We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great experience!”

Shirleysbeach Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirleysbeach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 84 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Zagreb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Greetings to you all,
for a long time we wanted to write this letter. We are old travelers through India and over the years found places and met poeple we fell in love with. So we always return there. One of those special places is little family Hotel "Shirley's Beach" in Kovalam-Kerala. Situated only a minute from the beach it is surrendered by palm trees that provide great shade from the hot sun. Coming back to our Shirley (Mrs.Mary Koshey), brave women who smiles all the time, is like coming back home to a dear person, a friend always ready help. What a great experience! Besides friendship and hospitality you will discover also that the place is run very professionaly with a great sense for cleanliness and hygiene. Milions of people travel but just keep moving on. However, those who once meet Shirley as they arrive tired from a long journey to the airport in the middle of the night and are greeted by her with a wonderful smile, those will surely come back agin. The sense of saefty cannot even be spoiled by a flat tire in the middle of the night thanks to Sambath Shirley's son who solves all problems. We write this as a sign of appreciation for Shirley and her son.

We wish all the best to you and hope that our paths will cross and we will find some of you there.

Asia and Vesna

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Asia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay at Shirley's Beach Hotel for 8 weeks from January until March. The hotel is a budget hotel but has a huge heart with the proprietor Shirley and her son Sambath looking after us better than a mother, pandering to our every need and want. I can only describe the place as a perfect base and would unhesitatingly recommend it to anyone. They also organise any tour you could wish for with skill and expertise, and have many contacts with ayervedic treatments. Also can refer you to high class Dental care. First Class stay at economy prices. Brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suffolkbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Shirley's Beach hotel is great value. Shirley and son Sambath will go the extra mile --Sambath met our 3:45 am flight into Trivandrum--they are also great with advice, tours, etc.

The hotel is very simple, but for a budget hotel the location is very convenient to the beach. It is great value in that it is safe, clean, quiet and cheap. You can certainly get better hotels in Kovalam, but not for the money and as a bonus you get Shirley.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOTOWNROGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

To be honest I could write pages about my stay with Shirley at her run-down 'hotel' but I think straight to the point sentences would do the job just fine...

At 3am one morning after suffering from jet-lag I noticed a torch being shone through our window which our bed was right up against. I panicked and thought that someone was trying to break into our room and both I and my boyfriend were pretty scared and barely slept the rest of the night.

In the morning I went downstairs still a little bit worried about the night before so voiced my opinions to Shirley who's reaction was to laugh in my face! She never responded to me deciding to ignore me and speak to my boyfriend who was standing beside me saying that she was checking that everyone was in bed! How dare she look through our window which a torch! A complete invasion of privacy and by her laughing at me made me feel about 2 inches tall.

It did however, not get any better, a few nights later (we'd already booked 5 nights) we were sitting on our balcony late one night enjoying a last cigarette before sleep and Shirley just appeared next to us on the next balcony! She purposely made me jump and then once again mocked me to my boyfriend saying she didn't want to knock on our door 'incise I scared your girlfriend'! So she instead decides to jump out on us!

The next day we went to go and see the Asiatic lions near the Neyyar Sanctuary, and she said she had a fantastic time there with her friends laughing at the lions as they were trying to be just like the English girls 'starving themselves to lose weight and be slim'! Yet again another dig at me, but also laughing at the starved animals.

Also, never book any transport whatsoever through her, just step outside the hotel and you'll find transport a fraction of the price she quotes you.

Never booked a guided tour through her, the driver barely speaks English and is on commission for the expensive boat tours, if they take you on one, take a walk 1/2 kilometre down the road and you'll find a much cheaper boat, we promise!

To be fair there is so much more I could write here but the main facts I have mentioned. Both my boyfriend and I never met the 'kind' Shirley at this hotel previously mentioned in the other reviews and it's a shame as we were persuaded to go to this place because of all the great reviews we've read.

We have both been back-packing around India for over 2 months, and Africa and assure anyone that there are so many friendlier places to stay as well as cheaper so please don’t stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hof, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I spent five nights at Shirley's guest house. And I was more than happy I had chosen her place at home (internet booking, so you never really know what to expect).
One person above wrote about how horrible it was. Well, I suppose he/she had never travelled around in India before! Of course a guest house there is not the same as in West Europe. But it was absolutley clean, the prices are totally fair, there IS hot water (you just have to know you must turn on the heater - and Shirley would tell you if you asked) and the amounts of ants is NOTHING compared to other places where I tried to stop ants building mountains in my room. There simply ARE a lot of ants, that's the secret. If you cannot live with this fact, than book a five star hotel for the price of a five star hotel or stay in Norway, Great Britain or Denmark.
So I was very happy with my accomodation. Plus Shirley is incredibly friendly!!! We spent a lot of time talking and so I learned a lot about India and its people. Her son Sambath even organised a round trip through Kerala for me and my friend (who then joined me). And it was perfectly done. He arranged goodd hotels for us, we had a friendly driver and the houseboat was superb! The price we paid for this trip was really fair.
So a full reccomentation for this place! And I will go back there for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.0 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.0 km away
Niraamaya Retreats
Niraamaya Retreats
#1 of 52 in Kovalam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.0 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirleysbeach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirleysbeach Hotel

Property: Shirleysbeach Hotel
Address: Temple Road, Near Avaduthura Devi Temple | behind Coconut Groove Restaurant, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,615 - ₹ 4,199
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shirleysbeach is a perfect budget seaside getaway to rejuvenate your mind and body. The excitement never ends in Kerala from the lush green forests, enchanting backwaters, dazzling waterfalls, splendid beaches - an experience of a lifetime. Ideal location at beautiful Kovalam beach, just 10 feet from the water, makes us the guests' favorite! Shirleysbeach blends the traditional hospitality of a Kerala home with modern facilities. Truly, a home away from home. Cozy and comfortable with a homely atmosphere to help you unwind, relax and pamper yourself and make your journey an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shirleysbeach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirleysbeach Hotel Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing