We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve
from US$ 209.00
More Info
from US$ 130.00
More Info
from US$ 144.00
More Info
from US$ 137.00
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
174
51
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
51
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle preserve chilkat river float trip salmon sandwiches life jackets cookies braided river bus ride early june rubber boots eagles flying raft tour light lunch minute ferry relaxing float mother bear
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Saw several eagles and a few gulls during our raft adventure on the Chilkat River. Adult and immature eagles at various spots on our float trip. Some feeding on salmon. Had high hopes we might spot other wildlife but did not. As we were first raft in our 4 raft flotilla we got closer to the eagles than maybe the other three did. Given other rafting adventures we had on the trip the price for this one was rather steep IMO.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank wegoustay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This is a must if you're in the area, the family and I rafted the preserve and it's highly recommended if you're visiting Haines. Lots of great photo opps.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank pmik16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I was staying in Haines and saw that many excursions were being offered to cruise passengers, so I asked if I could join the float down the Chilkat River to see eagles in the Eagle preserve. When we arrived we were given rubber boots and life jackets and told how to safely enter the boat. Fortunately it was a beautiful day and there were many eagles flying or nesting or just sitting and looking at us as our boat flowed past. Nicole our guide displayed a lot of strength getting us off the gravel when we occasionally got grounded and we all had to bounce to help lift the rubber boat off the gravel. Nicole gave us some interesting information about the life and habits of eagles. Sadly we did not see any other wild life- they must have heard us coming- but I was happy just to see the eagles.
On reaching the end of our trip we were given sandwiches, hot drinks, cookies and oranges and driven back to the Dock at Haines. All the staff were friendly, personable and willing to help in any way they could. Highly recommended

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Ann1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We took an excursion off an Island Princess cruise, fast ferry to Haines and joined up with Ckilkat tours. Short and fun bus ride. We joined 5 raft guides and floated down the river. Saw 20 or more bald eagles and took fantastic pictures. My best picture of two weeks in Alaska was a bald eagle tearing apart a salmon on this trip. The guides were fun. We had a blast. They gave us hot cocoa, great sandwiches and great education about the preserve. If you are ever in Skagway and have time to take the ferry ride and eagle preserv, do it. One recommendation....wear gloves if it is in late August. Brrrrr. .

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

It was pouring rain. Surely they would cancel the rafting trip. But they didn't and it was a fun adventure. Our guides were so amazing. I am 68 and get cold easily. Our guides took such good care of all of us. They even helped us get into our gear on in the pouring rain. We saw so many eagles in all stages of development. They were ready for the salmon buffet headed their way. And I got to see the salmon actually running up stream. The trip ended with hot drinks and delicious homemade sandwiches. I called our young guide Dad, because he cared for us old guys like we were kids. The funniest thing he said was if we didn't follow the instructions that hat he wouldn't be mad, just disappointed. So cute. And he got us through the water safely while pointing out the eagle sightings while keeping us off the rocks. It's a great trip for young and old alike. Chilkat Guides were fantastic!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank dineandcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews