We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed in the Soma Palmshore Hotel from 23rd May to 24th May, 2012. We were very happy with their reception, hospitality and treatment given to us. 24th May happens to be a Kerala Bandh due to Petrol high price. We could get neither Taxi nor Auto to get dropped at Trivandrum Railway station. The Receptionist Ms.Chitra took initiative and lot pains to arrange Hotel Car to drop us at Trivandrum Railway Station. Though we go for vacation every year 2 times for the past 15 years, I never saw such a good and nice treatment from the Hotel Staff. We are extremely happy with their treatment and hospitality. We thank the Management of the Hotel and special thanks to Ms.Chitra.

Room Tip: If any body happens to visit Trivandrum, we recommend Soma Palmshore Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSUDHAKAR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    205
    70
    20
    42
See reviews for
175
171
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We traveled as a family with 2 small kids in May to this resort. We had a little difficulty finding the resort because its not on the obvious road which leads to the main beach. It is actually on another beach known as the Light House beach. I have been to the main beach earlier and trust me this one certainly has a private feel to it. In fact you descend a few steps from the resort and you are right on the beach. No ogling crowd (on main beach that problem is crazy with young Malus ogling their eyes out). Beach is very neat except near the steps where it gets a little grassy and puddley. We got ourselves a nice cottage which had an excellent view of the beach and a little bit of ocean and also was right on top of the swimming pool. Also tied outside the cottage was a good hammock which my wife really liked and spent some time alone meditating.

Cottage is not luxurious but is good by any standards. It is comfortable and clean. Nice big cupboards and room not cluttered with unnecessary furniture which gave a sense of space. The bathrooms can certainly do better. Not that they are not clean but do require a change or upgrade of equipment. A flat screen TV with all kinds of channels was good for my family. A nice coffee table set outside the cottage facing the sea is a nice place to drink you beer. You can ask the room service to place a candle in the evening on the table and can certainly have a candle lit dinner from this perch overlooking the ocean.

The only let down was the food. The food was average. Evening buffet of veg and non veg was reasonably priced but an 'a la carte' order from us of Masala Prawns was a big let down. Not that it was not tasty. I think it was one of the most tasty prawn dish I have ever had but the quantity was OH SO LESS. It was big plate with 8 peanut sized prawns on it. That was a major let down for the price they charged. But the Breakfast buffet was a big mess with almost all counters running out of items and indeed the cutlery too. The juice glasses were just not available and also the spoons. If we asked, one would be brought to our table. To avoid this I guess would be to have the earliest breakfast as possible. The restaurant itself was pleasantly laid out and had a good fell about itself.

One of the things which had always bothered me on the beach was the washing up afterwards once you are through with playing on the beach. The sand in your hair and in you trunks and especially in kids eyes and ears was always a concern. But unfortunately in India be it Goa or Kerala there are no decent on the beach clean up showers or bathroom. In Goa my daughter got sand in her eyes and we rushed to one of the shacks which had washing facilities. But inspite of my daughter crying her eyes out they obstructed me because I did not buy beer from them. It was a big fight before I could use their facility. Here at Soma Palmshore none of that nonsense. They have a clean up facility near the pool and that was such a big relief for me.

There is no doubt we had a blast there and will definitely return again. It was good time spent with nice courteous staff and peaceful beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are pushed back but still face the ocean. Try to get the front cottage closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepak R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great location with clean private beach. Nice beach view from room. Food is good. Friendly staff. Did an Ayurvedic massage at the spa, do not recommend - the masseuse didn't use adequate pressure, rubbed heated oil during crazy April heat wave. Staff was slightly aggressive about pushing spa treatments - the "doctor" came to see us as were checking in. Old dingy bathroom, shower sprays all over bathroom floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ks521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was a nice hotel with a private beach and a beach view from the hotel. Bathroom was the only drawback, it was not modern and quite dirty. Water went everywhere when taking a shower. Spa wasn't particularly enjoyable in fact the massage was below average. Beach was clean and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhusu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in Soma Palmshore for two nights in May 2012. The resort is a multi-level property with 2 large cottages and many resort rooms all facing the sea, which was nice. We took a cottage since there were 3 of us and were given the cottage closer to the resort (there's one closer to the beach which looked really nice). Maybe because we were there during off season, but the resort did not really look like it was in superb condition but was definitely passable.

The breakdown:

Location: The resort is right on the beach but is not the easiest to find. Thankfully, there are enough signs throughout the way helping guide to the resort. There's not much around frankly and so, if you are looking for a sea of change (pun intended) you will have to get some sort of transport to go to nearby Kovalam.

Rooms: When we went into the cottage, the rooms felt clean and tidy. There wasn't much that seemed out of place. The A/C is a little weak and doesn't really cool the entire room. Its close to the bed thankfully so you can have a good night's sleep. My main gripes were as follows:

1) The T.V. in our room did not have a lot of channels that were accessible. When their technician came in, he couldn't do much either. However, by the time we came back into the room on the second day, this was fixed - 1 point extra for that.
2) There were mosquitoes in the room and the only mosquito repellent provided did not have any liquid.
3) Bathrooms seemed very run down and uninviting and the shower did not work. I was particularly not happy with the bathrooms.

Food: The food (we had dinner and the buffet breakfast) were average. The taste was ordinary and there wasn't much to really write about. There is a live omelet counter for breakfast which was ok.

Service: Service was nice and friendly. The staff is cheerful and happy and eager to please. This was the biggest plus point of the resort. I firmly believe that a good and happy staff makes up for a lot of short comings and this was definitely true here.

Overall, an average stay during the off season of the resort. I wouldn't not recommend but do some more research before booking. The one plus point is definitely the staff.

Room Tip: If you are booking the cottage, try and get the one closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raghu n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.7 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
2.4 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
2.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.2 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Property: Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,648 - ₹ 7,945
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing