We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Land's End Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 221
US$ 215
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Shores(Homer)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
463
296
129
46
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
296
129
46
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslands endchart roomsea otterssmall balconyhomer spitbay windowfishing boatskachemak bayhot tubgreat viewmurphy bedbit datedhalibutgreat roomcoffee makercondoviews
Filter
Updating list...
794 - 799 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Lands End Resort is on the very tip of Homer Spit. The views are amazing. We have stayed here twice and if I let him, my husband would move here! We had a suite with 2 rooms, perfect for our family of 5. We even had a small deck off the back where we watched the otters swimming! Clean, comfortable and we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2012. The lodges are located separately from the main hotel and reception. Overall, the location and views made for an enjoyable trip, however given the price and the lack of some attention to details in both the construction, furnishings and upkeep, we won't stay here again.

The good:
-Location and views of the bay and mountains were stunning. As was the access to the beach right outside our door.
- Two master bedrooms
- Steam shower in the downstairs bathroom.
-Very quiet - we didn't hear any noise from neighbors

The not-so-good:
- Cleanliness: the unit appeared to have been lightly cleaned (i.e. beds made, new towels), however the floors needed sweeping/mopping, a good dusting was needed on all surfaces, and many of the dishes in the kitchen needed washing before they could be used. Given the stern warning above the sink requesting all dishes be clean and put away or expect a $35 charge, I would have expected to find the dishes clean.
-This unit was intended to accommodate 6 guests, however the amount of towels provided were not adequate.
- Temperature control in the upstairs bedrooms: It was very warm in the upstairs rooms and we left windows open all night to keep it tolerable. This is after we turned the heat off.
-Televisions in the master bedrooms were very old and small (tube tv's). While having a television is nice, skip it if you can't afford to put something better in.
- Furnishings in general were dirty and needed some cleaning, the furnishings all looked old and and dirty. Had they been clean, old furnishings would not have been an issue.
- General construction - the bedrooms were very small, and the upstairs masters had partial windows to the open cathedral ceiling of the living room/kitchen. These partial windows could be closed via shutters, but did not allow for any privacy. The kitchen was oddly constructed and many drawers would open in to another, Also, the kitchen was poorly equipped.
- The Lands End Hotel has seen better days, - the hotel itself is run down and looks like maintenance hasn't been done at least 20 years. The hotel boasts a hot tub and swimming pool, both of which are filthy, and in need of serious upgrading. The hot tub is outside looking out over the bay, however the seats were cracked and in one area a plywood board was used.

Overall, great view, great location, expensive, dirty, poorly designed - next time I visit the area I will look for a private rental. This was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaloneySandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at the Land's End Resort for our one night in Homer. The buildings are a little tired, and the furniture in the room wasn't all that comfortable. The room was large and clean; we had a two level room, with a great view of the bay and the mountains from the upper (sleeping) level. Like of lot of Alaska, the resort seems to have luxury prices without the same level of amenities that you find for those prices in other parts of the country. There are several kinds of rooms and some have only a parking lot view, so be sure to research what you want before making your reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were here for 2 nights and had a lower condo room. We had a restricted view of the bay through the staircase for the upper condo. The room was OK, slight hygiene issue with blood spots on one of the quilts. Daily housekeeping was extra although plenty towels were provided. The cost reflects the (partial) view rather than the quality of the accommodation.

Room Tip: If your budget can stand it, choose an upper level condo facing the bay.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had reservations at this resort with a confirmation number. When my family and I got there after a long day of flying Lands Inn told me I had no reservations. Some staff member at the resort had cancelled our reservations the day before. We were forced to scramble for a room as we had fishing reservations and planned to be in Homer for 4 days. We ended up quite a ways from the spit. Quite an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bonetraill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews