We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't want to leave the Chillhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
Ranked #2 of 113 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You won't want to leave the Chillhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I booked The Chillhouse for 5 nights with the surf star package. My trip was short but I had an amazing time surfing and meeting new people.

The staff were incredibly helpful and made me feel like it was my second home. It was lovely that all the staff knew you by your name and at dinner time shared laughs, stories and encourages you in your surfing.

The surf guides were all very encouraging and I felt extremely safe out in the water with them. Thank you to the two guides who took me out - Agus and Yus - you made me feel more confident on a surfboard.

This is like no other place I have stayed at. I loved my time there so much that I have extended my Holiday in August to come back to the Chillhouse!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Hi Alicia!
Thanks for your lines, I am so happy that we could make your stay more than superdupergreat and i wish you that time goes by quick until August and you'll hop on the plane back to Bali and The Chillhouse! I'll make sure Yus or Agus will be with you in the water again and make you ride the waves you are dreaming of!
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    53
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
80
136
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at the Chillhouse with two girlfriends for a week. We did the surf star package, which included five lessons in the surf. It was absolutely life changing. Learning to surf is so much fun! The first few days can be painful, as are the early mornings, but you feel so energised, motivated and fit by the end of the week - when I got home I went out looking for a longboard so I can keep surfing here! The surf coaches are fantastic, and the videocoaching and photos were great incentives to really give it a go.

The Chillhouse itself is tropical and colourful, but not like a sterile resort. We loved making friends at the communal dinners, helping ourselves to buffet breakfasts and the delicious seafood BBQ on Friday. Nunung, the waiter, is a gem! The massages were lovely, as was the pool to unwind any knots. Absolutely loved it, and the staff stay in touch after you leave. It's as if they left an imprint in our lives, but they also really appreciate their guests.

Room Tip: The Treehouse is stunning, spread across three levels with the best view across the Chillhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi Shannon!
Thanks so much for your review, I am so happy that we could not only make your vacation here n Bali with us at The Chillhouse memorable, but that we left an imprint in your cells, resulting in this email, your first own surfboard, and a changed life! You rock Shannon, we love you!
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My stay at The Chillhouse is one of the best holidays I've ever had. The staff, the range of services, the quality of the surf guiding, the massages, the transport, the accommodation, the food, all were amazing. It felt like home from home in beautiful Bali. Thank you to all at The Chillhouse. I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room in the surfer's house which was nice - all the rooms have their own be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thanks so much for this great review, i guess being called home away from home is as good as a review gets!
All the Bali love to Cape Town,
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was my first stay at a surf "camp" and it had the awesome atmosphere of a really friendly hostel mixed with the accommodation and dining quality of a very nice resort. The dining area has two big tables and multiple smaller ones so you can eat together or privately. All the meals where a really great communal experience for everyone to meet each other.

You can tell everyone working at The Chillhouse truly enjoys what they're doing as well. It shows in their super friendly and helpful attitudes. Not only that but The Chillhouse's enviromentally sustainable and organic practices seem to attract super friendly and cool guests as well. I guess it's also that all the guests are there to surf or learn to surf and that too instantly gives everyone something in common, it's a great ground breaker.

I'll get to the hospital stay now. I came down with what's known as Bali Belly one night which is just a bacteria infection that hits hard and fast coming out both ends. After a few hours by the toilet at 2:30 in the morning my brother and I decided it was time to check in at the front desk (where there is always someone there). From there our friend at the desk called Petra and Madi (Petra is a registered nurse on staff and Madi is head surf guide) who told us to go right to the hospital. Our friend at the desk called a cab told the cabi where to go and we arrived at the international hospital soon after. I got a few bags of saline and a few intravenous meds and 12 hours later I was good to go and returned back to The Chillhouse with three days of antibiotics.

The really warming part is that on my return the staff started clapping and there was a bunch of calls of " Hey there they are!". Because unlike any other place I've stayed at when we left in the middle of the night and where not there at breakfast in the morning everyone started asking where we were and getting concerned! It was so cool to feel that comforted by everyone around me so far from home. Not only that but the hospital was excellent as well!

So to sum it all up even knowing I would get really sick and spend a night in the hospital and a day or two recovering given the choice I would retake the trip Bali Belly and all in a second!

Also as a surfer there is a great selection of boards, really awesome guides who are as stoked as you are to be out in the waves everyday, and are really great at finding the best locations for the swell and your ability. My brother had been once before to The Chillhouse a year before and our shuttle driver who picked us up at the airport remembered him or was reminded and called his old guide on his cellphone even though he wasn't working at The Chillhouse anymore just so they could chat!

Talking with my brother we thought it would be best if we could also give some constructive criticism in this review because we know Alex and Sabina (the owners) read all the reviews and actively work to improve The Chillhouse based on the comments....but we really can't think of anything!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montypbbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hi Alex, thanks for the great review, so sorry for your Bali Belly, i told you not to drink the water from the tab, hahaha! Zack showed me your surf memory of last week, no blood no glory! all the best vibes to the States, ride on, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We've been to a few other surf "camps" and the ChillHouse really is a step up above the rest. They have great coaching and are really committed to getting you into the best waves for your ability in Bali. The staff and owners did everything thing they could to make us feel at home. The accommodations and common areas are very well maintained and very comfortable and you really can just "chill" there when you're not in the water. The meals they served were a fantastic blend of local flavours and european favourites. We had chosen Bali and the ChillHouse for our honeymoon and it certainly was the right place for us. If you are looking to try Bali and what to enjoy the culture through surfing the Chillhouse is a great place.

Room Tip: Jerry Lopez loft is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Hi Cata and Rovi!
Thanks for your review and thanks for spending a part of your all around the world honeymoon with us! The Buddha is hanging and shines its light!
Ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.1 km away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
2.1 km away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
2.1 km away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.3 km away
Aradhana Villas
Aradhana Villas
#4 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats

Property: The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
Address: Jl. Kubu Manyar 22, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,645 - ₹ 12,871
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chillhouse is a surf and bike retreat situated in Canggu amongst the rice fields on the southern shores of Bali. Our Bali Surf Retreats offer guest's quality accommodation and delicious organic meals, along with surf guiding, massage treatments and yoga sessions. It is a place where you can indulge in an unforgettable surfing holiday, filled with endless waves and maximum comfort.The emphasis of course, is on surfing but our retreats aren't just about chasing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chillhouse Hotel Canggu
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf And Bike Retreats Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing