We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Arrived after a long journey, just in time to order an excellent meal and then to our beautiful room with its most comfortable bed. Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Food (Dinner and Breakfast) was delicious (we're demanding vegetarians). We only wished we had realized the place was so good; we would have stayed for days.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

14 - 18 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I was not expecting something so wonderful! I felt like I was staying in a luxury log cabin.
I ended up in the very large ‘The Mansion ‘ room. If you are travelling with a group this is a must do. Four bedrooms, sleeps eight, two bathrooms, kitchen and lounge.
The bed was comfy and the room (s) was clean, warm and beautifully decorated.
I looked at my colleagues rooms which were the standard rooms and they looked like beautiful little log cabin rooms (with balconies) too.
Staff were great. I can’t fault this place at all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From check in, bar and restaurant everyone we met went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

We were in room 309 which was a great sized room, very clean and comfortable bed. The "Harry Potter" room was great fun for our son. Not to mention the heated indoor pool with bar service the perfect way to finish a day of fantastic skiing.

The Snow Centre on site is super convenient for renting equipment etc.

Thanks to everyone at Powderhorn and PowderKeg for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Large room, heated indoor pool, snow rental gear onsite, large open fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sillyena65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Spent a couple of nights in this brilliant hotel. The location is very good, really close to Turoa ski tracks. Rooms are very cozy, the restaurant was amazing, delicious food and great service. Overall, the customer service at Powderhorn Chateau was exceptional. The heated pool is a perfect way to spend an afternoon after skiing or snowboarding during the day. There are other activities available in the area such as walking and mountain bike tracks in case the lifts are closed. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Perfect location right on the road up to the skiing at Turoa. We grabbed a free shuttle from 50 m down the road. Ski hire facilities on site were efficient and friendly, with a place to store your stuff overnight if you're a guest. Hotel staff were pleasant and efficient. Room spacious, cosy and comfortable. Main restaurant, the Matterhorn, was pleasant with good food and warm atmosphere. Brasserie also had good food in amongst bar area and they managed great service even when really busy. Hot pool great for a dip after skiing, complete with button for bar service! All pretty faultless and to sum up sure there are cheaper places but you'd be hard pushed to find a better one.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Epitwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
25 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,773 reviews
25.2 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
466 reviews
2.3 km away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
562 reviews
0.2 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
1 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: ₹ 11,205 - ₹ 21,694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing