We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatcher Pass Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hatcher Pass Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Springfield MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

I spent New Years Eve at Hatcher Pass. Sun goes down early....Beautiful views. Bring Skiis. Amazing and Very Romantic!

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OneM0reTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
22
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

Hatcher Pass Lodge is just super. It's nothing fancy but it's in a gorgeous setting, the cabins are comfy, and the staff is lovely.
We go here whenever we can --and we take all our friends who visit AK here too.
It's amazing that this place does not book up faster (it's often possible to get a cabin at the last minute). I've thought about writing a review before but (selfishly) didn't since it's kind of nice that it's not always booked. However, it really is too good not to get a glowing review.
Great in summer or winter! (Be sure to sign up early for the sauna.)

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kermitthefrog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2006

Our family stayed at Hatcher Pass Lodge for two nights in early August 2006. When I was planning our trip to Alaska, I almost let the idea of chemical toilets deter me from booking a cabin. If I had, my family would have missed out on one of our favorite places in all of Alaska. We had a cabin with a loft that was clean, oozing with charm, and had a nice water cooler. There are flush toilets and showers in the lodge itself which was just down the path. My children loved sleeping in the loft and our views from the cabin and the lodge were breathtaking. We enjoyed eating our meals in the restaurant and became addicted to the cheese fondue! The hiking trails and general scenery in the area are magnificent, and all we wished for was a longer stay. This is an alpine area, and the tundra and flora are gorgeous. The owner can come across as curmudgeonly but he is really a softie, who clearly has a love for animals and the place he helped build by hand so long ago. We felt really lucky to have discovered this lodge, and would make an absolute point of returning here when we return to Alaska. Loved it!

  • Liked — The ambience, meals, scenery, hiking
  • Tips/Secrets — The loft cabins are great
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank cvillereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starkville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2006

We had a great stay at Hatcher's Pass Lodge. It is a little delight hidden among the mountains. We didn't realize it had no running water, but we were okay with that. the cabins are comfortable and clean. We do recommend that you bring a radio or something for music. The nights can get a little long without some type of entertainment. The coffee was great and so was the manager. We greatly enjoyed our stay and recommend it highly to everyone who wants to stay in the mountains.

  • Liked — The great location and view. WE could see the northern lights from our bed!
  • Disliked — The lack of a radio.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a radio.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2003

Hatcher Pass is a beautiful area and this was a great place to stay.
The small cabins have no running water (thus chemical toilets) but are great. The cabin were super clean and the bed comfortable. There are lights but no TV. The room had board games and magazines. A wonderful getaway. The meal was great at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OkemosGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmer
24.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
10.2 km away
Hatcher Pass Bed & Breakfast
20.7 km away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Moose Wallow Cabins
Moose Wallow Cabins
#3 of 11 in Palmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
22.6 km away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
20.5 km away
Knotty Pine B&B
Knotty Pine B&B
#5 of 12 in Palmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher Pass Lodge

Property: Hatcher Pass Lodge
Address: Fishhook Willow Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
Region: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,414 - ₹ 9,436
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hatcher Pass Hotel Palmer
Hatcher Pass Lodge Palmer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing