We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful setting and friendly welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halsingland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halsingland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Anchorage
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is in the most lovely part of Haines. There is no other hotel that I've experienced in Alaska to match it for its historic setting. The staff were very friendly and I felt right at home there. When unfortunately I got injured in the town, they couldn't have been more helpful. To sum up I have very fond memories of the hotel and the level of service, thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vstromer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    23
    17
    7
See reviews for
27
44
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a historic hotel in a beautiful setting. I spent one night there as I waited to board the Alaska ferry. The front office was very efficient and put me in a "pet friendly" room. The room was run down (torn curtains, torn mattress covers) and had a dank, musty smell. The charge for one night was over $100 U.S. Based on what I saw during this visit, I would not recommend this property to other travelers with pets.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenchen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights in a handycapped room. Just hughes with three beds and we loved to stay outside on the porch. We stayed for another two nights upstairs in the commanders room with one queen bed. Here we looked out on the fields and the canal. It is a hundred year old place though, so don't expect five stars. Charles and Jeff at the front desk were so friendly, kind and helpful, we had a marvellous stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed one night at the Halsingland. We hadn't stayed there for about 15 years. The last visit was disastrous (no hot water, musty room, no milk for breakfast). We thought we would give it a try since we heard it had new owners. The room was dark and plain. We couldn't get the heater to work so it was freezing that night (cold and rainy in Haines that night. I slept in a long-sleeved shirt and fleece sweater). The cord to the long drapes was broke so I had to pull them back and put a chair in front of the window to get some light. The entire outside porch was covered with peeling paint-it looked really tacky and dingy. It took 10 minutes of running water in the bathroom sink to get some hot water. No food on site for breakfast. All of this for $130/night. It would take a lot of money dumped into this place to fix it up.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, AK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

I had a wonderful experience here. I ended up in town a day early and exhausted. They were happy to give me and additional day and they even gave me a free early check-in. The hotel is part of historic Ft. Seward so it's original and not just another typical hotel. The staff was always helpful and friendly and did whatever they could to make my stay more comfortable. I would recommend them to anyone and plan on staying there again. In fact, I'll probably be back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
26.2 km away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 km away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 km away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Captain's Choice Motel
26.6 km away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsingland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsingland Hotel

Property: Halsingland Hotel
Address: 13 Fort Seward Dr., Haines, AK 99827
Region: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,800 - ₹ 8,868
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halsingland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Halsingland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halsingland Hotel Haines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing