We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A perfect ending to a wonderful trip to Kerala"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Hope, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“"A perfect ending to a wonderful trip to Kerala"”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were greated warmly by the reception staff and escorted immediately to one of their more private Beach Chalets with a terrace which had a beautiful view of the garden and the ocean. Our room was cheerful and quite roomy with lots of space for luggage. The bathroom also was spacious with a large shower in very good condition. There was always hot water when we needed it. The power would go out often ( which happens in India ) but then their generator would kick in immediately so it was never an inconvenience. The room was cleaned daily with clean towels and change of bed linen by a very friendly cleaning lady.
The beach was not private but only a few people come here other than guests from the two Hotels nearby. There was a friendly woman selling fruit everyday with whom we often had good conversations. The local young men would play ball in the evening so you would not want to sit on the beach at that time which was no problem. Most people watched the sun set and then would leave the beach area anyway.
The huge waves in the sea was great for body surfing so was a lot of fun. The outdoor pool was also very clean and a great way to cool off during the heat of the day. The garden area was very well landscaped and kept clean by the gardener working all the time.
The dining room and terrace have great views of the sea. The complimentary breakfast were very good with a variety of delicious south Indian food as well as eggs cooked to preference. The dining room staff was always very courteous and helpful. We ate a few of our meals at the resort but also tried a few of the many restaurants on the walk downhill to Lighthouse Beach along the promenade and the side back roads.
On the way to the Lighthouse, the tuc tuc drivers wait for passengers. We found a very courteous and friendly young man with whom we negotiated a price for a two hour sightseeing tour. He took us to most of the other out of the way beaches which were pretty amazing.
We enjoyed walking through the fishing villages nearby everyday. Some of the women invited us into their homes for some Indian hospitality serving us a cup of chai. They do not have much but were willing to share with us.
On a further walk to the main village and harbour, we watched the fishing boats come back with their catch each morning. Everyone from the villages all came out to wait for them. The fish market had a variety of fish at reasonable prices and wish we could have bought some.
The harbour was a perfect place for taking pictures.
Also the reception staff was very helpful on our last day with our airline boarding pass on the computer in their office since the one we brought along was not working great.
Each night we would fall asleep with the sounds of crashing waves which was very relaxing.
After our six night stay at this lovely resort we were sorry to leave.
We would certainly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a quiet, peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: A private chalet is probably the most spacious with great views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    203
    69
    20
    42
See reviews for
173
169
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed there for 2 days alOng with our 1 year old daughter.room was clean with a beautiful view of sea.swimming pool was also gud. They don't have any private beach but it gives u feeling of private beach.having brkfast along with seaview was a gud experience.lighthouse beach is at walking distance, so i can say excellent location.overall the hotel was very nice but I found it very expensive comparing to their service.they don't have lift.our room was on 1 st floor n reastaurnt was on lower ground floor n pool one more floor down,so everytime for breakfast, dinner or to pool we will have to go down n come up to 3 floors holding our daughter.no LCD in rooms , old style tvs. Their was just a bench and a very small window size almirah to keep the luggage.bathroom was very small n not upto the mark,same problem old style shower.n after taking bath toilet paper , wc everything becomes wet.they charge 10percent extra to serve food in the room.overall hotel is at gr8 location but not upto the mark

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vibha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had a fantastic two week stay at Soma Palmshore, although I suspect your opinion of this hotel will very much depend on what room you get. We stayed in one of the beach shallets and it was absolutely wonderful however I got the impression the rooms in the main hotel building might be a little tired. But, generally the hotel was great. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful, breakfast very tasty and the hotel itself is in a great location. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again next time we go to the Lighthouse Beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach shallet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My husband and I were at Soma Palm shore resort recently. We stayed there 3 nights and the service of the staff members was excellent. We were very pleased with our stay there and the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The food was very good and the staff was happy to cater to our taste.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony facing the beach. The view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Very friendly and helpful staffs, the sea facing room and balcony was fantastic. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Breakfast, served in the groundfloor sunny dining room was delicious. The beach was very clean and maintained properly, given the feeling of sort of private one. My friend suggested me this resort and we had a nice time over there. We recommend this resort for a comfortable stay in kovalam.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shervanil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.7 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
2.1 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.0 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Property: Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,851 - ₹ 8,165
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Yatra, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing