We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
195
111
33
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
111
33
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated poollog cabintongariro crossingswiss chalettop floorpowder kegski seasonnew zealandmini barhighly recommend staying herehotel restaurantwonderful atmospheremain restaurantsnow centrewingsbeautiful roomboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

The Powderhorn is a beautiful hotel, covered with wood. Combine that with a huge, one room suite, including a big veranda and you get the winning combination.
The staff is welcoming and very helpful, breakfast and dinner are served in a nice restaurant and the atmosphere reminds of a Swiss chalet high in the alps.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We stayed here for two nights on our way south to Wellington. Arrived and left in the rain but it didn't matter, the view is amazing, the staff are all friendly and welcoming and the place is lovely. As a European felt very at home, in a little Swiss Alpine world - the rooms are all lined in pine, the bathrooms are efficient, with a welcome warming cupboard. Good laundry facilities for road-trippers. Get a room with a balcony if you can. And ignore all the comments about noise from the trains- they do pass by but they are not loud and pass on very quickly. Nothing kept us awake after a day out in the National Park.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a terrace - great view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janddp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the chalets the hotel offers. The units were very well appointed, tidy and worked really well for us.

We had complimentary use of hotel facilities and used the hot pool :-), it was welcomed after doing three Tongariro Crossing.

The resturant had a good selection on the menu and all meals were very good, breakfast was also very very good.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Krusherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We had eaten at the restaurant (Powderkeg) before but never stayed at the hotel. We decided to spend a night here on our way home and are so glad we did. The carparking is free, reception staff are friendly and helpful, there is an elevator despite there being only three levels, and the entire venue is like a giant log cabin (or Lockwood Home if you're from NZ). Our room was spacious and well appointed, the bed comfortable and the bath/shower fantastic (large deep bath, big enough for two and the shower has excellent pressure). We loved the indoor heated pool, you can even order drinks to be brought in!). We had a fabulous meal in the Powderkeg restaurant that night and an equally fabulous breakfast in the Matterhorn restaurant the next morning. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back to stay again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Cute hotel in log cabin style. Good amenities in room and efficient check-in process. Unfortunately we were unable to have a decent night's sleep due to the proximity to the railway line that runs beside the hotel, which saw no fewer than 8 trains pass on the first night and approximately 6 pass through on our second night (train traffic commenced at approx. 8pm on both nights). As the in-room compendium explains, being a log cabin the building is unable to be sound-proofed. Whilst we accept this, it did result in the train noise being excessively loud with the trains almost sounding as if they were passing through your room. The in-room compendium requests guests to minimise noise and offers free earplugs to help against noise from neighbours, however, no mention is made of the train traffic. When we spoke to the person at the front desk to request earplugs because of the trains, we were told that the previous evening had seen more train traffic than normal, however, that night more than 6 trains passed by so this is potentially an unlikely explanation.

The rooms themselves were cosy and inviting and the staff friendly. We found our room to be clean and spacious with a comfy bed, however the hairdryer left a little to be desired.

Given our experience travelling through New Zealand, we felt that this particular hotel was a bit overpriced compared to others we stayed at. Unlimited internet (as opposed to the 2GB limit) would be an improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for earplugs on arrival.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews