We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping”
Review of Fort Seward Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Seward Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We paid $20 a night to camp, as opposed to getting a room at the lodge, and we're glad we did.

.There were Zero people at the lodge the entire time we were there which was a bit odd maybe the season hasn't started up yet.

All of the doors to the rooms were unlocked we decided to look inside and they were not worth the price that was being charged. The restaurant and bar was closed for the year and as we booked that was something we were looked forward to. There was no wifi anywhere on site, both of which were mentioned on the website. With multiple photos that did not really look like what we expirenced.

As we know haines is an old city but it seemed like a ghost town and unfortunately the lodge did to.
Beautiful views and camping we could do our own thing on the lawn for setup at the lodge but just know it's not all you see online as of this current time of year anyways.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

I booked in for 2 different dates in April to come across to do some backcountry snowboarding. The week before I was due to fly out and 2 weeks after I'd made my booking, I was emailed without much explanation to say that the lodge was fully booked and that they would offer me a refund. The email didn't make much sense and only after much probing did it transpire that the lodge had actually over booked and were instead choosing to honour a group booking that had turned out to include more people than they had expected. This left me without anywhere to stay at the last minute and so consequently I have ended up spending much more than expected due to limited availability as little notice was given. On top of this the lodge has been slow to offer me a full refund and the website malfunctioned when I first booked charging me twice. The lodge have been difficult to get in contact with throughout and slow to respond to email. All in all, a very shambolic and disappointing experience making my much anticipated holiday needlessly stressful and I would strongly advise avoiding this place if at all possible. I would choose to spend a little extra and stay somewhere else so as not to be left with no where to stay at the last minute.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank laura_bond7223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Best experience EVER!!!!

I've been to Haines several times in the last few years for different festivities. But the people at Fort Seward Lodge gave us a better experience than we've ever had before. We rented the new suite and were blown away by how beautiful it was and how amazing the view was and how amazing the people that ran the lodge were to work with. From the moment we got there until the moment we left we felt welcome and like we were best friends for years. Awesome place, awesome bar, awesome brunch!!!

Thanks again to Lena and the crew for making our Haines weekend one to remember.

I highly recommend this to anyone heading to Haines.

Walking distance to everything too!!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SkagwayScooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This is the 2nd time going to the lodge this summer season and was SO worth it. This lodge came up from the dust & has made a debut with a bang. The managers of the lodge were very hospitable & took excellent care of us, the lodge was BEAUTIFUL and clean, & they also have a BAR--even if you're around town, stop by this bar.

They also hosted probably the best party I've been to all season. Live music, a little burlesque performance, and reasonable drink prices.

If you haven't been to the lodge, make it on your todo list!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Classyyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a night while visiting Haines. The room was old, dimly lit, with old furnishings. The young lady staffing was helpful and ready to answer any questions re the area. Think it is over priced considering the quality and the 1 bathroom at the end of the hall to be shared by everyone.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mainestate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortSewardLodge, Manager at Fort Seward Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

In our photos on the reservation page, we are very clear with what this room offers. We provide in our clear description of the room that it is "historic" and yes, it is not newly remodeled for just that reason. We want it to be more of a rustic experience. Every other lodge or hotel in town that offers the same "historic" lodging and a shared bathroom are $10-$60 more and they do not include a free shuttle, a large deck or a water view. So for the $95 you paid, this is actually the best value Haines offers. Aspen Hotel which is a brand new hotel in town that includes a private bathroom and identical rooms (maybe more of what you are looking for) with taxes is $185.06 just to give you an idea of Haines' prices. We hope this helps with your future plans as we want our guests to always have a nice stay in Haines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
0.3 km away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
139 reviews
26 km away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
230 reviews
0.8 km away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
105 reviews
0.4 km away
House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B
0.8 km away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Seward Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Seward Lodge

Address: 39 Mud Bay Road, Haines, AK 99827
Region: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range: ₹ 2,591 - ₹ 6,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from both the Cruise Ship Dock and Skagway Fast Ferry Dock in Haines, Alaska, the Fort Seward Lodge, Restaurant and Saloon was built in 1904 as part of the first U.S military base in Alaska. As the original Post Exchange, the Fort has been a part of the Haines community for over 100 years. The building has gone through many changes and additions over the years, decommissioned in the early 1930's and purchased by a group of retired officers, it then started its long history as a saloon and lodge in the true Alaskan spirit. Currently the lodge operates seasonally, open February - May for Heli-skiing and May - August for summer tourism and fishing. The Fort is known for good times, good people and good food. Come hang out with the "old salts" in the saloon or enjoy a cocktail or locally brewed beer while taking in the salt air on our deck with the ocean view! Grills and picnic tables are available for our guests who may wish to prepare their own catch of the day. We provide yoga and brunch in the summer every Saturday on our patio. We also have a horseshoe pit for your enjoyment. Our mission is to provide an authentic, down to earth, experience for our customers. The Fort is a family run business and we want you to feel a part of our family. Whether you are visiting Haines to ski, snowmobile, fish, view wildlife, gaze at the Northern Lights or simply passing through, allow us to assist you in putting together your Alaskan dream vacation. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing