We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
197
115
35
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
115
35
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated pool log cabin tongariro crossing swiss chalet top floor powder keg new zealand ski season main restaurant snow centre wings bar restaurant mulled wine wait staff big bathroom flat screen tv rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Very nice hotel in High Sierra style, warm rooms with beautiful wood furniture, a very comfortable bed and a complete bathroom that includes a heated wardrobe for drying your clothes in a wet day. The receptionist was extremely friendly too.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay in Ohakune. The whole venue has a wonderful atmosphere, made from natural timber. All the staff are very friendly and professional. We received absolutely outstanding service, which exceeded our expectations. The reception and management staff allowed us to change some of our arrangements so we could have more rooms for our guests. They didnt have to do this and it was hugely appreciated as it meant we could all enjoy the fantastic ambiance of the Hotel. The rooms are modern, clean and luxurious. We ate at the Powederkeg, which served excellent meals at a reasonable price. Great to have all faciliaties available within the Hotel including a nice hotpool. This is a great place for a romantic, luxury - 'get away from it all' stay, You will definitely feel treated. Highly recommended and we will definitely stay again.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlBakerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Our stay was booked for one night by separate sightseeing tour operator. A lovely choice. All wood architecture. Staff courteous. Room clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast both good. Just not enough outlets.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marieaparsonsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

More a vast alpine chalet than a chateau, the Powederhorn, and its restaurant, the Powderkeg, offer quality, comfort and good service in a semi-rural setting. There is a beautiful bush walk within a few minutes walk as well as a charming walkway to Ohakune, two kilometers away, along a pleasant fast-running stream. There are glimpses of Mount Ruapehu above the trees and the hotel is within easy reach of the region's main attractions. We were delighted when the owner, Annie, met us at the nearby station, and drove us to the hotel, ensuring a smooth transfer with all our luggage. A similar service was offered upon departure. The cuisine is both local and inventive, with a good selection of wines and beers. The heated pool is just what is needed after a day out. The wooden-clad rooms are comfortable and well-insulated. We enjoyed our stay with friends thoroughly.

Room tip: 217, corner room with windows on two sides
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is designed to look like an alpine chalet, and it doesn't hold back. Every wall, ceiling, even the floors seem to be clad in pine. However it is a comfortable stopover. The rooms are a good size, but like other reviewers we suffered from noise from an adjoining room. The walls are paper thin.
Breakfast was disappointing and we skipped it on our second morning. The restaurant serves burgers and similar, but the quality was good.
OK as a base to visit the volcanoes.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RandSStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews