We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very spacious rooms but a little old fashioned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very spacious rooms but a little old fashioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Overall this was really good value for money, we normally go for something a little more modern however the 1 bed apartment we had was really spacious, it was clean and tidy. The bed was really comfortable and we were given a really good recommendation of Bennys Again to eat we even got a card which gave us a 10% discount and if I am in Timaru again I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
38
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for our daughters wedding, couldn't have asked for better accommodation or hosts, we were checked in by Janet who made sure we had everything we needed. We had two two bedroom units as our other daughter was over from Perth with 3 young children, portacot and highchair were set up in room ready. Beautiful clean units, staff very friendly and obliging. Best accommodation in Timaru as far as we are concerned. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend to everyone!!!! Thank you so much for making our stay such a memorable and happy one!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Lovely Spacious apartments. Was the best accommodation I stayed in whilst travelling through new Zealand. Would not hesitate to advise someone to stay here. Really clean, attention to detail. I was very impressed. Staff polite and professional. Could not of been happier with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iomboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

stayed for one night at the beginning of our stay in south island. Very friendly welcome, the room was very comfortable, particularly liked the large leather armchairs which were great to sit in. Good to have such a lot of space in a motel room as well as good cooking faacilities.

Room Tip: lovely hotel but quite a walk into town - no problem if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed for three nights in a two bedroom, ground floor unit. Carl greeted us at reception and quickly checked us in and showed us to the unit. When I had booked by phone a few weeks earlier, I had requested a highchair and portacot (both free of charge), which were set up in the unit. The unit was clean and comfortable with good proportioned bedrooms, bathroom and living area. The bathroom had a corner spa bath (which my daughters loved) and separate shower. The only negative of any sort was that the kitchen was a bit small with little space to put groceries (but as we had two small children, we probably had more food than the normal guests). The whole motel was quiet with very minimal noise from other guests and no traffic noise whatsoever.

We had a great time in Timaru and would not hesitate recommending this motor lodge to anyone. Lovely place to stay and Carl was very helpful offering places to eat, getting a newspaper for us (when we'd forgotten to request one) and providing a bit of free internet access. It was very reasonably priced for what you get and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSarahNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.9 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.6 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.3 km away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.1 km away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,815 - ₹ 8,548
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge provides quality, 4 Star Plus rated, central Timaru accommodation and is ideal for corporate travellers, families and tourists. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge offers 17 spacious quiet fully self-contained and serviced studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Asure Ashley Motor lodge also offer the twin king unit, a two bedroom apartment with kind sized beds in both rooms, as well as having two access rooms. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spa baths (except for access studios), FREE WI FI (100MB Limits Apply), Continental and cooked breakfasts are available each morning. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge is situated on SH1 just south of the bypass, 3 minutes' drive to central Timaru, Caroline Bay and restaurants, close to the Timaru Hospital, the Timaru Botanic Gardens and golfers have a choice of seven nearby golf courses. Your hosts Carl and Janet offer you a warm welcome at ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge located in the heart of Timaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing