We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
263
26
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
26
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdumb waitergreat roomgreat hostsflights of stairsfront lawnvictorian roomtop flooralaska rangeoverlooking the mountainsfire pitamazing viewsfew minutes driveother gueststalkeetna areasmall hillbed and breakfastwonderful breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This is a great inn. I highly recommend it. The view of Denali outside our window was amazing. Tim was a great host -- welcoming and informative. The breakfast was varied and very good. We had a rental car, and it was a short, easy ride into downtown Talkeetna.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We did a self drive tour for a week this was the best stop. After rain/clouds/ some snow we had a perfect view of Mt Denali, not a cloud in the sky! Host gave a tour of the house when we arrived. Everything was clean, very comfortable public area and our room overlooked Mt Denali, what a view! Fire pit in the evening, lovely yard to enjoy the outside. Breakfast was made to order, large selection. Would love to come back for several days.

Room Tip: Splurge on a room with a view of Mt. Denali
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fiveone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The Denali Overlook Inn was spectacular. The host was very nice and had great ideas for things to do in and around Talkeetna. The room were very clean and views amazing. We didn't get to see Denali/Mt Mckinley, but if I can tell that the sight would have been wonderful! I high; recommend this place. It is only a few minutes from town, but the serene surroundings were hard to leave. Just Go!

Room Tip: Best room is the The Denali Room! Best views of the Alaskan Mountain Range
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronpdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Highly recommend. We stayed for two nights. Tim was a great host. We told him we were going to Denali early the first morning so he made us (family of four) a to-go breakfast/lunch bag for the 2.5 hours drive to Denali NP. Just out of town we saw four moose along Route 3. He also provided great tips to spend our last day on the way back to Anchorage. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast selection was good. The view of Denali is spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Czplcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The Overlook Inn looks down on a spectacular evergreen and aspen forest, moose meadow and stream and out to the mountains in the N and W with a 270 degree vista. You can see for a hundred kilometres. A nightly fire pit and s'mores on the large elevated lawn. Breakfast dining room and leisure living room with expansive glass make this place very special. Stay at least 2 nights to visit Talkeetna, take a Denali flight and tour the surrounding area. Tim is very helpful with a great knowledge of the area. He may even fly by and tip his wing to you.

Room Tip: Views from your room, from breakfast dining, from the living room and from the lawn will make it hard to leave.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews