We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, quiet but not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kadaloram Beach Resort

Kadaloram Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kadaloram Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Basic, quiet but not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

Having been to Goa several times, everyone kept telling us we would love Kerala. Would have to say love is not how I would describe how I feel about this place. It was okay but give me Goa any day. The Kadaloram Beach was not 3* - maybe a 2+ but the rooms are very small, the breakfasts very samey, the food bland and lacked atmosphere in the restaurant which made it very uninviting. we only ordered once from there and ate in our room. Food in general was disappointing in the resort and beach was a big let down. However, the pool was ok and nice and quiet and the staff were okay too but the manager organised a trip for us to the Backwater and Kochi, which was disasterous and so try not to book with him or insist on staying at hotels that you like to look of.

On the whole, our stay was very disappointing and I will not be going back.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleALuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

A good place to be based from to explore Kerala. My wife teaches Yoga in the UK and the hotel manager arranged a master class for her with a local teacher. He also arraged a 3 day backwaters trip on a houseboat and booked us a Taxi to "show us the real india" rather than what the tour company thought we should see.

there are lots of local restaurants to visit and i suggest you try coconut grove on lighthouse beach (10 mins by tuk tuk).

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — its basic... but what do you expect for the money?
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dartmoordan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2008

This hotel is more of a budget option than the other hotels in the area. It is walking distance from the beach and local shops and restaurants. The hotel has a decent pool with sun loungers and hammocks surrounding it.

Our room was small but modern, comfortable and clean and we had a balcony with a great view of the sea.

The hotel has an Ayurvedic centre and restaurant on site. We booked treatments at the Ayurvedic centre but these were cancelled 5 minutes before they were due to start owing to the female masseuse being ill, they had little flexibility in offering other appointments so we went to a nearby hotel instead. The breakfast was of varying standard but adequate. We ate in the restaurant on the first night but found it to be a very disappointing experience, of the 6 dishes we chose from the menu only two were available, furthermore the starters arrived ten minutes apart and the first main course arrived 15 minutes before the rest.

This is a good hotel if you are looking for something budget in the Kovalum area but you should be prepared to fend for yourself when it comes to arranging activities or traveling to nearby beaches and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikdur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Rutland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

We spent a wonderful 2 weeks at The Marari Beach Resort in Alleppey - sheer heaven. However, due to the 4 hour plus transfer from the airport and the scheduled 0400 pickup, decided to spend our last night at the Kadaloram, Kovalam as recommend by our rep. It was absolutely appalling. Our room was very smelly, the fridge had mouldy food stuck to the bottom, all the light switches were so greasy and dirty they smeared when you touched them, the ceiling fan was similarly greasy and caked in dirt, the basin was hanging off the wall and was filthy inside and out, the toilet and seat were dirty, someone had at some point had a go at cleaning the tiles in the shower area, but couldn't reach the top and had left great dirty smears, but the crowning glory was our bed, which was 2 single beds pushed together. When I pulled my sheets back (it was now past midnight), my bed had obviously been slept in, the sheets and pillowcase were soiled. In view of the time I put a beach towel I had with me on the bed and tried not to think of the previous occupant. Obviously sleep eluded me. After a while I realised my back was wet. To cut a very long story short, I was lying on a urine soaked mattress! (We subsequently found the room had been vacated that morning by a girl in her 20s and a man in his 40s. YUK.) Whole complex was very shabby but most of all FILTHY.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Filth
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gross Umstadt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2008

During our 4 week trip to India we booked a stay at Kadalorom Beach Resort on the internet from Kochi. We sent a request for a room and got an reply almost immediately.
The rooms in the resort (5-10 minutes walk to the sea, about 30 rooms, in walking distance to all beaches in Kovalam) are very clean, spacy and we just had to pull back the curtain on the window while lying on the bed and had a beautiful seaview. KBR has a very nice garden full of coconut palms with hammocks. The pool is not very big but nice. KBR offers Ayurveda massages. We had 4 and were very satisfied with them.
KBR has a restaurant serving traditional food from Kerala and the rest of India. We tried different dishes every day and everything was absolutely delicious!
Besides the very neat property and rooms and the great indian food we would like to exceptionally mention that Mr. Santosh, the manager, and the staff (Philip Joseph in particular) are very helpful, friendly and polite in a really outstanding way. They all made our stay a pleasant experience and we felt very sorry we had to leave after 6 nights because we didn’t make our reservation earlier. While staying at the Taj Green Cove resort for our last two nights in Kovalam we went back to KBR for dinner.

  • Liked — allem
  • Disliked — nichts
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.0 km away
Shirleys Beach
Shirleys Beach
#42 of 51 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 km away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 km away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#38 of 51 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#21 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#27 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#36 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadaloram Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadaloram Beach Resort

Property: Kadaloram Beach Resort
Address: G V Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kovalam
Hotel Class:3 star — Kadaloram Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Kadaloram Beach Hotel Kovalam
Kadaloram Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing