We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real gem”
Review of Molly's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Molly's Retreat
Ranked #13 of 92 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We stayed at Mollys for 2 weeks in August. The hotel was very clean and well cared for and the children loved the pool. The design and layout of the hotel was excellent. It felt like being in a little oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the street outside. We had the place to ourselves most of the time as it was off-season. The house keeping was excellent but the service was quite slow at times .

We stayed in a pretty little cottage at the back of the hotel. Even though it was monsoon the weather was fantastic for the whole of our stay, although you couldn't go on the beach.

We found a great restaurant right next door to Molly's called Il Marinao. We went their every day for great REAL coffee, We can also highly recommend the club sandwich and the kids said the chips were as good as Grandma's!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranjan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2008

Just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at Mollys Retreat, Kovalam. The hotel is a small independant boutique hotel with only 8 rooms in teh Sumudra part of Kovalam.
The rooms all face the pool, and are well equipped with air con, ceiling fan, balcony, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff really friendly.
The beach is about 5 mins walk away or a tuk tuk is 50 rupees to Hawa or Lighthouse Beach.
The hotel has its own restaurant which we ate in several times and the food is excellent - perhaps a little more expensive than eating outside but none the less good value

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Barney019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Just returned from a great holiday at Mollys Retreat Hotel. It is just a short walk ( 5 mins) from the beach and a small selection a beach side restaurants or just a short drive (5 mins) to light house beach and more restaurants/shops. This is a small hotel with just 10 rooms,each identical, equipped to a high standard and spotlessly clean. The pool is fantastic with towels provided for poolside sunbathing. The food is delicious with a wide choice of menu. The staff are all very friendly (including Heather an english co owner), and are happy to exchange money on site or arrange trips.
You can get clothes made next door (bring something to copy) or go for a massage.
For a relaxing, chilled out holiday in high standard accommodation and good location I can recommend Molly's.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Solitair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

A surprise to find such a home from home in India! This small spotless villa style property is a delight with our room and balcony being as good as a 5 star hotel. Pool great and service the best in many of my years of traveling. The hotel restaurant is fantastic with food that impresses even the most fussy! Not just curries but loads of authentic tastes from around the world. The owners Heather and Drum are great hosts and nothing is too much for them. I recommend this hotel to any new comer to India and also relax and explore Kerala - what a find! Exclusive to single travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Bruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evgo_khv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
1.4 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,017 reviews
1.0 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
5.8 km away
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra
0.3 km away
Ganesh Holiday Home
Ganesh Holiday Home
#1 of 57 in Kovalam
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly's Retreat

Address: Samudra Beach G V Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range: ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 4,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Molly`s Retreat Hotel Kovalam
Molly's Retreat Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing