We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayan's Guest House
Ranked #11 of 109 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
jakarta
1 review
“great place to stay in Bali”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

very recommended place to stay.. love to stay there again.. great hospitality, felt like at home...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank diyabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
88
37
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Through the recommendations of a friend living in Bali we booked into Wayan's Guest House
sight unseen in December of 2010 as our introduction to Bali and were among some of the first visitors to stay there. We were a family of five and basically took over the whole place. The rooms were clean, quiet, comfortable and well maintained. Wayan and his family made us feel right at home and we felt safe and well taken care of right from the start, even loaning my son a surfboard for the length of our stay in Bali. Wayan went out of his way to make sure everyone was comfortable and well informed as to where to go and what to see while in Bali.
Wayan is a great travel guide, (very knowledgeable of all aspect of life on Bali, speaks great English, has a kind and gentle heart and a great sense of humor), and he took us to places around the island that we may never have gotten to see on our own.
I would highly recommend Wayan's Guest House to anyone wanting to visit Bali on a more personal level away from the hustle bustle of the major resort area yet close enough to visit for shopping or night life activities.
Wayan's Guest House was a great place when we visited it two years ago and through Wayan's efforts to always improve and strive for excellence I understand it is now considered one of the best guest houses in the area having rightfully earned the TripAdvisor prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award.

Room Tip: Our family used all the rooms and each was of excellent quality. This was in December 2010 not Dec 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Wayan's in early May 2012. We couldn't have been happier! One of the best beach breaks in Canggu is just a 50 meter walk from our door. Our room was exactly as described -- comfortable bed, great A/C, no bugs, plenty of DVDs, great location to restaurants. I rented a surfboard for $10 a day from a shop just up the street from the Guest House. Wayan had scooters for rent, (a must do if staying in Canggu) and plenty of great advice on where to eat, what to see and how to get there. The bathroom was amazing! Excellent WiFi too! If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean and friendly place to stay in Canggu, then look no further -- Wayan's Guest House is great value!

Chris Brady
Park City, UT.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here in January 2012 as a solo traveller. Late review, but still remember how lovely it was!

Wayan’s Guest House is really lovely and Wayan is a delightful host. This property provides a great escape from the hustle and bustle of down town Seminyak during the busy season. It’s close enough to get to the action, but far enough away to get out of the tourist scene, in peak season – traffic to get you to downtown Seminyak is a real pain and it will take a while to get you to your destination.

Rooms are quiet and restful, clean and spacious. The bathroom is outdoor and connected to the main room. Walls are a bit on the thin side though, in terms of noise from other guests. The air conditioner is excellent and the bed is very comfortable. The shower is great and you have a fridge in your room and reliable satellite TV service.

Wayan will look after you are a solo traveller. He helped me with laundry, lifts, loaning me his spare lap-top, booking taxis and general advice. He is a charming host.

I think if you are travelling as a solo, then this place may be better suited to couples or long-stays if you don’t have accessible transport, unless you are mobile- as in with scooter, which Wayan rents from the property.

If you like listening to frogs at night and birds singing and sitting on the veranda reading or logging online before or after a night out, while feeling part of a family, you will love it here.

While I was there, I also saw the twin room, this is a really gorgeous room, excellent value and beautifully appointed. Decor is stylish and tasteful. Beds and bathroom, fabulous, definitely a winner room. If I was travelling with a friend, I’d be really happy with this room, it’s elegant, clean and affordable.

The guest house is within walking distance to the beach, and accessible to Echo Beach, although be aware that the tide comes in and may interfere with your capacity to walk directly to the strip of Echo beach cafes and bars. This is quite confronting actually, as you need to hike up your clothes to get across the surf break when the tide is in. All good, I did just that. But for the less adventurous – not a great option. Otherwise take a scooter and arrive in less than 10 minutes.

If you do walk, be prepared, the beach is not so safe for swimming, but will provide some sun bathing privacy and is a really nice walk, albeit a 30-40 minute trek to get to Echo Beach. Don’t listen to local advice, that’s it’s a short walk – it isn’t!
It’s worth doing though, so you can sink some beers, have lunch and just chill at one of the great cafes or bars overlooking the surf. Great reward!

I had lunch and beers overlooking the ocean at Echo Beach House (Jl Pura Batu Mejan | Echo Beach, Canggu,) this is a nice spot, and easy place to have a few drinks and enjoy the view – night s are great, with sunset views. Write, read, eat – all good, with views to boot! Take cash though, or cards as there is no ATM anywhere near here!

You will really benefit from hiring a scooter while staying at Wayan’s as this will provide more accessibility than other options. Without a scooter you will rely on a taxi service and your legs.

The property is close to the lovely Canguu cafe (cheap, easy eats), and walking distance from the guest house, but I advise loaning a torch from Wayan if you are walking back to the guesthouse late at night. The street dogs you may encounter on the way back are a bit disconcerting. Lighting is very poor. It’s a bit scary actually.

There is a little shop at the end of the driveway - across the road from the guest house that sells beers and cigarettes at local prices and stays open fairly late.

Wayan is really lovely and he will do what he can to make your stay a great one!

Room Tip: Head to Echo Beach cafe/bar strip for some great surf, views, beers and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbella_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I'm 21 years old and I was travelling to Bali by myself for the first time to try and establish a business. Wayan’s guesthouse is clean, comfortable, homely and in an amazing location. But what I noticed most was how quickly I felt part of the family. Unlike any hotel I could ask Wayan any questions day or night and he was the greatest help! He also has a beautiful wife and children. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.7 km away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.2 km away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
1.6 km away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.2 km away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#10 of 35 in Canggu
160 reviews
0.3 km away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#12 of 35 in Canggu
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayan's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayan's Guest House

Property: Wayan's Guest House
Address: Jl. Pantai Berawa, Gang Family no. 04 | Banjar Berawa, Tibubeneng, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,073 - ₹ 2,656
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and natural Balinese house compound, nice garden, and just less than 5 minutes to the beach, but away from the shops, and those touristic stuff. Ideal for those who would like to experience the stay with Balinese Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wayan's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayan`s Guest House Hotel Canggu
Wayan's Guest House Canggu, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing