We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for economy travellers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sea View Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sea View Palace
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good for economy travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent 2 nights and 2 days in Sea View Palace, Kovalam. We had taken two rooms. One with a view of the sea and other with the balcony view of the sea. Both the rooms were decent. But the AC of the inferior room was more effective. There is no point of taking a sea view room as the hotel is on the beach and you would rather be on the beach and chill. There is no room service and no phones in the rooms. So you have to go down to the reception everytime you need something. The restaurant which is sea facing is good. The staff is smiling and courteous. One thing which puzzled me and baffled me was that they serve beer to indians in mugs whereas the foreigners get to drink in beer glasses. Strange but we felt bad about it. Location is great. There are many other hotels on Hawa beach near the light house so cant say for sure if it was the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KIRTYANAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    9
    10
    11
See reviews for
28
34
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the Sea View Palace in February 2012. Definitely the worst place we stayed in India on a 3-week trip. When I contacted the hotel they asked for full payment by money transfer only. I sent the full amount requested and had an additional $45 fee for the transfer. When I asked for their cancellation policy they did not respond. At the end of our stay they handed us a bill for several hundred rupees saying that they had not received the full amount from their bank. (Their bank had deducted their own additional charges, and we had to pay for those too!) Getting there was horrible. The taxi dropped us at the beach and it was a 15 minute walk to the hotel, dragging all our luggage as cars cannot get there. The hotel did not tell us where we could have been dropped off a little closer. A porter we found dragged one of our cases and we had the rest. At the hotel the staff refused to carry our suitcases up to our room, and the porter demanded a lot more money to carry them up. I have never seen anything like that in any of my travels all over the world. We had confirmed a sea-facing room. Instead we were given a room at the back of the hotel, with a view of the next building and no breeze at all. We tried two rooms - each seemed to have something that did not work. Beds were hard and basic, made with a blanket that looked dirty and no top sheet. When we asked for second sheets we were given old stained sheets.
Overall this was a terrible hotel where only one member of staff tried to be helpful. Everyone else was rude and just wanted our money. We liked Kovalam - but don't stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Sea View Palace for 10 days and I loved every second. The staff are the most welcoming, helpful and charming of anywhere I have stayed, it really was a home from home. The hotel is right on the beach, with a beautiful consistent sea breeze, and the partially open air restaurant is right at the front of the hotel with lovely views of the sea and the lighthouse at the end of the beach. While we were there our party even saw a blue whale out to sea while eating their lunch! The food at the hotel was really delicious, really light and fresh, and the outdoor tandoori oven was brilliant.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, we had air con rooms which were really lovely with a balcony seating area outside to enjoy the sea view and sea breeze.

This was my first visit to India, I fell in love with the country and the people of Kerala, and I couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarrietKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The room was clean and and really nice as we had a superior room on the second floor. And a nice view too. The beach is just cross the way. The stuff is friendly and the service is what anybody can expect.
We really loved to stay there and for sure we want come back next time.
Greetings to Rambo!

M

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FromCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

It was the the fourth time for us in Kovalam and once again we decided to stay at Sea View Palace and we didn't regret! The hotel is a very comfortable place. The location is perfect. Beautiful sea view from the balcony, surrounded by palm trees. At night, only the sound of the sea to hear - a dream. The service is very nice and accommodating - like a familiy! The food is delicious at Santanas restaurant. No question - we would choose Sea View Palace again and again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.4 km away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#34 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 km away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#27 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.6 km away
Hill & Sea View Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#38 of 51 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea View Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea View Palace

Property: Hotel Sea View Palace
Address: Light house beach,kovalam, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 852 - ₹ 2,358
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sea View Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel sea view palace , a Budget Beach hotel in Kovalam, which was established on 1997 and lastly renovated on 2013. The hotel is located at the Kovalam Light house beach, hotel is situated right in centre of the beach with beach view rooms. The hotel is just 50 metres walk along the pedestrian pathway from the Kovalam light house . Kovalam Hotel sea view palace is just 16 kms away from the Trivandrum International Airport with less than 20 mins to reach the hotel . We are having 14 well furnished good rooms and common sea facing balcony with sofa sets . Hotel also has a traditional restaurant, Santana Restaurant with all types of delicious foods, and could enjoy your dinner in the candlelight with a romantic touch. Restaurent is designed such a way that it gives traditional kerala touch. We are also having skilled staffs and provide room service for 24*7 , which gives a homely atmosphere for our guests. Our aim is to make our customers enjoy their vacation maximum to the core and to prefer our hotel when they come next to kovalam.We guarantee a memorable vacation at Kovalam and you leave with best memories that you had with us in kovalam.OUR FACILITIESA/C Deluxe Rooms,A/C Standard Rooms,Non A/C Standard Fan Rooms.Laundry services,Sea View balcony.24 x 7 Room Service,Beach Front Restaurant,Airport pick-up and drop (On request),100% Ayurvedic treatment centre,Doctor on call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Sea View Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea View Palace Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing