We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising jewel in the middle of nowhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This was a real surprise package. It is essentially a ski hotel although it was late summer when we tried out the restaurant. A very interesting wood construction building, well worth a look around. Oh, and the food was pretty good as well! We did not stay at the hotel (we prefer motels) so my answers below are of little value to someone who is considering staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Cannot comment
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank waterdave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Very nice hotel in High Sierra style, warm rooms with beautiful wood furniture, a very comfortable bed and a complete bathroom that includes a heated wardrobe for drying your clothes in a wet day. The receptionist was extremely friendly too.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay in Ohakune. The whole venue has a wonderful atmosphere, made from natural timber. All the staff are very friendly and professional. We received absolutely outstanding service, which exceeded our expectations. The reception and management staff allowed us to change some of our arrangements so we could have more rooms for our guests. They didnt have to do this and it was hugely appreciated as it meant we could all enjoy the fantastic ambiance of the Hotel. The rooms are modern, clean and luxurious. We ate at the Powederkeg, which served excellent meals at a reasonable price. Great to have all faciliaties available within the Hotel including a nice hotpool. This is a great place for a romantic, luxury - 'get away from it all' stay, You will definitely feel treated. Highly recommended and we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlBakerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Our stay was booked for one night by separate sightseeing tour operator. A lovely choice. All wood architecture. Staff courteous. Room clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast both good. Just not enough outlets.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

More a vast alpine chalet than a chateau, the Powederhorn, and its restaurant, the Powderkeg, offer quality, comfort and good service in a semi-rural setting. There is a beautiful bush walk within a few minutes walk as well as a charming walkway to Ohakune, two kilometers away, along a pleasant fast-running stream. There are glimpses of Mount Ruapehu above the trees and the hotel is within easy reach of the region's main attractions. We were delighted when the owner, Annie, met us at the nearby station, and drove us to the hotel, ensuring a smooth transfer with all our luggage. A similar service was offered upon departure. The cuisine is both local and inventive, with a good selection of wines and beers. The heated pool is just what is needed after a day out. The wooden-clad rooms are comfortable and well-insulated. We enjoyed our stay with friends thoroughly.

Room Tip: 217, corner room with windows on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ML-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best in hospitality for our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
25.0 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,648 reviews
25.2 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
446 reviews
2.3 km away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
25.6 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
525 reviews
1.0 km away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: ₹ 10,551 - ₹ 22,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing