We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
771
379
116
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
379
116
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop free shuttle beautiful hotel land tour main lobby a mountain view room huge fireplace walking trails viewing deck base camp bistro mountain range royal caribbean shuttle service rocking chairs there is no air conditioning wake up call mt mckinley
Filter
Updating list...
1,124 - 1,129 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at the Lodge as part of a RCI cruise tour.  The Lodge is spotless, the rooms are well appointed and maintained, and the service is professional and courteous.  We were amazed to learn that this is only a seasonal property which closes for the winter.  The weather was absolutely perfect on the day we arrived, and Denali was fully visible, much to the excitement of the locals as well as the travelers.  The main restaurant, the Foraker Room, has an Italian theme.  The food was good, and reasonable in price by Alaska prices.  Our service was a bit on the slow side, but the dining room was a bit busy.  The Bistro bar provides a good breakfast.  Our party enjoyed sitting out on the terrace with its spectacular view of the big mountain and having our pre-dinner drinks.

All in all, the Lodge is an outstanding choice in Talkeetna.  As a minor note, it also had a self-service laundry room.  It also has computers available in several lounges and a wifi network.

Room Tip: Rooms with the Denali view are more expensive, but if the mountain is out the view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granddadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Talkeetna should be a must as it is a great little town. I suggest a two night stay. There are trails right outside hotel and great shops in town. Hotel has free shuttle into town. Since the town is small, two nights is a good time to stay. You might also want to do a Glacier Landing using Talkeetna Air Taxi. Great time. If you drive, be sure to stop in Palmer, AK at the Musk Ox Farm. (It is in between Anchorage and Talkeetna).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and this in my opinion is by far the best place I've stayed in Alaska. The rooms were hot because they do not have air conditioning, but they do provide a fan. Was not too bad. The views, the fireplace and the whole ambiance made up for the lack of air conditioning, It is $$$$ but worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

One of our best stays in Alaska, but not the best. This lodge has almost EVERYTHING. Great service, great rooms, and two pretty good eateries. The Basecamp Bisrto and a good dining room. When you are on a cruise-tour you are somewhat captive to the hotel where you are staying and subject to where you can eat. Good food and wine sometimes is important. We had both here. But their breakfast was nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was the best place we stayed on our trip to Alaska. Lovely decor and public areas.
You can see Mt. McKinley about 30 % of the time. You can also walk in to town in less than half an hour. The restaurant was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a "room with a view"
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews