We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valur for money and such wonderful place”
Review of Thushara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thushara Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Valur for money and such wonderful place”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Room:

Me and my friends are stayed here for 1 day. My favorite room is 304. It was a large size room and toilet, fan, king size bed, television with cable connection, refrigerator, reading table with 2 chairs and wardrobe. The Manager prasanth was too kind and helpful. Our room is near to pool so we enjoy a lot in here. We stayed here in off season so they charge as only 1000 rs for room but its worth more than that.

Food:

Food in beach near hotel cost like 3 star category. but not worth that much. Beer price is too high when we compare to government beverages, so its good to purchase beers from beverages and kept them in refrigerator. This room has a balcony we enjoyed our beer party in balcony.

Room Tip: Best budget hotel in lots of facilities with excellent service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank g_shanmuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    42
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
35
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

It's a 3 minute or so walk from the beach front (very close but infinitely cheaper than beachfront resort places)..and frankly I found it nice to get away from the beach hotel I was in,also to get away from the promenade /concrete and more fancy stalls and touts and to be nearer nicer stall holders,/tailors and some greenery,coconut trees,even the odd cow grazing and comparative tranquility when desired and yet within earshot of the Ocean,even if you cannot quite see it from this hotel...does it really matter ?
Staff pleasant and helpful.European breakfast not great.Pool well kept.Shaded areas if required.
My room was fine although air conditioner was very noisy ! Huge choice of places to eat for all tastes and budgets nearby.
Would recommend for the traveler/family wanting nice safe,clean place with few frills but nothing bad either,and everything for all ages and tastes is very nearby..
Very Good value for location.
NB:Kovoalam is a popular tourist resort for all nationalities and nationals..don't expect it to be a quiet fishing village and to have the beach to yourself.Lovely sea/sand/surfing and huge choice of food outlets.

Room Tip: Check airconditioning on arrival..for noise. Very good laundry close by...much cheaper than hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anthonyvanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Booked cos the pictures n reviews abt the place wr pretty decent , The place is decent too .Staff friendly enough. Its best for backpackers not families . The main drawback is accessibility to the place , its a small alley wit no access to the place by any means of transport except walking .Rooms spacious dfntly value for money , need a lot of mosquito repellent though . Restaurant does not have much on offer .large swimming pool but needs better maintenance . overall tr r much better places for the same price right on the beach .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AjTitus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I made the mistake of booking this place, as we were travelling during peak season, & most of the hotels were running full.The only access to the hotel is by foot, through small alleyways, which I'd expected, since I'd read about it, but what was more disappointing was the service & the attitude of the staff.Firstly, when the staff arrived to take our luggage from the taxi, they were grumpy & looked irritated that they had to carry our luggage to the hotel ( like it was our fault that the hotel had no road access ). Then, they gave us a room on the topmost floor ( there's no lift in the hotel ), even though we'd clearly mentioned that we were travelling with a 1 year old. So each time we went to get anything small, we had to carry our 1 year old up & down 3 or 4 flights of stairs...phew !! When the staff took us to the room, as soon as we entered,we saw that the whole floor was flooded, & they said that it had rained heavily the previous night, so the water had seeped into the room ( could not understand how the hell !!! )...... any ways, their solution......just remove the bed sheet from the same room, & swab the floor with it using your feet. After that, whenever I slept on a supposedly clean sheet that they replaced the sheet with which they'd swabbed the floor, I had nightmares of it being used to swab the floor, & me sleeping on it !!! We asked for a room change, as soon as we saw the flooded room & since walking up & down each time carrying a 1 year old would have been difficult....but we received irritated, grumpy looks ( like big deal !....so what if the room was flooded ??? ). They finally agreed to give us a room on the ground floor & said that they would clean it since someone had just checked out. We waited for about 45mins & then went to see if it was ready......they hadn't even started......& everyone looked like they couldn't care a damn !! So, finally, exhausted & fed up with the situation, we just agreed to stay in the same room. The room was large & full of light & the bathroom was clean enough ( only saving grace ! ). But not once, during our entire stay ( 3 nights ) did anyone come & clean the room or bathroom, or even mention anything to that effect.We went to the hotel restaurant on the first day ( barely a restaurant...more like a shed ), where all the staff looked like they were irritated with us for giving them additional work by ordering food......& they were busy sitting & have their lunch ( not a single staff member seemed to be interested in taking our order ). Finally we went into the kitchen & gave the cook our order....& that took so long to arrive, though most of the items on the menu were not available. By the end of it, we were soooo frustrated, that we asked them to send the food up to our room, & left the restaurant.On the day we were leaving, the staff seemed irritated again, that they had to carry our luggage to the taxi, through the alleyway.....& they were grumbling aloud in the local language that they may not get a tip, so why should they carry the luggage etc etc. I'd had it with their pathetic attitude by then.......& I made sure not to leave a tip !!!

Room Tip: If your travelling with small kids, take the rooms on the first floor. There's no lift, so walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjalieBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were 2 adults and 2 children (age 7 and 5) travelling in India for 1 month. We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Thushara.

The hotel is situated in a quit position 1-2 min's walk behind Lighthouse beach. It is clean and the service is friendly and professional. The swimming pool is really nice and for the kids it is wonderful to swim around.

Kovalam is very touristy - too touristy for our taste. Most people our europeans and everything is suited to fit their needs.

Thushara has a good balance between price and quality a can therefore be recommended. But please remember that this is not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.8 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.2 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.3 km away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thushara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thushara Hotel

Property: Thushara Hotel
Address: Hawa Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,163 - ₹ 3,425
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thushara Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Thushara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thushara Hotel Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing