We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY BAD EXPERIENCE”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kovalam Beach Retreat
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Lucknow City, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VERY BAD EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel for one day. In the night, Dinner was served after waiting for 30 minutes. No one was attentive for services. We ordered some vegetables, which was served as we completed our dinner. So I was very unsatisfied in respect of services as against room charges of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rajsunluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

So called “Round The Clock” menu is a hoax. On requesting snacks from this menu @ 04:00 PM, restaurant flatly refused to provide any. On contacting Reception on this, it was told that there is no Room-Service facility in the Hotel. The telephone nos. list in the room also testified this as no telephone no. was mentioned for the Room-Service. With Room-Service virtually non-existent, we were finally served with some snacks at 05:00 pm and to say the least, neither the content nor the quality of the snacks matched with the extremely high prices charged for the same.

The breakfast & dinner at Restaurant at 3rd floor were of equally poor quality. The utensils were not cleaned properly and the food was unhygienic as tea served was cold with some unknown stuff floating inside the cup. The overall ambience of Restaurant seemed very shabby and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank balwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The hotel is on Samudra beach at the start of the kovalam beaches. the room are spacious enough though one might want to insist on rooms that are pool facing as the rest face an adjacent hotel. the hotel is definitely no frills. the food at the restaurant is good although the variety is terribly short. room service is quick and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JayanNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed here for 2 days. The place is very average with minimum facilities in the room. The ambience is also not worth mentioning. But good thing is the place is near to the beach. It is good as a bed and breakfast option. Staff is rather friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anant_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel during our trip to Kerela, and is one of the better hotels at the Samudra Beach. The hotel had nice little rooms with decent interiors and good AC. The food was nice, although the service was a little slow.

Location wise, it was not very far from the beach. The staff was friendly and courteous. Me and my wife would definately recommened this hotel for family trips.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catchsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#24 of 52 in Kovalam
90 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Sea Face
Hotel Sea Face
#25 of 52 in Kovalam
99 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Thapovan Heritage Home
Thapovan Heritage Home
#17 of 52 in Kovalam
113 reviews
1.8 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
3.2 km away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#35 of 52 in Kovalam
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kovalam Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kovalam Beach Retreat

Property: Kovalam Beach Retreat
Address: Puja Buildings, | G.V Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,777 - ₹ 3,682
Hotel Class:3 star — Kovalam Beach Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kovalam Beach Retreat Just 50 mts from The Samudra Beach, Kovalam. A 3 star facility property with all modern facilities, having 3 restaurants with a Sea Food Specialty restaurant. Ample Parking space & Swimming pool. Restaurant with a good view of the sea.Kovalam means a grove of coconut trees and true to its name the village offers an endless sight of coconut trees. It is also known as the paradise of the south ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kovalam Beach Retreat Hotel Kovalam
Kovalam Beach Retreat Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing