We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Station Lodge(Ohakune)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
LKNZ Lodge(Ohakune)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Ohakune(Ohakune)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
193
108
32
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
108
32
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated poollog cabintongariro crossingski shopswiss chaletnew zealandski seasonmini barhighly recommend staying herewooden wallshotel restaurantwonderful atmospheremain restaurantsnow centrepowder kegwingsski lodge feel
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We travelled up from Wellington after getting off the ferry at 6pm.
After running a bit late, I phoned ahead to let the staff know and they asked if we would like some dinner cooked which we said yes too.
On arrival we went to our room, went down into the restaurant for a great burger, chips and a couple of beers.
The staff are amazing. Gus behind the bar, the chef and waitress went out of their way to accomodate and look after us, for this I thank you.
As for the Chateau, what a beautiful place, timber everywhere, the rooms are clean, large and just the place to put you head down for the night.
We had breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed
Will definately be back

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

The Powderhorn is a beautiful hotel, covered with wood. Combine that with a huge, one room suite, including a big veranda and you get the winning combination.
The staff is welcoming and very helpful, breakfast and dinner are served in a nice restaurant and the atmosphere reminds of a Swiss chalet high in the alps.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay


Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We stayed here for two nights on our way south to Wellington. Arrived and left in the rain but it didn't matter, the view is amazing, the staff are all friendly and welcoming and the place is lovely. As a European felt very at home, in a little Swiss Alpine world - the rooms are all lined in pine, the bathrooms are efficient, with a welcome warming cupboard. Good laundry facilities for road-trippers. Get a room with a balcony if you can. And ignore all the comments about noise from the trains- they do pass by but they are not loud and pass on very quickly. Nothing kept us awake after a day out in the National Park.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a terrace - great view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janddp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the chalets the hotel offers. The units were very well appointed, tidy and worked really well for us.

We had complimentary use of hotel facilities and used the hot pool :-), it was welcomed after doing three Tongariro Crossing.

The resturant had a good selection on the menu and all meals were very good, breakfast was also very very good.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Krusherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We had eaten at the restaurant (Powderkeg) before but never stayed at the hotel. We decided to spend a night here on our way home and are so glad we did. The carparking is free, reception staff are friendly and helpful, there is an elevator despite there being only three levels, and the entire venue is like a giant log cabin (or Lockwood Home if you're from NZ). Our room was spacious and well appointed, the bed comfortable and the bath/shower fantastic (large deep bath, big enough for two and the shower has excellent pressure). We loved the indoor heated pool, you can even order drinks to be brought in!). We had a fabulous meal in the Powderkeg restaurant that night and an equally fabulous breakfast in the Matterhorn restaurant the next morning. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back to stay again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews