We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely undiscovered gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Kovalam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely undiscovered gem”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We were fortunate to stay at Vedic during the off-season and were able to choose which room we could stay in. We chose one of the upstairs rooms with a very private balcony. The room was very large and had a very good mosquito net surrounding the bed.

We were very lucky to also see their unpaying guest (an Owl) who lives on the second floor.

The balcony helped to settle us into the lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinoringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
29
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Nice hotel with many positive things:
- Drinkable tap water: This is definitely important as the waste from plastic bottles is really a problem at Kovalam
- Big clean rooms
- Mosquito net around the bed
- Balcony / terrace
- Laundry service available (you might need to remind them that you want your laundry back in time :))

Improvements
- Electricity is provided by generator, which doesn't run all day / night long. So there might be times that you have to manage without electricity. This was a minor annoyance during daytime but it would have been nice to have the fan operating during night time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoYogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Vedic Heritage has to be one of the best guest houses in Kovalam. Not only it is spotlessly clean, but the rooms have an airy and fresh atmosphere with lots of white in them (the owner, Charles has lived in Norway for 20 years and the place has a Nordic touch!), with brand new mosquito nets, nice cotton sheets and towels. The verandahs are spacious and well designed, and make a great place for lounging with a book. Aravind, the hotel manager, is your perfect host (and cook!), always smiling and caring for your needs. he has to be one of the kindest hotel manager I've ever met. I felt totally at home there and will go back for sure. The place is still running on a generator - which means that during the day the power might be off for a few hours - but Aravind hopes to solve this problem in a couple of months. it didn't bother me at all, but i', just pointing it out for anyone who might care.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ondina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

It was so nice to stay in Vedic. Even so nice, that we indited our yoga friends to join us, when having marvelous dinners, prepeared by Aravind. They were tasty with plenty of different curries and gravies.
And we liked the discussions with Aravind and other hotel quests. We became like members of a family. No wonder, that many of us made the booking for next X-mas time already.
See you again, our friends!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talisker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The hotel has a very warm atmosphere. The rooms are large, bright and airy, unlike many other hotels in Kovalam. The staff is very dedicated, and on command they will prepare outrageously good food, I would say the best in Kovalam as it is really fresh and prepared with love. The large foyer enables to meet the other guests, to just chill out or to use the free wifi if you bring your own laptop. A positive surprise was that there were hardly any mosquitos, whereas that is a problem in most other Kovalam venues. The location is also great- very close to the Ashtanga Yoga Shala and close to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.5 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
943 reviews
0.8 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#28 of 52 in Kovalam
94 reviews
5.9 km away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel

Property: Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel
Address: Kovalam Lighthouse Beach | Lighthouse Rd, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,412 - ₹ 3,465
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel is a speciality beach hotel in Kovalam with a difference. We are situated in the quite lush green coconut grove just behind the main busy beach front. You can see the sea from the balcony of your room through the palm tops and from the common space rooftop. You can even say we are more or less a home stay than a hotel and best suited for international tourists. You will easily find us with a simple search. Book directly from our website. Welcome to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing