We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel, looks fantastic, great rooms but noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle On The Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle On The Beach
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, looks fantastic, great rooms but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The rooms were excellent - well designed, comfortable beds, good tv etc. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive. I was disappointed by the number of children - it looks like a hotel straight from Miami beach rather than a family resort but the pool was noisy (there wasn't one point when we were there that kids weren't playing in it). The walk down to the beach is also a little random - through the back of another hotel then down a path surrounded by garbage. Food and drinks in the hotel were also double the price of local restaurants. It is nice, but considering it is more expensive than mid-range places with pools in the area it may be worth shopping around.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach. Located in picturesque Kovalam, we try and offer the best in hospitality to leisure travelers & we sincerely appreciate your comments about our amenities and dining avenues. We provide our guests with par excellence facilities and services, perhaps this information would assist you in acknowledging our pricing from a service to price perspective.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Kerala.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    332
    105
    40
    31
See reviews for
323
372
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is located very close to the Kovalam beach but as mentioned in other reviews the shortcut way provided by the hotel from the hotel to the beach needs a lot of improvement.The rooms are pretty good and the staff was nice too, they also changed our room on request from the ones in the new block where there is no lift and gave us a suite as we were having problem going up and down the stairs with our small baby. The food was ok not that great not much variety. The main drawback i found was that there was no free access to wi-fi u have to pay for it.

Room Tip: go for room with arabian sea view in the old block as in the new block there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dp_chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. As we strive to offer matchless hospitality, a review like yours motivates the spirit of the team. Your feedback about the food menu will be treated with utmost seriousness.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Kerala.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice place but exceptionally bad beach access the hotel claims go be five star but I would rate it as 4.5 star at best nice small pool, smal gym ....but the luxury of a five star is missing. The staff was extremely helpful. The rooms have a great view and are quite efficiently done ours was a duplex which was huge by any standards. But again the toilet was just like a 4star hotel toilet. Even the linen in the rooms was average. The hotel lobby is small and has no granduer I guess that also puts off any feeling of luxury.
The beach access is exceptionally bad they are using some one else's land to access kovalam beach ..the access is dangerous at night...come back via road if you stay late at kovalam.

Food is wanting that I felt throughout Kerala may it's cooked to suit western pallette.
Leela's resort which is just next door is grand and also has a private beach...seems like a better option.

Room Tip: If traveling with family take the duplex room it's got great views and and is a real value for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arj_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle On The Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach. It is a pleasure to receive such a candid feedback as guest comments constantly help us in identifying areas of progress. We also take this opportunity to thank you for your appreciation about the view from the room. We regret the inconvenience caused due to the route to Kovalam beach, we are striving to resolve the concern in the near future.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Kerala.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel has a great view, huge rooms, lovely balconies and courteous staff and close to the lighthouse beach which has plenty of great food options. Also all the great things others reviewers have mentioned are all true!

The only drawback is that it does not have a private beach. The public beach (to which the hotel has a shortcut) was awfully crowded, and not suitable to walk around in a bathing suit. We instead ended up lounging at the poolside with a view of the beach!

So if the idea of your vacation is to relax on the beach,it may not be possible here. I hear some other resorts in the area do have a private beach though.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diya_Kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

had a wonderful stay at the hotel.... lovely view from the balcony. The beach, market place, eateries...everything is easily accessible.
The rooms are spacious and hygienic.
If u plan to put up at Kovalam ...then "Turtle" is the choice.

Highly recommended !!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank roli_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.4 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.0 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.0 km away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle On The Beach

Property: Turtle On The Beach
Address: Itdc Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,772 - ₹ 18,146
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle On The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Turtle On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing