We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french couple living room small private garden pool area is perfect cozy villa kuta legian seminyak cooking facilities american breakfast king bed water dispenser clean pool rice paddies philippe cockroaches massage bali nets
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

I booked this for my family (husband, daughters 2 and 4 years old). We've been to Bali a lot and I thought this would be a nice change to go to Canggu, which it was! The villas are lovely as are the staff, the resort is small and quaint and just gives off a nice vibe.
Nice fresh breakfasts, local restaurant over the road which we ate at about 4 times and it was fresh and adequate.
We were also able to get takeout delivered from a good pizza restaurant that the resort recommended.
Our villa was about 3 back from the road so the morning noise around 5am (roosters, dogs, motorbikes) was quite noisy for me as I'm a light sleeper.
Other negative, it was the end of the busy season so it was quiet regarding the number of guests and we did find it frustrating that we would ask the staff for fresh towels or toilet paper and when we returned later they hadn't carried out our requests.
We did miss shopping in Seminyak so we took a taxi several times and the roads are so busy so be prepared if you do the same.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Angeo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We stayed in the superior two bedroom villa which is about 100mtrs from the main resort. The rooms are spectacular and very comfortable. The open bathroom is very clean and well designed. The common sitting area is beautiful and massive with sitting areas and dining area. The open kitchen section has a water dispenser, refrigerator and a microwave (no cooking facilities).
The breakfast included is continental. One has to pay 20000 idr to upgrade to an american breakfast.
A special mention about the therapist called by the resort for the facial and massage – she was absolutely wonderful. The resort does charge a premium for the spa services compared to other spas; but it was well worth it.

The only two reasons for not giving it a 5 star rating (and i hope the owners rectify this at the earliest as they have a beautiful property)
The balinese warmth and service is missing. You are expected to lug your own luggage in and out of the resort incl senior citizens. And ‘whatever is there is there attitude and i cant do no more/anything about it’ needs to be improved drastically esp in bali.
While we were okay with the frogs, lizards, mosquitos and other insects in and around the room( as you cant avoid that in bali) but the 4-5 large cockroaches that we encountered just raises questions about the hygiene.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alpanadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeUCB, Directeur général at United Colors of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Firstly we would like to thank you for have been staying with us in our resort on United Colors of Bali
Thank you for the compliments.
Regarding your remarks, normally our team is continually in customer service. It turns out that during your stay we were understaffed due to the lack of some elements of the team. We are really sorry.
As far as cockroaches are concerned, it is not a question of cleanliness because our note about the general cleanliness can testify to it. It turns out that this rainy season has been particularly busy and when we connect rain, sun, rain, sun and the villas are open it facilitates the presence of some cockroaches.
Unfortunately, we can not enjoy all the advantages of open villas without having some small inconveniences, which is also the charm of Bali!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The United Colors of Bali is away from the main tourist areas of Kuta / Legian / Seminyak that we wanted to avoid. Phillipe and Clementine's beautiful boutique hotel is nestled amongst disused rice paddies in the village of Canggu.

The private villas have a small private garden, an open kitchen / living room and two comfortable bedrooms upstairs with a king bed made with white sheets and mosquito nets. There is air conditioning in the rooms. We loved the simple yet elegant and comfortable villa.

The pool area is perfect, great pool and nice and cool sunbeds and a small bar area. The continental breakfast is served on the top floor of the main building overlooking the pool.

Phillipe is a fantastic host and helped us with tips for restaurants and things to do or places to visit.

If I come back to Bali one more time, I will definitely stay at the United Colors of Bali

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjo_oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Really late to review this villa but we had a fantastic time here. The staff were very helpful. The owners couldnt so enough. The location was nice and rural yet still close to restaurants etc. Spent alot of nights in the villa and used the go-jek app and had food delivered by men on mopeds. The room was clean. Had a pool to ourselves as mo one else was in tge villa. The massages were great and such good value for money. The whole stay was incredible value fkr money

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank roberrschutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night as a stop between Gili Air and flying home. It's a beautiful place, nice pool and the villas themselves are spacious, clean and cosy. The place appears family run and the owners and (?) adult daughters were very friendly and helpful. There seems to be a small army of cleaners/groundsmen around and they are all friendly and keep the place spotless. We had to be up at 3am so unfortunately couldn't sample any breakfast so can't comment on that. The massage beds they have on site are a bonus and the massage my wife and I had was very good.

The only reason this is 4 star and not 5 is because we didn't stay long enough to really know. I don't feel it would be fair for me to rate it as 5 when I can't comment on food or any thing else in depth. I would definitely come back again though.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WillCoomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews