has a nice fireplace and rustic sort of chairs. The deck outside the main lobby is enormous and hasa gorgeous view. The grounds are manicured and quite pretty. The rooms and other interior spaces (including the bar/lounge/restaurant) are fairly simple and even dorm like, but quite comfortable. Room amenities included a single-cup coffee maker (very good, Heritage coffee) and a dorm style fridge, but no microwave. Each wing has a small lobby and outdoor sitting area of its own, as well.

We were fortunate enough to be there on a gorgeous day with a spectacular view of Denali right out of our window. If you have a room on the other side, then you can get the same view from the lobbies or outdoor sitting areas.

It's a pleasant, roughly 2.5 mile walk between the lodge and town (downhill to town, and uphill back). If you don't want to walk, there is a shuttle that starts late morning and stops early evening, or you can see about getting the only taxi in town (business cards available at the main lobby desk).

The free wi-fi really is only accessible in the main lobby. It may extend into some rooms in the main lodge, but we were in the east wing.

I really did enjoy this place and would be happy to return. My only (nitpicky) comments are that the wi-fi and shuttle hours are pretty limited.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Doak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit on a clear enough day to see the mountains! Unfortunately internet in remote Alaska is not quite as fast or accessible as other places in the lower 48. This is something we are constantly working on improving as technology permits.

Thank you again on the great review and we hope you have a wonderful rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Our room was spacious and very clean. The atmosphere was what us lower 49ers think Alaska is like. Updated rustic charm. A moose was around property trying to protect her young and was encountered by several people staying there but there were warning signs. Short trails nearby.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dottyb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherman701, Guest Relations Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to see some of our local wildlife. If you are ever in the area again please stop in to say hello and have a wonderful rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews