We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time! Planning our next trip...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We visited in mid-August for silvers. We were not disappointed! Though we did not limit out every day, we enjoyed every day. We had great guides. They are knowledgeable, personable and entertaining.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice large kitchen, full size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. The staff are friendly and helpful. It was great to have someone else clean your fish. They vacuum seal and freeze your fish and box it for your trip home.
We also did two halibut trips to Homer. The drive is doable and very scenic. Leave a little earlier so you can do some sightseeing and stop at the various vista points along the way.
My dh and I are already talking about our next visit to RW's. For comfort, value and a great time, you can't beat it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

RW is the place you want to be to fish, he has the best set up and guides in the area. Large rooms with everything you need. Full size fridge and stove, can sleep five easy but you could go up to seven without a problem other than there is only one bathroom. You could save a lot just by cooking yourself and there are several outdoor BBQs and tables, some under a covered area. As for fishing, they take care of you here. From cleaning, packaging, freezing and shipping. He has his own dock area for the river with great guides. Keep in mind when he says half trips, that is what you are getting. Half day is fine for salmon, but you are better off paying extra to go on all day halibit boats. You can stay somewhere nicer, but not better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but try for one of the original rooms if anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This was my third time at R.W.'s place. The first time was in an August trip for Silvers and Halibut had a great time then and vowed to come back . The second trip was in July 2008 and we fished for King , Sockeye and Halibut I caught two beautiful Kings and my fishing buddy Tony caught a 55lb. King, along with a bunch of Sockeye. It was the best fishing must have caught and released hundreds of Sockeye couldn't get enough of the fun. Met some nice people on that trip that Tony and I decided to come back in 2010 . Well this time there was four of us and no disappointment to any of us . We all caught a King and I was fortunate enough to again catch two Kings, but the Sockeye fishing was again awesome. We hit super Tuesday as it is known and caught more fish than ever. I had never tried a fly rod before and this time tried it with the Sockeye . It was a blast catching 12lb Sockeye on a #7 flyrod!!! Now that's a fight!!! The halibut fishing from Homer was great on the first trip but we were blown of the water the second trip , it happens but safety first and commend the captain on his expertise! R.W. made it up to us so all were happy. I would definately recommend R.W's place to anyone the accomodations are great and clean, the river fishing on the property is awesome . The Guides are great had three different river guides and we liked them all. The fish cleaning and packing crew are a great . We are all planning to go back in 2012!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sockeyeshoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We all would like to come home with a trophy fish, but it is serious work. It took us 18 hrs. of fishing to get our two beautiful kings, several years ago. This trip, we got skunked a few days, but still were able to catch silvers. Fishing is not a sure thing, but the guides give 100% effort on getting you your fish. The accommodations were acceptable except for trying to sleep while the sun seemed to never set – need blackout drapes.

They try their best, correcting situations - like a bad halibut trip we had, even though there was nothing they could change. Very professional but flexible enough to make sure we are enjoying ourselves.

With the BBQ’s out back and being able to almost fish from your lodging, we were able to meet the best folks. The campfires, the stories and the sharing of experiences made the trip even more enjoyable. The comradely at the resort’s sponsored dinner at the end of the week - we now know fishermen are the best storytellers!

We appreciate RW’s, Shawn’s and the other guides extra effort in making sure we had a good time in getting the fish to jump into the boat. This is where we went our honeymoon – you know for a good marriage, you also need to keep the guy happy!

We’ll be back – were getting to be part of the family!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank She60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
503fisherman, Guest Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Thank you for your kind words, customer satisfaction is our goal. We hope you continue to visit us, and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We are at RW's Fish Camp and went out with them yesterday fishing for silvers. There were two boats that went out on the Kenai with four people fishing on each boat . . . one boat came back with 9 and ours with only 2. (The personal limit was 3 per day.) I personally felt that our guide was clueless and he chased where others were or had been.

The 2 caught on our boat were during our first hour out. Nothing after, except pink "humpies" which he said weren't keepers so we threw them back (4 for me and 3 for DH).

We like the camp area here for our 29' RV. Had full hook-ups and free WiFi (a bonus).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TimeshareVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
503fisherman, Public Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Our guides strive to meet your expectations, and they take their profession extremely personal. If we failed to meet your expectations we hope you would have brought this to our attention and allow us to make it right with you. Customer service is what RW's Fishing and Big Eddy Resort is all about, and we take customer service very serious.

We have a large return client base at RW's, some returning for over 20 years. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the trip of a lifetime. We want to make your Alaskan experience one you want to repeat ....every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soldotna hotels
1.9 km away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
10.2 km away
Escape For Two
Escape For Two
#2 of 12 in Soldotna
66 reviews
1.1 km away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
37 reviews
1.6 km away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
0.6 km away
Best Western King Salmon Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort

Address: P.O. Box 3824, Kenai Peninsula, Soldotna, AK 99669-3824
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Rw`s Fishing And Big Eddy Resort
Rw`s Fishing & Big Eddy Hotel Soldotna
RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort Soldotna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing