We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vijay Varma Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 92 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I originally intended to stay at this hotel for three or four days, which turned into two weeks! I was travelling with my daughter and my toddler, so we were really please to find this hotel. We had a ground floor room, next to reception, which was lovely and clean. It was cleaned every day, and the bedding and towels changed. There was no fridge in the room, but when the lady o9n the desk, a wonderful person called sarah, realised we were still making bottles for the baby, she organised a fridge for our room. The other staff there were fantastic, so friendly with my son. The guys were brilliant, making coffee whenever we asked no matter what time. The little beach at the back of the hotel in literally a minutes walk, and is much less crowded, as access is restricted to a few hotels. Also the tide did not seem quite so strong. The bathrooms are a bit tired, but to be honest, they were extremely clean, with plenty of hot water. I could not reccomend this hotel highly enough. It is incredibly clean, comfortable bed, decent tv package, and wonderful little balconies to sit and laze on looking at the sea. The staff here make this place, as without them it would be just ok. They really all are so friendly with nothing too much trouble. Thankyou at all of you, hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

After having a disaster trying to find a room at the last minute I stumbled past Varma cottages, asked if they had room, and spent the next 2 nights thanking my lucky stars. Kovalam has clearly seen better days (probably 20 or so years ago) and this place was a life saver. If you insist on going to kovalam stay at Varma! Opposite the beach, SAFE, and clean. The staff (yadesh???) were divine and incredibly sweet and helpful and clearly took a lot of pride in his job.
Thank you for saving me!
Cottage 2000rp per night Inc tax in early November 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beauemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel with some friends. The hotel and rooms were very clean and comfortable. My room on the top floor had an amazing see view that could be enjoyed from a balcony overlooking a nice small quite beach.

The hotel is on Light house road, a 6 minute walk up the hill from light house beach.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toky302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights (we only planned to stay 2). The location is handy for the beachfront. The rooms (we stayed in 2- the top floor are recently refurbished) were more than accepable, light and airy. The bathrooms were fine. The best part to the hotel are the fabulous views from the balcony. We spent hours sitting and watching fishing boats being launched, and the bay below. Beware the crows! we had two bags of crisps nicked after leaving them unattended for no more than 30 seconds on the balcony! the staff are very friendly, and will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Aurélie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 km away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 52 in Kovalam
237 reviews
1.6 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#26 of 52 in Kovalam
104 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Sea Face
Hotel Sea Face
#29 of 52 in Kovalam
103 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Beach Florra Inn
Hotel Beach Florra Inn
#14 of 92 in Kovalam
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vijay Varma Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vijay Varma Beach Resort

Address: Light House Road, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range: ₹ 1,429 - ₹ 9,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vijay Varma Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Vijay Varma Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vijay Varma Beach Hotel Kovalam
Vijay Varma Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing