We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Travancore Palace Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Travancore Palace Beach Resort
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We went to Travencore palace Beach reasort on 21th of April & 22nd April 2011. Based on the photo's and reviews of the Travancore Palace Beach Resort, we have accepted the hotel from our tour arranger but we are totally disappointed with this hotel because we are 24 family member from this three are senior citizen. this hotel does't have lift, the manager was arrogant & doesn't have manners to talk to guest.
The Rooms are big but don't have any good view from first & second floor. the toilets are not clean & the slope of floor is reveres so the bathing water log in the toilet door.
The door lock was not proper, handles are loose & air conditioning not working properly one remote used for so many rooms.
first night we were not able to sleep because lights gone at 2am & there was no one to attend the complain on phone. no hot water before 8 am & swimming pool also not maintain. but this not so....
The service here is quite bad as well as you have to wait hours for your food.
This hotel is totally different from what we saw in the internet.
If you decide to go to Kovalam, please check out the hotels on the beach itself....it is much more cheaper and better than this one.
So i request to all travellers not visit this hotel

Regards

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vaishu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    6
    1
    14
See reviews for
10
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in november and during this time there was a fire in one of buildings. We were woken up at 3am due to the electrical fire and moved rooms. The room we were moved to was much smaller. Then we had to ask to be moved to a comparable room. They did this many hours later. We then asked for some sort of discount for our troubles during our holiday and the managers were quite rude. The said they would discuss the matter with upper management and reply to us and now one month later I have still heard nothing. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M6rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Satara, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

we stayed there at the end of july. we booked standard room. but they gave us delux sea facing room on third floor. room was superb,big room with balcony on both sides and sea in front. one can sea sunsate from room. only problem was no lift and becausa of odd season restorant was closed, but plenty of restorants on beach, 100 m away from hotel. staff was helpful

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pravinmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raipur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Location is good.Nice hospitality.

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank doc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Hey guys, the hotel was great in terms of service and the quality of the room. I just came back with lots of good memories. The room is spacious and great, staff is friendly and ready to help you. Atleast they have helped me a lot.

But yes be prepared for the downhill and uphill walk from the beach, thats tiring but it was fun.

So if somebody is planning, he or she can plan for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank nick_jones71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
6.0 km away
Travancore Heritage
Travancore Heritage
#1 of 3 in Chowara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.2 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.8 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
2.6 km away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#34 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Travancore Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Travancore Palace Beach Resort

Property: The Travancore Palace Beach Resort
Address: Light House Beach Road Vizhinjam P O, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Kovalam
Price range (per night): ₹ 982 - ₹ 2,029
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Travancore Palace Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is at world famous Kovalam Beach and the rooms are spacious and fully furnished, and with en-suite bathroom and private balcony and television with satellite channels, refrigerators etc. The various facilities at the resort include 24 hrs airport pick up and drop, currency exchange, safe deposit lockers, laundry, 24 hrs room service, Doctor on call, Ayurvedic health center etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Travancore Palace Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Travancore Palace Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing