We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,501)
Filter reviews
2,501 results
Traveller rating
1,662
568
157
69
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,662
568
157
69
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glaciers restaurant ski resort hiking trails mountain top turn down service beautiful hotel tram ride double musky hot tub aurora bar pond cafe turnagain arm cable car ski season ski lift mountain view northern lights
Filter
Updating list...
2,120 - 2,125 of 2,501 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Updated ammenities throughout the hotel. Restaurants were great as well as the location. Very close to skiing and tram that takes you to the top of the mountain. Atop the mountain is a restaurant that we had heard rave reviews about but was closed when we were there. The hotel itself was beautiful and you would not need to leave the resort if you do not want too.
The scenery is beautiful and the beds were soooooo comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerveza930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Hotel Alyeska is my favorite hotel in Alaska. They have great staff, the rooms are really nice with great views on both sides, it is in beautiful location, the price is reasonable (for Alaska) and its located next to Alyeska ski resort (ski in - ski out).

The hotel bar is fairly nice, but if you to go to bar with a GREAT view, head up the tram to the 7 Glaciers restaurant and take in the view up there. It is a fantastic bar with literally, views of 7 glaciers on a clear day.

The hotel has activities in both summer and in the winter. In the summer, there are great hiking trails abound (including Crow Creek -- a mere 15 min drive to trail head) and a nice hike to the famous "hand cart/tram" that is a lot of fun and a unique experience. In the winter, Alyeska mountain is a mid size mountain that offers a wide variety of terrain from the expert skiier to the beginner. It is the only "real" ski resort in Alaska.

The hotel also has a swimming pool and great hot tub with an amazing view, however, it is often frequented by MANY children. After a long day on the slopes, I want to kick back and relax in the hot tub without hearing kids screaming. Unfortunately, with so many kids in the pool, it's not that relaxing. Management should consider having "adult only" hours. I think it would make the hotel a lot more attractive and I would consider staying here more often.

The hotel is super clean and the rooms are spacious and well kept.

All in all, this is my favorite hotel in Alaska.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We got a great package deal in Feb. including lift tickets. The room had a nice mtn. view and included two comfy chairs and a small table. The beds were comfortable and we found a gourmet chocolate on our pillows most evenings. The room had a mini-fridge and coffee maker but no microwave. The shower was neither very warm nor strong, but the bathroom had a handy towel warming rack. We took advantage of the shower at the spa which had a great hot tub and sauna available at no charge for guests. We found it strange that a destination resort does not have an overnight ski check, but the gear is allowed in the room. As others have mentioned, the sushi place is the standout and the Aurora restaurant is also very good. Staff ranged from super helpful to just average. The mountain offers great ski terrain and a chance to go cat or heli skiing for just a day, which is very convenient. Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Hours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed there in early May and enjoyed the gorgeous scenery. We were there on a Monday and Tuesday and the skiing is only on weekends in May which meant no tram ride and very few other things to do. It kind of felt like "The Shining" with only a handful of others staying in the hotel. I did see folks using the spa, but did not go myself. The famous 7 Glaciers restaurant was closed for a month for renovations. We really had a difficult time finding a good restaurant in the area open on Monday night. The rooms were a bit small and baths were sort of European, but comfortable. I'm sure this place is jumping during ski season but it was really too quiet while we were there and the staff was few and far between. We never even saw a doorman or bellman when we checked in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastTexGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hotel was great- good room, good beds, very well decorated and well kept. Pool and hot tub were great and dining options also very nice- especially the sushi restaurant. The Seven Glaciers restaurant has amazing views but seemed a little over priced. Skiing on the other hand was disappointing but due to the time of year. Nearly all the mountain was closed and one day they closed the entire mountain due to wet-slide danger. Didn't get to see any of the "outer" areas open the entire stay for the same reason. Bummer but really just bad luck. Great place to base for heli-skiing- you have options if you can't fly.

Room Tip: Top floor mountain side was great. Third floor is most convenient for pool, hot tub, and sauna.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews