We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Position Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Land's End Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Land's End Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Position Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Position is everything ,views are stunning ,sitting out on the deck or in the hot tub watching the boats come back from the fishing grounds and the sea otters swiming past ,fish eagles overehead is worth every pennty , the view /bar id give it 5+, the hotel itself feels to me a little worn and tired ,rooms are ok but nothing special its all clean tidy and well maintained though,but for sure your paying for that view and the fact that you can stroll down along the spit attractions, Resturant is fine ,good food well cooked and nice selection in fact would proberly eat more there next time, its not the cheapest but once again the view compensates , would I stay again ,yep for sure ,would be on the plane tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: go for sea view eveytime in the mornings when your not fishing throw back the curtains and look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    231
    102
    38
    27
See reviews for
208
251
33
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT,RI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Lands End Resort is on the very tip of Homer Spit. The views are amazing. We have stayed here twice and if I let him, my husband would move here! We had a suite with 2 rooms, perfect for our family of 5. We even had a small deck off the back where we watched the otters swimming! Clean, comfortable and we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2012. The lodges are located separately from the main hotel and reception. Overall, the location and views made for an enjoyable trip, however given the price and the lack of some attention to details in both the construction, furnishings and upkeep, we won't stay here again.

The good:
-Location and views of the bay and mountains were stunning. As was the access to the beach right outside our door.
- Two master bedrooms
- Steam shower in the downstairs bathroom.
-Very quiet - we didn't hear any noise from neighbors

The not-so-good:
- Cleanliness: the unit appeared to have been lightly cleaned (i.e. beds made, new towels), however the floors needed sweeping/mopping, a good dusting was needed on all surfaces, and many of the dishes in the kitchen needed washing before they could be used. Given the stern warning above the sink requesting all dishes be clean and put away or expect a $35 charge, I would have expected to find the dishes clean.
-This unit was intended to accommodate 6 guests, however the amount of towels provided were not adequate.
- Temperature control in the upstairs bedrooms: It was very warm in the upstairs rooms and we left windows open all night to keep it tolerable. This is after we turned the heat off.
-Televisions in the master bedrooms were very old and small (tube tv's). While having a television is nice, skip it if you can't afford to put something better in.
- Furnishings in general were dirty and needed some cleaning, the furnishings all looked old and and dirty. Had they been clean, old furnishings would not have been an issue.
- General construction - the bedrooms were very small, and the upstairs masters had partial windows to the open cathedral ceiling of the living room/kitchen. These partial windows could be closed via shutters, but did not allow for any privacy. The kitchen was oddly constructed and many drawers would open in to another, Also, the kitchen was poorly equipped.
- The Lands End Hotel has seen better days, - the hotel itself is run down and looks like maintenance hasn't been done at least 20 years. The hotel boasts a hot tub and swimming pool, both of which are filthy, and in need of serious upgrading. The hot tub is outside looking out over the bay, however the seats were cracked and in one area a plywood board was used.

Overall, great view, great location, expensive, dirty, poorly designed - next time I visit the area I will look for a private rental. This was not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaloneySandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at the Land's End Resort for our one night in Homer. The buildings are a little tired, and the furniture in the room wasn't all that comfortable. The room was large and clean; we had a two level room, with a great view of the bay and the mountains from the upper (sleeping) level. Like of lot of Alaska, the resort seems to have luxury prices without the same level of amenities that you find for those prices in other parts of the country. There are several kinds of rooms and some have only a parking lot view, so be sure to research what you want before making your reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were here for 2 nights and had a lower condo room. We had a restricted view of the bay through the staircase for the upper condo. The room was OK, slight hygiene issue with blood spots on one of the quilts. Daily housekeeping was extra although plenty towels were provided. The cost reflects the (partial) view rather than the quality of the accommodation.

Room Tip: If your budget can stand it, choose an upper level condo facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
8.8 km away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
7.3 km away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
7.1 km away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
9.3 km away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
7.0 km away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land's End Resort

Property: Land's End Resort
Address: 4786 Homer Spit Road, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,011 - ₹ 19,812
Hotel Class:3 star — Land's End Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Land's End Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land`s End Hotel Homer
Lands End Hotel Homer
Lands End Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing